Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This monograph is a memoir of Martha May Eliot, pediatrician and chief of the U.S. Children's Bureau from 1951 to 1957. Based on recollections and personal experiences of the author, the biography describes Dr. Eliot's influence on the field of maternal and child health (MCH) and on federal programs addressing MCH issues. An appendix lists the Martha May Eliot award recipients from the establishment of the award in 1964 though 2010.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Biographies, Children', Eliot, Martha May, Federal MCH programs, History, Pediatricians, Women, s Bureau

Annotation: This book aims to make visible the invaluable work public health professionals perform day in and day out and to celebrate their contributions to our nation's well-being. The book includes profiles of 25 individuals selected from nominations from each state and territorial health department. Each profile includes the invidual's life story and color photos. The book concludes with an epilogue and an honor roll, the latter of which includes the names and affiliations of all the nominated individuals.

Contact: Pfizer, 235 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 733-2323 Web Site: http://www.pfizer.com/home Available at no charge. Document Number: ISBN 0-9761815-0-9.

Keywords: Awards, Biographies, Health agencies, Public health, State health agencies

Annotation: This book is a biography of Jane Addams (1880-1935) -- a public intellectual who focused on issues of concern to mothers and children, including public health, women's suffrage, child labor, and the importance of play in the lives of children and youth. It describes how Addams' background influenced her social service work; how she founded Hull House -- a social settlement house in Chicago for recent immigrants of European descent -- and how her philosophy and life's work had a lasting impact on American culture. The book includes a list of major accomplishments of Hull House.

Contact: Basic Books, Perseus Books Group, 387 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 340-8164 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perseusbooksgroup.com/basic/home.jsp $17.82, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-0465-01913-7.

Keywords: Biographies, Children, Cultural sensitivity, Feminism, History, Immigrants, Mothers, Public health services, Social change, Social conditions

Annotation: This book examines the careers of six federal career executive bureaucrats to determine what traits they share and to assess how these traits make them effective. The author introduces and defines a new term, execucrat; evaluates the careers of William Black, Eileen Claussen, Edward Perkins, Stephen Marica, Dr. Vince Hutchins, and Dr. Helene Gayle; and draws conclusions about how certain execucrats, although they may not be highly visible to the general public, have played significant roles in the development of federal public policies.

Contact: Georgetown University Press, 3240 Prospect Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5889 Fax: (202) 687-6340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.press.georgetown.edu $45.00, cloth; $17.95, paper; plus $3.50 shipping and handling for the first book, and $0.75 for each additional book; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-87840-592-5, cloth; 0-87840-595-X, paper.

Keywords: Administrative personnel, Biographies, Federal government, Policy development, Public policy

Annotation: This program lists the events for the Corporate Summit for Children and provides brief biographies of the speakers. The program supplement offers a historical overview of federal initiatives to reduce infant mortality and a description of several public programs and activities that have contributed significantly to improving the health of mothers and children over the years. Secondly, the document contains biographical sketches of all former secretaries of Health, Education, and Welfare, and Health and Human Services. Finally, the winning essays on child health from a parent teacher association contest are included. An accompanying document consists of remarks by Carol Evans.

• Link

Keywords: Biographies, Department of Health and Human Services, Federal MCH programs, History, Infant mortality, Meetings, Prevention programs

Annotation: This thesis, submitted to the University of Utah School of Nursing, consists of the biographies of four women who practiced nurse-midwifery during the first forty years of the profession's existence. They were Rose McNaught, Lalla Mary Goggans, Aileen Hogan, and Agnes Reinders. The biographical information is analyzed for shared characteristics which could contribute to the response each woman made to the challenges she met in the course of her career. The accomplishments of the four nurse-midwives are examined in light of the changes in childbirth practices which occurred in the first half of the twentieth century.

Keywords: Biographies, Childbirth, History, Midwifery, Midwives

Annotation: This book discusses the founders of the Harvard School of Public Health. Part I focuses on the administration and Part II focuses on the school's various departments. The book includes an index, a list of tables, and a list of illustrations.

Keywords: Biographies, Public health schools