Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This series of fact sheets provides information for consumers about a variety of oral-health-related topics. Topics include accessing oral health care in Illinois, anticipatory guidance and fluoride varnish application for health professionals who accept Medicaid, bad breath, breastfeeding and oral health, careers, cancer, cleft lip and cleft palate, daily care of teeth, dental and dental hygiene schools in Illinois, dental sealants, dentures, oral health during pregnancy, diabetes, early childhood tooth decay, e-cigarettes and vaping, flossing, fluoride, human papillomavirus,infants and oral health, oral cancer, orthodontics, oral health and learning, pain-management options for oral health care, periodontal disease, tobacco and tobacco cessation, sugary drinks and foods, the community health worker, water, and women's oral health.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Fluoride varnish, Illinois, Medicaid, Oral health, Pain management, Pregnant women, Smokeless tobacco, State materials

Annotation: This brief describes national and international websites, lists recent publications for consumers and health professionals, and links to breastfeeding organizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding care, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Consumer education materials, Infant feeding, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brief summarizes evidence for promoting healthy nutrition in the early care and education setting. Topics include breastfeeding, shaping food preferences among infants and toddlers, the role of the feeding environment and responsive feeding, introducing infants to complementary foods, and recognizing infants’ and toddlers’ hunger and fullness cues. Feeding strategies to reduce the likelihood that children will develop tooth decay are provided. Policy and practice implications are included.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Complementary feeding, Early childhood education, Feeding, Food allergies, Food preferences, Food safety, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Physical activity, Policy development, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides information about special nutritional needs and healthy weight gain during pregnancy and breastfeeeding. Contents include a daily checklist for estimating what and how much to eat. Information about dietary supplements; medical conditions, allergies, and food intolerances; food safety; and other topics is included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Special health care needs, Supplements, Weight gain

Annotation: This resource presents recommendations for interventions during pregnancy and after birth to promote and support breastfeeding. Contents include the recommendation statement, evidence review and summary, a clinical summary, and related information for health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Counseling, Literature reviews, MCH research, Perinatal care, Pregnant women

Annotation: This report provides data, recommendations, and case study examples of how to more effectively use state Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS) as a lever for change in childhood obesity prevention. The report focuses on four strategies to prevent childhood obesity: healthy eating, breastfeeding, physical activity, and limited screen time (HEPA). Contents include information from 24 states that have identified practices related to HEPA that states want to promote via their QRIS. Case studies from seven states (Arizona, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin) highlight strategies to support childhood obesity prevention efforts in early childhood education settings.

Contact: Nemours National Office of Policy & Prevention, 1201 15th Street, N.W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 457-1440 Fax: (202) 649-4418 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org/about/policy.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Case studies, Child care centers, Child development centers, Disease prevention, Early childhood education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about state efforts to address childhood obesity in the early care and education (ECE) setting. The report also describes a spectrum of opportunities for obesity prevention in the ECE setting and provides guidance on achieving recommended obesity prevention standards and best practices in the ECE setting. Contents include avenues by which states or communities have successfully changed ECE facilities to improve nutrition, physical activity, breastfeeding support, and reduced screen time among children from birth to age 5 and key accomplishments in licensing, quality rating and improvement systems, professional development.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpao/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior change, Breastfeeding, Child care, Disease prevention, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health promotion, Licensing, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical Activity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Training, Trends, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This resource focuses on state agency efforts to promote good nutrition in the maternal and child health population. Contents are listed by topic and by state. Topics include: nutrition standards; salad bars in schools; organizational change with multiple agencies; leadership; farm to institution; healthy beverages; home visiting programs; and healthy communities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Child health, Collaboration, Health promotion, Home visiting, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Organizational change, Program improvement, Public health nutritionists, State MCH programs, Strategic planning, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This supplement to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report examines the use of selected clinical preventive services for infants, children, and adolescents in the United States. Topics include breastfeeding counseling; screening for hearing loss and provision of follow-up services; screening for developmental delays, lead poisoning, vision impairment, and hypertension; vaccination against human papillomavirus; tobacco use and tobacco cessation counseling and medication; screening for chlamydia infection; and provision of reproductive health services. Additional topics include the potential benefits of selected services, the challenges related to their underuse, and effective collaborative strategies to improve use.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1546-0738.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Breastfeeding, Children, Chlamydia infections, Clinics, Counseling, Developmental screening, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Hearing screening, Human papillomavirus, Hypertension, Infants, Lead poisoning screening, Oral health, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Reproductive health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Vision screening

Annotation: This book offers tips and advice for sleep during naptimes and at night for families with breastfeeding infants. The authors are proponents of bedsharing and give guidance on how to minimize its risks.

Keywords: Bedsharing, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant care, Infants, Mothers, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep environment, Sleep position

Annotation: This report provides a plan to reduce infant mortality in the United States. The report includes an outline of strategic directions and recommendations, background on the problem of infant mortality in the United States, principles for a national strategy, and details related to six strategic directions for reducing infant mortality. Also discussed is information on services to improve women's health, birth outcomes, infant health, and infant survival; opportunities to decrease infant mortality through implementation of the Affordable Care Act; a crosswalk between an action plan to reduce racial and ethnic health disparities and recommendations to reduce infant mortality; and specific actions to increase breastfeeding.

Contact: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/InfantMortality/index.html Available from the website.

• Report

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Infant health, Infant mortality, National programs, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Program development, Racial factors, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Women', s health

Annotation: This publication is designed to aid hospitals and maternity facilities in complying with the Joint Commission's exclusive breast milk feeding core measure. Contents include guidelines for data collection and recommendations for documentation including charting samples. The publication also provides information on implementing evidence-based practices that improve exclusive breast milk feeding. Topics include labor and delivery care, postpartum care, facility discharge care, staff training, structural and organizational aspects of care delivery. Additional resources are available from the website. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Toolkit

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Evidence-based practice, Guideline adherence, Measures, Perinatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This flipchart present questions and answers for leading a discussion on reducing the risk of SIDS in Native American populations. Topics include the infant's safe sleep environment, sleep position, sleep location, sleep surface, sleep area, sleep temperature, the importance of breastfeeding, the problem of smoking and alcohol during pregnancy and after the baby is born, pacifier use, monitors or other equipment, the importance of tummy time, and spreading the word for all who may care for infants.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: American Indians, Breastfeeding, Child safety, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This video provides a tour of the Mother's Milk Bank of North Texas. The video explores how the milk bank works, explains why breastfeeding is important for mothers and infants, and discusses why donation milk is important for helping families to support breastfeeding. The video describes the screening and approval process for donors and explains how milk is tested, stored, mixed, bottled, pasteurized, and released to hospitals for use—primarily in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Community programs, Hospitals, Infant health, Mothers, Multimedia, Neonatal intensive care units, State programs, Texas, Videos, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue brief explores how states and communities can capitalize on the opportunities presented by the Affordable Care Act to advance breastfeeding. In particular, it examines state partnerships; financing of breastfeeding support and counseling services; promoting worksite accommodations; and using the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting program to improve referral and tracking. The brief also highlights some of the best practices of state Title V maternal and child health programs and their partners and offers strategies for states interested in developing similar efforts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Financing, Health care reform, Home visiting, Model programs, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public private partnerships, State MCH programs, Workplace

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how physicians and other health professionals can support breastfeeding in clinical care practices. It describes how doctors can support their patients' intentions to breastfeed; provide best practices guidelines and breastfeeding support; avoid serving as advertisers for infant formula; develop skilled lactation care teams; and help create health care systems that guarantee continuity of skilled support for lactation between hospitals and health care settings in the community. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in clinical care and a call for changes in clinical care practices that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Family support, Health care systems, Lactation management, Physicians, Public health

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how nurses can help breastfeeding mothers in clinical care practices. It describes how nurses can support mothers' intentions to breastfeed; promote breastfeeding as a standard of care; seek out opportunities to improve knowledge and skills; develop skilled lactation care teams. and provide breastfeeding support after hospital discharge. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in clinical care and a call for changes in clinical care practices that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Family support, Health care systems, Lactation management, Nurse clinicians, Physicians, Public health

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how to support breastfeeding in health care systems by improving maternity care practices, providing breastfeeding support after hospital discharge, improving clinician knowledge and skills, including breastfeeding support as a standard of care, and developing skilled lactation care teams. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in health care systems and a call for changes in health care that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Health care systems, Public health

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Annotation: This issue brief reviews Medicaid's role in covering preventive care for women, presents key findings related to women's health from a survey of Medicaid officials in all 50 states and the District of Columbia that collected baseline data on state coverage of preventive services before Affordable Care Act implementation (ACA), and discusses implications for women enrolled in Medicaid following the implementation of ACA. The brief provides background and discusses survey findings in the categories of Medicaid coverage of adult preventive services (breast and cervical cancers, reproductive health and family planning, chronic conditions predominantly affecting women, and pregnancy-related services) and the future of Medicaid; ACA, and preventive services.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Family planning, Health care reform, Health services, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Women', s health