Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues. 2016. Bioethics for every generation: Deliberation and education in health, science, and technology. New York, NY: Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues, 112 pp.

Annotation: This capstone report offers recommendations for strengthening and advancing deliberation and education to improve policymaking in bioethics. The report provides a justification for the value and use of democratic deliberation in bioethics, sets forth a roadmap for conducting democratic deliberation, and outlines recommendations for advancing and improving its use in solving complex bioethics and health policy problems. The report also outlines recommendations for how ethics education can be enhanced at all stages and in different educational contexts with the goal of increasing ethical readiness for engagement in civil deliberation about bioethical concepts.

Contact: Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues, 1425 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite C-100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 233-3960 Fax: (202) 233-3990 E-mail: education@bioethics.gov Web Site: http://bioethics.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Bioethics, Decision making, Education, Health policy, Policy development, Problem solving

Diekema DS. 2007. Promoting Pediatric Bioethics in Health Care and Research: Final report. Seattle, WA: Children Hospital and Regional Medical Center, 19 pp.

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Promoting Pediatrics Bioethics in Health Care and Research Project. The purpose of this project was to enhance the ethical awareness and sensitivity of health professionals who care for children and of researchers who enroll children as partipants. The two primary goals of the project included the development and implementation of a patient advocacy program for pediatric research and the development and implementation of a pediatric bioethics education program. Report sections include (1) introduction, (2) review of the literature, (3) study design and methods, (4) detailed findings, (5) discussion and interpretation of findings, and (6) list of products. The report includes one appendix: a collection of tools. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Bioethics, Child health, Final reports, Health care, MCH research, Pediatrics, Programs

Biobank Feasibility Expert Panel. 2007. Feasibility study for a statewide biobank to study preterm births and birth defects: A report to the Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Health. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes 4 discussions held by a 21 member panel during 2007 concerning the feasibility of a biobank in Connecticut and the value it might add to the study of preterm births and birth defects. Biobank models; funding sources; possible increases in research potential; affordability, ethical, legal, and social issues; and the likely public and private perceptions of such a bank all receive examination. Findings and recommendations conclude the report.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: webmaster.dph@po.state.ct.us Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

Keywords: Bioethics, Budgets, Congenital abnormalities, Connecticut, Genetic markers, Genetics, Low birthweight, Prenatal screening, Preterm birth, State programs

De Angelis CD , ed. 1999. The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine curriculum for the twenty-first century. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 248 pp.

Annotation: This book describes how the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine changed its curriculum from a traditional, faculty-oriented model to a student-oriented model based on adult learning strategies. It is intended to help the reader gain practical knowledge of the process as well as knowledge of the specific components of the curriculum. It provides a brief history of undergraduate medical education at Johns Hopkins, an overview of the process of change, and descriptions of individual components of the curriculum. Chapters discuss the teaching of basic sciences; interrelated courses based on organ systems; a four-year longitudinal Physician and Society course; a new curriculum for medical informatics and support services for computer-based education; student placements in the offices of community-based private practitioners; curriculum reform in the clinical years; and early evaluations of the general curriculum, specific courses, and the students.

Contact: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2715 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218-4363, Telephone: (410) 516-6900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 537-5487 Fax: (410) 516-6998 E-mail: kk@press.jhu.edu Web Site: http://www.press.jhu.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8018-5977-8 (cloth), ISBN 0-8018-6350-3 (paper).

Keywords: Bioethics, Community based services, Curricula, Evaluation, History, Information systems, Interdisciplinary approach, Learning, Medical education, Medical schools, Models, Primary care, Reform

Sherwin S, Feminist Health Care Ethics Research Network. 1998. The politics of women's health: Exploring agency and autonomy. Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Press, 321 pp.

Annotation: This book is a collection of nine essays that examine women's health status and health care delivery in different countries and the assumptions behind the dominant medical model of solving problems without regard to social conditions. The authors are members of the Feminist Health Care Ethics Research Network, an interdisciplinary group of scholars and practitioners whose primary interest is in feminist approaches to women's health. The book is the result of a four-year collaborative research project supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. The essays are entitled: A Relational Approach to Autonomy in Health Care; Situating Women in the Politics of Health; The Politics of Health: Geneticization Versus Health Promotion; Contested Bodies, Contested Knowledges: Women, Health, and the Politics of Medicalization; Agency, Diversity, and Constraints: Women and Their Physicians, Canada, 1850-1950; Reflections on the Transfer of "Progress": The Case of Reproduction; Anomalous Women and Political Strategies for Aging Societies; (Re)fashioning Medicine's Response to Wife Abuse; and Reframing Research Involving Humans. Notes are provided at the end of each essay. A list of references and biographies of the authors are included in the book.

Contact: Temple University Press, 1601 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122, Telephone: (800) 621-2736 Fax: (800) 621-8471 Web Site: http://www.temple.edu/tempress/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56639-598-4.

Keywords: Africa, Bioethics, Canada, Ethics, Gender discrimination, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Japan, North America, Research, Women's health

U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment. 1992. Cystic fibrosis and DNA tests: Implications of carrier screening. Washington, DC: U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment, 301 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the scientific, clinical, legal, economic, and social considerations of widespread carrier screening for cystic fibrosis. Specific topics covered include medical aspects, the state of the art in genetics, quality assurance, education and counseling, financing, discrimination issues, costs and cost-effectiveness, and CF carrier screening in the United Kingdom. Appendices discuss the epidemiology of mutations for cystic fibrosis and cases studies of other carrier screening programs.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OTA-BA-532.

Keywords: Bioethics, Carrier state, Cystic fibrosis, DNA, Genetic screening, Screening

Georgetown University, Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Bioethics Information Retrieval Project. 1990-. Bioethics thesaurus. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, Bioethics Information Retrieval Project, annual.

Annotation: This thesaurus, published annually, provides a controlled vocabulary for indexing and searching the Bioethicsline database on the National Library of Medicine's MEDLARS computerized information system. It contains an annotated alphabetic listing of the keywords used, a listing of new keywords added during the year prior to its publication, and appendices that list keywords related to major issues in bioethics and subject captions which are used for searching the online database. Beginning with the 1995 edition, the thesaurus also contains a permuted index to the terms.

Contact: Joseph and Rose Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, Healy Building, Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20057-1212, Telephone: (202) 687-8099 Fax: (202) 687-8089 E-mail: powersm@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://kennedyinstitute.georgetown.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bioethics, Thesauri

Coutts MC. 1990. Maternal-fetal conflict: Legal and ethical issues. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature, 15 pp. (Scope note; 14)

Annotation: This bibliography discusses ethical and legal issues of maternal-fetal conflict, and gives an annotated listing of materials including committee statements, court decisions, general issues, brain dead pregnant women, lifestyle issues, occupational issues, and treatment refusal issues.

Contact: Bioethics Research Library, Georgetown University, Healy 102, 37th and O Streets, N.W., Washington, DC 20057-1212, Telephone: (202) 687-3885 Contact Phone: (800) MED-ETHX Fax: (202) 687-8089 E-mail: bioethics@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://bioethics.georgetown.edu $3.00.

Keywords: Bioethics, Conflict of interest, Fetus, Maternal health

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.