Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Seidelman E, Gower K, Bradberry A. 2014. Successful initiatives to limit formula marketing in health care facilities. Washington, DC: Public Citizen, 31 pp.

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington. [2012]. My guide to working and breastfeeding: Tips on how to make working and breastfeeding work for you. [Seattle, WA]: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Missouri Department of Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, Bureau of Nutrition Services and WIC. 1994. Breastfeeding and returning to work or school. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health, Bureau of Nutrition Services and WIC, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brochure discusses ways that mothers can continue to breastfeed as they return to school or work. It discusses how to transition the baby to feeding from a bottle, expressing breast milk, the use of breast milk in combination with formula, and preparing to return to work. It is one of a number of brochures used to promote breastfeeding in Missouri.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, WIC and Nutrition Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 392-8209 Contact Phone: (800) 392-8209 Fax: (573) 526-1470 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/index.php $0.30. Document Number: no. 192.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Educational materials, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Missouri, State initiatives, Working mothers, Young adults

World Health Organization. 1981. International code of marketing of breast-milk substitutes . Geneva, Switzerland: World Health Organization, 36 pp.

Annotation: In May 1981 the World Health Organization adopted an international code of marketing infant formula and other breast-milk substitutes. The code encompasses encouraging and supporting breastfeeding, promoting and supporting timely weaning practices with the use of local food resources, providing information and education on feeding infants and young children, promoting the health and social status of women engaged in child care, and appropriate marketing and distribution of breast-milk substitutes.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 92 4 154160 1.

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Child rearing, Education, Guidelines, Infant formula, International health, Marketing, Weaning, Women', s health

Rody N. 1981. New Pacific nutrition. No place: Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Nutrition Education and Training Program, 160 pp.

Annotation: This book discusses nutrition for children in the Pacific Islands. It is written in a clear, easy-to-understand manner and contains black and white photographs and illustrations. It covers topics such as food and the body; protein for bodybuilding and repair; carbohydrates, fats, and oils for energy and warmth; vitamins and minerals for protection from disease; breastfeeding and bottle feeding; and much more. The book includes four appendices that include the meanings of some of the words used in the book, nutritive values of some Pacific Island foods, recommended dietary allowances, and photo food charts labeled with the words for the items pictured in several local languages. Languages of the charts include English, Ponapean, Kosraean, Trukese, Marshallese, Yapese-Ulithian, and Palauan. The book concludes with an index.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Carbohydrates, Child health, Child nutrition, Fats, Food, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Minerals, Nutrition, Pacific Islands, Protein, Vitamins

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service . 1981. What shall I feed my baby? A month-by-month guide . [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service , 50 pp. (Program Aid No. 1281 )

Annotation: This guide for new parents/caregivers provides information on breastfeeding, bottle feeding, and the introduction of solid foods during baby's first 12 months of life. It includes month-by-month feeding guidelines and describes what to expect during each stage of an infant's development. Included are instructions on preparing baby formula, guidance on the introduction and storage of solid foods, and growth charts adapted from the National Center for Health Statistics.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Child Nutrition, Infant feeding, Child development, Consumer education , Formula preparation, Infant formula

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1921. Bottle feeding: Consult your doctor before weaning the baby. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 4 pp. (Children's Bureau, Dodger no. 5)
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.