Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

n.d.. Posters. No place: No publisher, 9 posters.

Annotation: Each poster in this collection was prepared by an insurance company or a state agency. They direct attention to various issues in child safety. A poster by American Re-Insurance Company shows a child with his head bandaged, and cites the statistic on injuries when bike helmets are not worn. A second poster by American Re-Insurance Company repeats the statistic, but illustrates it with an overturned bike. The New York State Health Department poster shows a cross section of a house in which a hazardous activity is pictured in each room. The viewer is told that these hazards number forty, and is asked to identify them. The reverse side of the poster shows the answers. The remaining posters are by Massachusetts health and safety agencies. One shows a baby in a car seat and points out safety features of the seat. Another shows two gallon jugs: one of milk and one of bleach. The viewer is made to realize that a two year old would not know the difference. Three posters reinforce the "buckle up" message, and there is one on playground safety. Both English and Spanish are used in the posters.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycles, Car seats, Helmets, Poisoning, Posters, Residential injuries, Seat belts, Spanish language materials

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 2014. Bicycle safety curriculum. Reston, VA: American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; Washington, DC: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 3 items.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help elementary-, middle-, and high-school-educators and recreation professionals teach safe bicycling to children. The two-part curriculum is aligned with the National Standards for K-12 Physical Education and includes lessons and assessments for the skills and knowledge students need to enjoy safe bicycling. It also contains a guide for parents on ways they can support safe bicycling, including guidance on selecting an appropriate bicycle and helmet for their child.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Injury prevention, Recreational safety, School age children, Schools, Transportation injuries

Children's Safety Network. 2013. Traumatic brain injury (TBI): Resource guide 2013. Newton, MA: Children's Safety Network, 14 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to help state maternal and child health and injury and violence prevention programs respond to the needs of infants, adolescents, and adults who are at risk for traumatic brain injury (TBI). Topics include fall prevention, motor vehicle safety, bicycle safety, sports safety, and abuse prevention. It also contains links to data, research studies, information on policy and legislation, prevention strategies, tools for program planning, and a list of national organizations that address TBI.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle injuries, Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Physical abuse, Sports injuries, Violence prevention

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 2012-. Parents central: From car seats to car keys--Keeping kids safe. Washington, DC: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, multiple items.

Annotation: This website for parents provides information about keeping children safe while they are riding in motor vehicles, riding bicycles, or walking. Information is provided about car seat safety, safety related to school buses and bicycles, how to keep adolescents safe as they are learning to drive, and car-related safety issues such as backovers, heatstroke, seatbelt entanglement, and trunk entrapment.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle safety, Car seats, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Safety, School buses, Seat belts, Traffic safety, Walking, Young children

Children's Safety Network . 2012. Focus on bicycle safety: Resource guide 2012. Newton, MA: Children's Safety Network , 8 pp.

Annotation: This document contains data on bicycle-related injuries, information about bicycle helmet laws, prevention strategies and programs, evaluations of the effectiveness of wearing bicycle helmets and of making environmental changes to support safe bicycling, policies and campaigns to encourage bicycling, and bicycle helmet ratings and other safety guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Children, Environmental influences, Injuries, Injury prevention, Legislation, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Safety, Transportation injuries

Children's Safety Network Economics and Insurance Resource Center. 2005. Childhood injury: Cost and prevention facts. Landover, MD: National Public Services Research Institute, Children's Safety Network Economics and Insurance Resource Center, irregular.

Annotation: This fact sheet series present data and analysis on the cost and prevention of childhood injury. Topics include bicycle helmet use, child safety seat use, injury prevention counseling by pediatricians, poison control centers, sobriety checkpoints, and speed limits, Definitions of data types, incidence-based vs. prevalence-based costs, and resource vs. productivity costs are provided. References are also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Bicycle helmets, Bicycles, Car seats, Children, Costs, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Poisoning, Speed, Statistics, Traffic injuries, Unintentional injuries, Young adults

Children's Safety Network. 1994. Building safe communities: State and local strategies for preventing injury and violence. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 190 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

LeMier M. 1992. Bicycle injuries in Washington state: Strategies for prevention. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, Injury Prevention Program, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report presents data on bicycle injuries in Washington state, and discusses prevention strategies, particularly the use of helmets and their promotion through legislation and education. Various studies from the literature are reviewed.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma System, Injury and Violence Prevention Program, P.O. Box 47832, Olympia, WA 98504-7832, Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycle injuries, Bicycle safety, Epidemiology, Injuries, Prevention programs, Washington

Children's Safety Network. 1991. Child Health Day 1991: A selected annotated bibliography. [Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health], 31 pp.

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. The library is supported through foundation, univerity, state, and federal funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by the U.S. Government. Note: web pages whose development was supported by federal government grants are being reviewed to comply with applicable Executive Orders.