Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents survey results on the prevalence and severity of tooth decay in students in kindergarten in public schools in Arizona. Contents include information about tooth decay and the impact of poor oral health on children, families, and society, with an emphasis on the relationship between oral health and academic achievement. Survey results are presented by domain, including prevalence of decay experience, untreated decay, pain and infection, annual dental visits, and insurance coverage. Comparisons to previous statewide surveys, benchmarks and national data, and regional and county highlights are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board, First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Web Site: http://azftf.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Benchmarking, Dental caries, Health insurance, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Risk factors, School readiness, State surveys, Statewide planning, Young children

Annotation: This report examines (1) what is known about the timeliness of newborn screening for heritable conditions, and (2) barriers identified as contributing to screening delays and strategies to address them. Contents include a review of the Department of Health and Human Services' Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children recommended timeframe goals for newborn screening, data provided by states, missing data and variations in data collection, and federal support for activities to improve data for future analysis such as by clarifying data definitions and working with states to help ensure they use the definitions when submitting timeliness data.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-196.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Benchmarking, Data collection, Measures, Newborn screening, Program improvement, State programs, Statistical data, Technical assistance, Trends

Annotation: This document describes a set of process and outcome metrics related to promoting equity through health impact assessment (HIA). The metrics emphasize community empowerment through the practice of HIA as a key process for advancing equity. Each metric is accompanied by an identified data source that includes how the process of the HIA engaged and built capacity of communities to increase their influence over decisions within the HIA and in other venues.

Contact: Society of Practitioners of Health Impact Assessment, 304 12th Street, Suite 2B, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 452-9442, ext. 115 Web Site: https://sophia.wildapricot.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Community action, Decision making, Evaluation, Health disparities, Health planning, Measures, Outcome and process assessment

Annotation: This resource provides state summaries of health plans in the individual and small group markets that cover the essential health benefits (EHBs) required by the Affordable Care Act (EHB benchmark plans). Benefit categories include ambulatory patient services, emergency services, hospitalization, maternity and newborn care, mental health and substance use disorder services including behavioral health treatment, prescription drugs, rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices, laboratory services, preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management, and pediatric services including oral and vision care. Information about state-required benefits is included.

Contact: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Center for Consumer Information & Insurance Oversight, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.cms.gov/CCIIO Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Disease management, Health care reform, Health services, Preventive health services, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This website is designed to help state, tribal, local, and territorial (STLT) health departments as they develop community health assessments (CHAs) and health improvement plans (HIPs), whether for accreditation preparation, nonprofit hospital collaboration, or other reasons. Contents include a description of CHAs and HIPs and their benefits; requirements and mandates; models, frameworks, and tools; data sources and community-level indicators; information and experiences from state, tribal, and local jurisdictions; and links to national organizations that support community health assessment and health improvement planning.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Data sources, Needs assessment, Program improvement, Program planning, Public health, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report examines covered benefits, limitations, and premium and cost-sharing provisions in 2013 for 42 separate Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIP) in 38 states. Contents include an overview of findings on separate CHIP benefits and cost-sharing policies and state-level summary tables of selected benefits and cost-sharing. Topics include benchmark choices and comparison to Medicaid benefits; outpatient and inpatient mental health and substance abuse services; physical, occupational, and speech/language therapies; dental services; and vision and hearing services.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Child health services, Children', Cost sharing, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief examines how states have exercised their options under the initial federal essential health benefits (EHB) framework. Topics include the Affordable Care Act's 10 EHB categories and state approaches to selection of an EHB benchmark plan, regulation of EHB substitution, defining coverage for habilitative services, and coverage for pediatric dental services.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Dental care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric care, Regulations, Rehabilitation, State programs

Annotation: This guidance is designed to help Promise Neighborhoods implementation grantees collect and assemble indicators to benchmark and track progress over time. Contents include an overview of data collection and use, the structure of a data system, indicators, core elements of the case management system, ensuring confidentiality and data security, neighborhood and school climate surveys, and neighborhood- and school-level data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Innovation and Improvement, Promise Neighborhoods, LBJ Building, Room 4W338, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-5970, Telephone: (202) 453-6615 Fax: (202) 401-4123 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/promiseneighborhoods/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Case management, Community development, Confidentiality, Data, Data collection, Family support programs, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Neighborhoods, Outcome and process assessment, School surveys, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: These guidelines are intended to help states select an Essential Health Benefits (EHB) package (as required under The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA)) to help ensure that health coverage will provide sufficient, quality maternity care. Included are details on the type of care (preconception, prenatal care, and ancillary services) and examples of what should be covered (for example, genetic counseling, health history and assessment, fetal evaluation, and newborn services). The guidelines caution states to watch out for problematic limitations on coverage; to limit insurer's ability to swap actuarially equivalent benefits within or across categories of the EHB; and to confirm maternity coverage for dependent children.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2600 Fax: (202) 986-2539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Guidelines, Health care reform, Maternal health, Prenatal care, Program improvement, State MCH programs

Annotation: This fact sheet illustrates the relationship between the Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) performance measures and the Healthy People 2020 objectives. It is designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve EMSC objectives and provide science-based benchmarks that facilitate monitoring and tracking and health promotion efforts.

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Emergency medical services for children, Healthy People 2020

Annotation: This annual report focuses on the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' efforts to collaborate with the private sector to develop agency-specific plans, goals, benchmarks, and standardized metrics to measure and improve health and health care quality in the United States. The report describes the initial strategy and plan for implementation. Contents include aims, priorities, and goals for improving quality; policies and infrastructure needed to support priorities; and next steps. The appendix presents goals, opportunities for success, and illustrative measures for each of the following six priorities: safer care, effective care coordination, person- and family-centered care, prevention and treatment of leading causes of mortality, supporting better health in communities, and making care more affordable.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Federal initiatives, National health care reform, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Strategic planning

Annotation: This report offers a blueprint for the development of benchmarks to assist local health departments in meeting current staffing standards and workforce development needs. The report reviews historical and currently available measures of the local public health workforce, which serves as a context for the assessment of local public health factors that may affect staffing and composition. Tables include statistics on occupational categories relevant to local public health departments; trends in the numbers of state and local health department employees in the United States; and numbers of full-time local health department employees based on population served, clinical service characteristics, and other variables. The report includes descriptions of data and information sources that can be useful in developing benchmarks along with examples of potential workforce benchmarks. Recommendations for developing local public health benchmark applications are included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Local government, Measures, Public health agencies, Staff development, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This document describes the Life Skills Progression, an outcome summary tool that home visitors can use to gather and organize information about family competencies, and outlines appropriate use of the instrument in meeting benchmarks of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program. Topics include scales, format, scoring, training, psychometrics, and data management. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: MDRC, 16 East 34th Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10016-4326, Telephone: (212) 532-3200 Fax: (212) 684-0832 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Guidelines, Home visiting, Life skills, MCH programs, Outcome and process assessment

Annotation: This brief outlines steps and components for completing the grant application process for the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program as outlined by the authoring legislation or guidance offered by the Health Resources and Services Administration and the Administration for Children and Families. It provides resource information that can be used in planning and conducting the needs assessment, identifying high-risk populations, and selecting and measuring benchmarks. Information on state data sources and statistics is included.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Federal grants, High risk groups, Home visiting, Needs assessment, State MCH programs, Statistics

Annotation: This document provides a research-based framework and benchmark criteria for educational leaders (school boards, state departments of education, superintendents, principals, and after school leaders) to support and assess district and school efforts to enhance and be accountable for school climate. They also provide guidance for professional preparation and continuing education. The framework comprises five standards, including indicators for supporting student learning, positive youth development, and teaching.

Contact: National School Climate Council, 545 8th Avenue, Room 930, New York, NY Telephone: (212) 707-8799 Fax: (212) 957-6616 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.schoolclimate.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Assessment, Benchmarking, Continuing education, Health promotion, Learning, Professional education, Program improvement, School districts, Schools, Standards, Students, Sustainability, Teaching, Youth development

Annotation: This guide explains assessment techniques and uses step-by-step instructions on how to perform evaluation studies. It is divided into three parts. Part one examines related management theory, defines the attributes of an ideal library and how to develop a culture of assessment, and what should be measured and what various measurements mean. Part two details five core methods of assessment and their application, followed by an overview of other quality improvement and evaluation systems. Part three provides tools for carrying out any type of study and effectively communicating the results; describes techniques such as surveys, focus groups, observation, interviews, sampling, and questionnaire design; and discusses ways to analyze and present data. The accompanying CD-ROM contains resources such as workbooks, supporting materials, a glossary, and an extensive list of recommended readings. An index is provided in the book.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-5570604-3.

Keywords: Assessment, Benchmarking, Data analysis, Evaluation methods, Libraries, Manuals, Measures, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These annual reports of the Children's Mental Health Benchmarking Project describe the ongoing gathering, analysis, and dissemination of data from selected states and counties on children's mental health services. The reports provide data collected in four domains: access, utilization, expenditures, and intersystem involvement. Included are data collection instruments and a literature review.

Contact: Dougherty Management Associates, 9 Meriam Street, Suite 4, Lexington, MA 02420, Telephone: (781) 863-8003 Fax: (781) 863-1519 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Country programs, Data, Financing, Health care utilization, Health services, Literature reviews, Mental health, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

Annotation: This chart book is intended to document current differences in well-being by race and Hispanic origin and to describe how such differences have evolved over the past several decades. The book is designed to educate Americans about the facts surrounding the issue of race in America. The charts show key indicators of well-being in seven broad categories: population, education, labor markets, economic status, health, crime and criminal justice, and housing and neighborhoods. This information is provided to be used as a benchmark for measuring future progress and can highlight priority areas for reducing disparities in well-being across racial and ethnic groups. The indicators in the charts were selected on the basis of their importance for economic well-being, as well as the quality and availability of data. The appendix indicates how to access additional information on these topics from federal government agencies.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-049616-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Bibliographies, Crime, Economics, Education, Health status, Housing, Minority groups, Population dynamics, Race, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, United States, World Wide Web