Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 3 (3 total).

Pickett OK, DeFrancis Sun B. 2014. Assisted reproductive technologies (ART) and families: Professional resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, multiple items.

Annotation: This brief is a guide to resources that focus on the psychological and social impacts of assisted reproductive technologies (ART) on children conceived via ART and on their families. The brief lists resources related to ethical and legal issues associated with ART. For the most part, the listed resources are available electronically at no charge. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Ethics, Legal issues, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals

National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information. 2010. Images. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information,

Annotation: This database contains more than 2.5 million images and figures from medical and life sciences journals. Content are drawn from the National Center for Biotechnology Information's (NCBI's) PubMed Central full-text digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Users can search images based on keywords and other parameters, such as authors and publication date. Images and data can be saved to users' collections and shared with others.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Archives, Biotechnology, Online databases, Resources for professionals

President's Council on Bioethics. 2008. Reproduction and responsibility: The regulation of new biotechnologies. Washington, DC: President's Council on Bioethics, 252 pp.

Annotation: This report examines policies and practices of biotechnology related to assisted reproduction and reviews the regulatory policies and practices involved in screening and selecting for genetic conditions and traits; modification of traits and characteristics; research involving in vitro human embryos; and commercial and financial interests in this arena. For each topic, the report reviews the relevant techniques and practices, the principal ethical issues, the existing regulatory activities, who currently provides oversight and guidance in each area, pursuant to what authority, according to what principles and values, and with what ultimate practical effect. The report concludes with findings based on the examination described above and a discussion of possible policy recommendations.

Contact: President's Council on Bioethics, 1425 New York Avenue, N.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-4669 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Embryo, Ethics, Genetic screening, Government, Prenatal screening, Public policy, Reproductive technologies
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.