Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide offers health professionals an overview of preventive oral health supervision during five developmental periods: prenatal, infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence. It is designed to help health professionals implement specific oral health guidelines during these periods. For each period, information about family preparation, risk assessment, interview questions, screening, examination, preventive procedures, anticipatory guidance, measurable outcomes, and referrals is discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• View Guide Online Or Download Complete Guide In .pdf

Keywords: Adolescents, Assessment, Bright Futures, Children, Dental care, Disease prevention, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Injury prevention, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This issue brief provides a history and overview of Bright Futures, a national program to promote children's current and future health through a set of guidelines that aim to improve the quality of health promotion and preventive services for children. The brief discusses the role of Bright Futures in the Affordable Care Act, and provides past and present examples of state health agencies' efforts to implement Bright Futures. Topics include initiation and funding, activities, and lessons learned in Illinois, New York, Virginia, and Washington. Brief descriptions of efforts in Maine, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Oregon are also included, as well as recommendations for states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Health care reform, Health promotion, Illinois, Infants, National programs, New York, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State agencies, Virginia, Washington

Annotation: This resource is designed to help pediatricians and others implement the Affordable Care Act pediatric preventive services provision to ensure that children receive screenings, assessments, and services recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics' Bright Futures guidelines. Contents include visit coding documents for infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence to help pediatricians obtain coverage of and payment for preventive services, to help insurers and policymakers better understand how to cover and pay separately for each service provided, and to assist stakeholders in advocating for payment for services provided in the periodicity schedule. A webinar is also available.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link
• April 9, 2014, Webinar

Keywords: Advocacy, Bright Futures, Clinical coding, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric care, Pediatricians, Preventive health services, Reimbursement

Annotation: This newsletter provides information and resources to help professionals and families promote health in children and adolescents including those with special health care needs. Contents include information on child health topics such as child development, nutrition, and physical activity; caregiving; campaigns and initiatives; community health; networking and partnerships; and research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Consumer education materials, Families, Family centered care, Health promotion, Special health care needs

Annotation: This webinar discusses the Office of Women's Health at the Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative (BFWHWI) to promote women's health across the lifespan. The development of the BFWHWI is described and core elements of emotional wellness are outlined, as well as the types of tools developed and audiences are discussed. Evaluation of program developed materials are reviewed and opportunities to become involved are described. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Webinar Registration And Archive Page

Keywords: MCH training programs, Audiovisual materials, Bright Futures, Continuing education, Distance education, Program descriptions, Women', Women', s health, s mental health

Annotation: The series comprises nine semiannual events convened by the University of Tennessee Department of Nutrition between March 2009 and March 2013, to discuss the roles of nutrition, physical activity, and parenting in promoting healthy weight gain in infants and healthy weight in children, adolescents, and adults. The content emphasizes the Bright Futures developmental stages. Topics include issues related to healthy weight facing infants, children, families, and their communities; mothers' and fathers' experiences with infant feeding; early childhood and the home environment; programs and policies that support healthy nutrition and physical activity environments in schools; adolescence and pregnancy; and implications of the MCH Life Course Model for practice. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Tennessee, Department of Nutrition, Jessie Harris Building, Room 229, 1215 W. Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37996-1920, Telephone: (865) 974-5445 Fax: (865) 974-3491 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nutrition.utk.edu Available from the website.

• Archived Webcasts And Related Materials
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Bright Futures, Children, Conference proceedings, Developmental stages, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Nutrition, Parenting, Physical activity

Annotation: This report provides information on 16 focus groups conducted from July 31, 2007, through September 25, 2007, among parents of Virginia infants, children, and adolescents. The focus groups were sponsored by the Virginia Department of Health (VDH), and their purpose was to assist VDH in developing health, wellness, and parenting-education materials for parents and to provide insight on the most effective way to promote key Bright Futures messages to parents, children, and adolescents. The report included information on demographics, key findings, and parent feedback. Conclusions and recommendations are included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Division of Child and Adolescent Health, James Madison Building, 109 Governor Street, Eighth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7685 Fax: (804) 864-7722 Web Site: http://www.vahealth.org/childadolescenthealth/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Bright Futures, Child health, Focus groups, Health supervision, Infant health, Parents, Virginia

Annotation: This resource guide is intended to help individuals, organizations, communities, and groups interested in using the Bright Futures philosophy and materials to increase health quality and well-being among children and families. The guide provides concrete, step-by-step information about how to get the Bright Futures process started and how to sustain it. A list of Bright Futures resources in included.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child advocacy, Child health, Health supervision

Annotation: This report presents a synthesis of findings from a series of case studies exploring how the Bright Futures for Infants, Children, and Adolescents initiative has been used in six states (Georgia, Louisianna, Maine, South Carolina, Virginia, and Washington) to promote children's health. The report includes background about Bright Futures, a discussion of the methodology, a snythesis of case study findings, ideas for the future, and a conclusion. Case studies for each state are included, as well.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Georgia, Health supervision, Louisiana, Maine, South Carolina, State initiatives, Virginia, Washington

Annotation: This guidebook is designed to help early childhood professionals, such as teachers, family advocates, health coordinators, and others, use the national Bright Futures materials for health promotion. The guidebook includes an introduction to Bright Futures principles and materials, information about the connection between a child's health and a child's readiness for learning, strategies useful for integrating Bright Futures into existing early childhood health promotion systems and tools for creating a Bright Futures Action Plan, ideas for introducing staff to Bright Futures, ideas for using Bright Futures with families, and ideas for using Bright Futures in the classroom or child care. The guidebook is divided into two main sections. Section 1 contains chapters designed to help readers prepare to use Bright Futures. Section 2 contains chapters devoted to the major health promotion topics featured in the Bright Futures materials. A CD-ROM containing training tools is included.

Contact: Center on Human Development and Disability, University of Washington, Box 357920, Seattle, WA 98195-7920, Telephone: (206) 543-7701 Fax: (206) 543-5771 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/chdd/ Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child care, Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health promotion, Health supervision, Manuals, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This case study, based on key informant interviews conducted in spring 2005, describes how Georgia has used Bright Futures as part of an effort to improve child health indicators and how Bright Futures has been incorporated into Medicaid well-child exams delivered by local health departments, especially to enhance anticipatory guidance. The case study also describes how the state has used Bright Futures as part of its effort to improve child health in the areas of mental health and oral health. The case study discusses the context for Bright Futures, initiating Bright Futures, the evolution of Bright Futures over time, challenges, lessons learned, and sustainability and future directions.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Georgia, Health agencies, Health promotion, Health supervision, Infant health, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Prevention, State programs

Annotation: This Bright Futures case study, which is based on key informant interviews conducted in spring 2005, describes how and why Bright Futures was initially adopted by Louisianna and how its utilization has evolved. The report discusses the context for Bright Futures, initiating Bright Futures, the evolution of Bright Futures over time; challenges and lessons learned; and future directions and sustainability of Bright Futures.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Bright Futures, Case studies, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Health supervision, Louisiana, Public health, State programs

Annotation: This Bright Futures case study, which is based on key informant interviews conducted in spring 2005, describes how and why Bright Futures was initially adopted by Maine and how its utilization has evolved. The report discusses the context for Bright Futures, initiating Bright Futures, the evolution of Bright Futures over time; and future challenges and lessons learned.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• HSR Under Transition

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Bright Futures, Case studies, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Health supervision, Maine, Public health, State programs

Annotation: This case study, based on key informant interviews conducted in spring 2005, describes the experiences of the Commonwealth of Virginia, in which the Bright Futures philosophy, guidelines, and specific components have been well integrated into public health policy and practice at the state level. The case study describes Virginia's adoption of Bright Futures as the state child health standard and the ways in which it has been championed through policy, training, education, collaborations, and service delivery to promote better-quality health care and supervision for children. The case study discusses the context for Bright Futures, initiating Bright Futures, the evolution of Bright Futures Virginia, challenges and lessons learned, the sustainability of Bright Futures Virginia, future directions, and conclusions.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• HSR Under Transition

Keywords: Adolescent health, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Collaboration, Education, Health promotion, Health services delivery, Health supervision, Infant health, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, Training, Virginia

Annotation: This case study, based on key informant interviews conducted in spring 2005 and findings from a process evaluation conducted in 2002, provides a detailed description of how the Washington State Department of Health's Office of Maternal and Child Health initiated the use of Bright Futures and how its utilization has evolved over time. The case study discusses the context for Bright Futures, initiating Bright Futures, the evolution of Bright Futures, Bright Futures training activities, challenges and lessons learned, and future directions and sustainability of Bright Futures in Washington. The case study includes one appendix: funding for Washington State Bright Futures.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• HSR Under Transition

Keywords: Adolescent health, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Financing, Health promotion, Health supervision, Infant health, Prevention, State programs, Training, Washington

Annotation: These materials are from a series of workshops held in April and May 2006 in Missouri to provide hands-on tools for promoting resilience in children, families, and communities. Contents include presentation slides, the workshop agenda, presenter biographies, and exercise descriptions and handouts. Topics include the Comprehensive System Management Team; family engagement and family involvement; informed consent and issues of confidentiality; facilitated referrals and individualized care planning; Bright Futures and systems of care; using Bright Futures tools in practice; and next steps in implementing structures, processes, and leadership to serve the social and emotional needs of all children. A description of the workshop series is also available.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Presentations
• Workshop Agenda And Exercises

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Child mental health, Collaboration, Health care systems, Health supervision, Missouri, Resilience, State initiatives, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a process evaluation of five Bright Futures objectives to (1) develop materials and practical tools for health professionals, families, and communities; (2) disseminate Bright Futures philosophy and materials; (3) train health professionals, families, and communities to work in partnership on behalf of children's health; (4) develop and maintain public-private partnerships; and (5) evaluate and refine the efforts. Report contents include an executive summary and introduction, along with a description of the methodology, a historical overview of Bright Futures, findings, analysis, discussion, and case examples. Appendices include a logic model for Bright Futures, a list of key informants and a sample matrix, overviews of annotated bibliography contents and Web sites referencing Bright Futures, a list of panel members for initial Bright Futures guidelines development, a list of publications and initiative awards, the health charter, and a report on the dissemination of Bright Futures guidelines and practice guides.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Health supervision, MCH programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation