Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report is a cumulative analysis of seven traumatic brain injury (TBI) needs and resource assessments conducted between 2001 and 2011 in Idaho. Contents include the study methodology and survey results for individuals with TBI, family members, and service agencies. Topics include changes in reported needs across time, changes in services and supports across time, and the quality of the match between reported needs and available support. Implications for the role of telehealth are also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Idaho Traumatic Brain Injury Virtual Program Center, Idaho State University, Institute of Rural Health, Meridian Health Sciences, 1311 East Central Drive, Meridian, ID 83642, Telephone: (208) 373-1773 Fax: (208) 373-1777 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.caregiver.org/idaho-traumatic-brain-injury-virtual-program-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brain injuries, Family support services, Idaho, Needs assessment, State MCH programs, Telemedicine, Trauma, Trends

Annotation: This book is geared toward helping students, instructors, and professionals in rehabilitation programs define, plan, facilitate, and support transition for young people with disabilities into adulthood and independent living. The book is divided into three major sections: (1) defining and planning transition, (2) facilitating and supporting transition, and (3) designing and implementing individualized transition plans. Topics also include secondary school restructuring, college and other postsecondary alternatives, assistive technology to enhance transition and work, and recent legislative acts in the field. Each chapter contains a list of learning objectives, a conclusion, and study questions. Figures and tables throughout the book provide statistical data, sample forms and checklists, and additional information to illustrate needs and capabilities. Appendices are provided with selected chapters. References and an index conclude the book

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-476-5.

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Assessment, Assistive devices, Brain injuries, Careers, Children with special health care needs, Cognition disorders, College bound students, College students, Emotional instability, Families, High school students, Parent participation, Postsecondary education, School to work transitions, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Vocational education

Annotation: This report describes the process of identifying the evidence base for transition strategies and developing and piloting specific tools in a toolkit designed for educators and others who will help students with Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) develop transition plans as part of their individualized education program (IEP). The report describes the process of developing the toolkit from start to finish, including the training of users and evaluation of the final product. Most of the tools discussed in the report are informal assessments that address the particular needs of students who have challenges in executive function, memory, self-awareness, and motivation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center on Brain Injury Research and Training, Western Oregon University, Teaching Research Institute, 99 West 10th Avenue, Suite 370, Eugene, OR 97401, Telephone: (541) 346-0593 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbirt.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain injuries, Evidence, Reports, School health, Special education, Students, Transition planning

Annotation: This collaborative webinar between the Children's Safety Network and the HRSA Traumatic Brain Injury Technical Assistance Center (TBI TAC) provides an overview of the burden of TBI among young children ages, 0-4, the work of the HRSA Traumatic Brain Injury Program, and efforts to mitigate the impact of TBI on this population. It discusses the Utah Medical Home Portal, highlights from the state's training on TBI in 0-4 year olds, and research in the area.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children with special health care needs, Data, Infants, Injury prevention, Trauma, Utah, Young children

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to help state maternal and child health and injury and violence prevention programs respond to the needs of infants, adolescents, and adults who are at risk for traumatic brain injury (TBI). Topics include fall prevention, motor vehicle safety, bicycle safety, sports safety, and abuse prevention. It also contains links to data, research studies, information on policy and legislation, prevention strategies, tools for program planning, and a list of national organizations that address TBI.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2020 Resource Guide
• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle injuries, Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Physical abuse, Sports injuries, Violence prevention

Annotation: This web site contains fact sheets to provide public health professionals with a summary of information on a traumatic brain injury (TBI) that affects many children and adolescents, Topics include an overview of sports-related concussions, strategies for preventing sports-related concussions and subsequent injury, legislation on sports-related concussions, the role of public health professionals in prevention, information and resources on TBI, as well as references and suggested readings.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheets
• Website

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Injury prevention, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Sports injuries

Annotation: This website contains tools to help those who play a role in keeping children and adolescents safe from concussion and other serious brain injuries. Included are fact sheets, videos, training courses, and tutorials to assist parents in selecting a safety helmet, recognizing the signs of concussion, and understanding the science behind brain injuries and how to safeguard against them.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (888) 880-4CDC Fax: (404) 653-0330 Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

• Website
• Fact Sheet For Highschool Parents

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injuries, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Safety, Sports equipment, Sports injuries

Annotation: This report provides information about the science of sports-related concussion in children and adolescents. Topics include an overview of normal brain development; considerations pertaining to the recognition, diagnosis, and acute management of concussions; treatment and management of individuals with concussion symptoms that persist beyond the typical 1- to 2-week recovery period; issues surrounding repetitive head impacts that do not produce the signs and symptoms of a concussion, as well as multiple concussions; interventions that may reduce the risk of sports-related concussions; and legislation directed toward concussion education and athlete protection. A brief is also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website; print copy and ebook available for a charge from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29637-3.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Brain injuries, Children, Legislation, Patient care management, Research, Risk management, Sports injuries

Annotation: This manual presents transition strategies that address the challenges that children, families, educators, and community providers face when working with students who have sustained a traumatic brain injury (TBI). The recommended strategies and transition tools are based on research findings that have shown these practices to be effective in working with students with a range of disabilities. Most of the tools are informal assessments that address the particular needs of students who have challenges in executive function, memory, self-awareness, and motivation. Self-monitoring and self-evaluation forms for students are included in the manual. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center on Brain Injury Research and Training, Western Oregon University, Teaching Research Institute, 99 West 10th Avenue, Suite 370, Eugene, OR 97401, Telephone: (541) 346-0593 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbirt.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Brain injuries, Children with special health care needs, School health, Special education, Students, Transition planning

Annotation: This resource presents information for parents about abusive head trauma (AHT)/inflicted traumatic brain injury -- also called shaken baby/shaken impact syndrome -- a form of inflicted head trauma. Topics include how these injuries happen, what are the effects, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, the child's development and education, and preventing AHT.

Contact: KidsHealth, Nemours, 10140 Centurion Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Fax: (904) 697-4220 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://kidshealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child abuse, Head injuries, Infant care, Infant health, Injury prevention, Newborn infants, Physical abuse, Shaken baby syndrome

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides tips to help prevent traumatic brain injury in infants. Tips are provided relating to car seats, changing tables and high chairs, safety gates, walkers, window locks and guards, and shaking infants. The fact sheet is written in English on one side and in Spanish on the other (print version). The electronic versions have English and Spanish in separate documents. It is also available in Chinese, Russian, and Arabic (these were published in 2003).

Contact: New York State Office of Children and Family Servcies, 52 Wasington Street, Rensselaer, NY 12144-2796, Telephone: (518) 473-7793 Fax: (518) 486-7550 Web Site: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brain injuries, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Non English language materials, Parenting skills, Prevention, Safety, Shaken baby syndrome, Spanish language materials

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-10113-1.

• Link

Keywords: Brain Injuries, Disabilities, Federal programs, Program evaluation, Service delivery systems, Studies, Trauma

Annotation: This report describes the Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) State Grant Program, administered by the New Mexico Aging and Long-Term Services Department, during the period April 1, 2001, through March 31, 2005. The purposes of the project were to (1) develop and implement brain injury leadership training aimed at effecting change, (2) create outreach materials and a resource manual, and (3) evaluate the effectiveness of theTBI program. Topics include (1) leadership and advocacy, (2) resource manual and outreach, (3) evaluation, (4) coordination of projects, and (5) successes. The report contains nine appendices, including questionnaires, flyers, forms, training samples, and other related materials. A CD-ROM is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New Mexico Health Department, Aging and Long-Term Services Department, 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 476-4799 Secondary Telephone: (866) 451-2901 Fax: (505) 476-4805 Web Site: http://www.nmaging.state.nm.us

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Final reports, Leadership, New Mexico, Outreach, Program coordination, Program evaluation, Training

Annotation: This report describes a project to improve the Maryland's capacity to provide integrated and effective programs and services for persons with traumatic brain injury (TBI) and their families. Topics include the need to increase understanding among all stakeholders about TBI, its effects, the needs of survivors and family members, and issues of prevention and diversity. The project focused on education, training, public awareness, and outreach. Report contents include a narrative of the project and its relationship to Title V Maternal and Child Health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, project publications and products, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up, and a summary of the type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. Products include guidelines, surveys, training materials, brochures, and cost information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Behavioral Health Administration, Spring Grove Hospital Complex, Dix, Mitchell and Vocational Rehabilitation Buildings, 55 Wade Street, Catonsville, MD 21228, Telephone: (410) 402-8300 Secondary Telephone: (410) 402-8600 Web Site: http://bha.dhmh.maryland.gov

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Final reports, Maryland, Program evaluation, State programs, Surveys, Trauma

Annotation: This report describes a three-year Tennessee project that took place between April 1, 2000 and March 30, 2003, to provide education and training for educators, families, and health professionals who support students with traumatic brain injuries. The report discusses improving the knowledge of school personnel to provide optimal educational outcomes (1) in 15 counties serving children with traumatic brain injuries, (2) by correctly identifying children to receive services through the school system, and increasing the early identification of children by providing technical assistance to hospital personnel to ensure that children enter the school system with the correct diagnosis. Report contents include descriptions of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes. Additional sections list publications and products, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section , Fifth Floor, Cordell Hull Building, 425 Fifth Avenue, North, Nashville, TN 37247, Telephone: (615) 741-7353 Fax: (615) 741-1063 E-mail: Theodora. [email protected] Web Site: http://www.state.tn.us/health/ Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Children with special health care needs, Final reports, MCH research, School based management, School readiness, State initiatives, Tennessee, Trauma

Annotation: This report describes a three-year project in Massachusetts to serve individuals with traumatic brain injury and their families from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds, and to provide information, supports, and culturally competent services. Topics include developing and disseminating information on traumatic brain injury (TBI) that raises awareness and the related public and private resources that exist within each community; increasing the referral and application pool from the African American, Hispanic, Latino, and Asian communities; increasing access to and availability of long term services and supports for people with TBI and their families from minority cultures; and increasing minority representation within decision-making bodies. Report contents include descriptions of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes. Additional sections list publications and products, dissemination and utilization of results, future plans and follow-up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission, Statewide Head Injury Program, Independent Living Division, Fort Point Place, 27 Wormwood Street, Boston, MA 02210-1616, Telephone: (617) 204-3600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 245-6543 Fax: (617) 727-1354 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/mrc/

Keywords: Brain injuries, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Final reports, Language barriers, MCH research, Massachusetts, State initiatives, Trauma

Annotation: This brief offers an overview of traumatic brain injury (TBI) and its effect on individuals and society, particularly in the need for and use of a variety of health and assistive services. It is designed to serve as a guide for states to identify resources and funding streams to help address the range of associated issues. Topics discussed include defining TBI; outlining legislative concerns; determining how prevalent TBI is in the United States in relation to other chronic illnesses and conditions; and identifying legislation and funding sources covering TBI. The appendix contains state-by-state information about federal and state spending on TBI, data collected in a study conducted by the Brain Injury Association of America Inc. in 1999. Statistical information is presented in charts, graphs, and tables throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-184-0.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Federal legislation, Health care financing, Health services, Injuries, Special health care needs, State legislation, Statistics, Trauma

Annotation: This book is written for parents of children who have suffered traumatic brain injury (TBI) to help them navigate the medical and educational systems and to find additional information and support for the family and the child. Chapter topics include defining TBI; rehabilitation and medical concerns; coping as a family; helping the child adjust; how TBI affects learning and thinking, speech and language, and behavior; strategies for managing behavior; the educational needs of children with TBI; and legal issues for families. An appendix provides scales used to assess patients with TBI. The book also contains a glossary, reading list, resource guide, notes, and an index.

Contact: Woodbine House, 6510 Bells Mill Road, Bethesda, MD 20817, Telephone: (800) 843-7323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.woodbinehouse.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-933149-99-9.

Keywords: Brain injuries, Child development, Child health, Coping, Disability assessment, Family support, Legal issues, Rehabilitation, Trauma

Annotation: This consensus development statement is meant to inform the biomedical research and clinical practice communities of the results of the National Institutes of Health Consensus Development Conference on Rehabilitation of Persons with Traumatic Brain Injury, held October 26-28, 1998 in Bethesda, Maryland. The statement provides information on effective rehabilitation measures for persons who have suffered a traumatic brain injury as well as conclusions and recommendations of the consensus panel. Additional topics include epidemiology of brain injury, hospitalization trends, family consequences, the economics of rehabilitation, research in cognitive rehabilitation, models of care, access to services, and ethical considerations in traumatic brain injury research. Report sections include the consensus statement, a list of consensus development panel, speakers, planning committee, the conference abstracts, and the consensus panel report. Also included is a listing of acronyms/abbreviations and three appendices containing three studies on traumatic brain injury.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 96-3823.

Keywords: Access to health care, Brain injuries, Conferences, Models, Rehabilitation, Trauma

Annotation: This report begins with background information on the Traumatic Brain Injury State Demonstration Grant Program. Part II of the report is a tabular state-by-state summary of objectives. Part III contains project abstracts for planning grants and implementation grants, each section arranged alphabetically by state name. Part IV is the grantee contact list. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Brain injuries, Demonstration programs, Federal grants, State programs, Statewide planning, Trauma, Traumatic Brain Injury State Demonstration Grant Program