Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of stressors that affect childhood development and health, a framework for applying current brain and development science to the real world, a roadmap for implementing tailored interventions, and recommendations about improving systems to better align with our understanding of the significant impact of health equity. It builds upon and updates research from Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development (2000).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health equity, Infants, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This resource summarizes the proceedings of an honorary symposium for Dr. Lois K. Cohen held on December 11, 2006, in Bethesda, Maryland, to convey the importance of behavioral and social sciences in oral health and directions for future research. Topics include (1) the imperative for social and behavioral sciences an integral part of health research; (2) social and behavioral research in oral health; (3) biobehavioral research in the oral health sciences; (4) research needs and opportunities; (5) studies focused on individual health; (6) family and community-based research; (7) communications research; (8) research capacity, design, and infrastructure; and (9) social, health policy, and global health research.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Behavioral sciences, Needs assessment, Oral health, Research, Social sciences

Annotation: This book provides information about injury and violence prevention, drawing on many scientific disciplines and public health practice experiences. Topics include injury prevention and behavior; individual-level behavior change models and applications to injury problems; the application of social cognitive theory to injury prevention; community models and approaches for interventions; health risk communication and injury prevention; ecological models for the prevention and control of unintentional injury; planning models; study methods for understanding injury behavior; intervention research and program evaluation; behavior change interventions in road safety; modifying alcohol use to reduce motor vehicle injury; behavioral considerations for sports and recreational injuries in children and youth; house fires and other unintentional home injuries; occupational injury prevention and applied behavior analysis; intimate partner violence; applying behavioral theory to self-directed violence; youth violence prevention theory and practice; supervision as a behavioral approach to reducing child-injury risk; reducing posttraumatic stress after individual and mass trauma; law, behavior, and injury prevention; human factors in product and environmental design for injury control; and future directions in behavioral sciences, injury, and violence prevention.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com

Keywords: Behavior modification, Behavioral sciences, Communication, Health behavior, Injuries, Injury prevention, Interdisciplinary approach, Intervention, Legal issues, Methods, Models, Program evaluation, Program planning, Research, Theories, Trauma, Violence prevention

Annotation: This book explores the history of the founding and progress of the field of child development from the late 1800s up to World War II. Topics in part one of the book, encompassing 1893-1910, include the rise of social research, feminism, the child study movement, scientific child rearing, parent education, social welfare reform and reform-minded scientsts. Part two provides an overview of the creation of models from 1910-1921. Contents include the establishment of the Children's Bureau, research perspectives from juvenile delinquency to child guidance, and a case study of the methods used in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station to grow better crops, better pigs, and better children. The third section reviews breakthroughs during the period from 1922 to 1940. It discusses the "Children's Decade" of the 1920s, child development research and preventive politics, a case study of the Yale Clinic, activities of the Child Guidance Movement and its transformation to child psychiatry, and the continued activities of the Children's Bureau.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp $32.00 for paperback, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 9780300144352.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Biological sciences, Child development, Child health, Child health programs, Child rearing, Children, Children', Federal agencies, History, Mother child relations, Mothers, Parent education, Pediatrics, Social sciences, United States, s Bureau

Annotation: This bibliography is intended to help injury researchers and behavioral scientists work together to uncover new solutions to the injury problem and to serve as a starting point for students and teachers interested in conducting research related to behavioral science and injury control. The bibliography (1) documents the contributions of behavioral and social science research to unintentional injury prevention and control and (2) increases awareness about the impact and importance of behavioral science in the field of injury control. The bibliography is divided into two major sections. Section 1 lists references alphabetically by author and offers a one-page index of pertinent references by selected keywords. Section 2 is a list of references divided into broad subject headings. Topics include injuries to children and adults received from bicycles, drowning, falls, fires and burns, impaired driving, motor vehicles, motorcycles, on-the-job, playgrounds, poisoning, sports, and sun-related injuries. The bibliography can be downloaded from the Web site or ordered in CD-ROM.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Bibliographies, CD-ROMs, Injuries, Injury prevention, Research, Social sciences, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This paper provides guidance for the development of integrated behavioral health services in primary care settings. It lists preliminary tasks or questions to be addressed, describes components of the integrated model, and describes staffing for the functions listed.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Behavioral sciences, Health care systems, Mental health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This monograph seeks to formulate a psychology of interdependency that will characterize the elements of personal and social organization to help readers understand and prepare for a rapidly advancing interdependent future, particularly in the wake of the terrorist actions on September 11, 2001. Section topics include the different ways groups and nations meet their basic needs; the group processes that will be required to cope with the newly defined unit of survival, "the global group"; the paradigm shift required for understanding human behaviors that will enable individuals to move from deterministic thinking to interdependent, dynamic approaches; and the policies that will be needed to enable families and communities to participate in global interdependency adaptively, rather than destructively.

Contact: Interdisciplinary Council on Developmental and Learning Disorders, 4938 Hampden Lane, Suite 800, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-2667 Web Site: http://www.icdl.com $19.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Collaboration, Group dynamics, International organizations, Social interaction

Annotation: This document refines the goals and objectives of a strategic plan to better understand the developmental processes involved in forming cognitive, learning, emotional, social, and physical behaviors, and the biological and environmental factors that make infants, children, and adolescents more susceptible to behavioral disorders or to adopting risk-taking and violent behaviors. Chapter sections includes the strategic planning process, an outline of the scientific goals of the strategic plan, the importance of research technologies and resources, and the need for integrated training and education. The appendix includes a roster of working groups advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Behavioral medicine, Behavioral sciences, Child development, Developmental psychology, Research, Strategic plans

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Annotation: This book is a report of a two- and-a-half year project in which the Committee on Integrating the Science of Early Childhood Development, established by the Board on Children, Youth, and Families of the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine, was given the task of updating and evaluating the current science of early childhood development. The committee reviewed a body of research covering the period from before birth to the first day of kindergarten. The report introduces the concepts of the study. It discusses the nature and tasks of early development and the context for early development. The report includes conclusions, recommendations, references and an index. The appendices include: A. Related reports from the National Academies; B. Defining and estimating causal effects; C. Technologies for studying the developing human brain; and D. Biographical sketches of committee members. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-06988-2.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Developmental psychology, Early childhood development, Genetics, Infants, Neural development, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This classification scheme provides a shelf arrangement for materials in the field of medicine and its related sciences at the National Library of Medicine.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Document Number: ISBN 0-16--45397-6 .

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Biological sciences, Classification, Medical reference books, Medicine

Annotation: This report is the result of several meetings of the Public Health Faculty/Agency Forum which was given the task of addressing the issue of making public health education more relevant to practice. The participants were taken from the following four areas: behavioral sciences, epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental public health, and public health administration. The recommendations of the forum have two major components: improvement of the quality of public health education, and establishment of flourishing, permanent broad cooperative agreements between schools of public health and major local, regional and state agencies. The appendices provide lists of the participants and of the report reviewers, as well as a bibliography.

Contact: University Press of Florida, 15 North West 15th Street, Gainesville, FL 32611, Telephone: (352) 392-1351 Secondary Telephone: (800) 226-3822 Fax: 352-392-7302 Web Site: http://www.upf.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Epidemiology, Health professionals, Public health agencies

Annotation: In this book, comprised of 15 different papers, a panel of experts assimilate the diverse research on the patterns and characteristics of violent behavior in the United States, including behaviors that have only recently been recognized as crimes, such as incest and spousal and elder abuse. The book describes what is known about certain types of violence, details insights into risk factors for violent behavior in individuals and situations, and recommends new research efforts with short and long term payoffs. The authors also propose some answers, such as several preventive strategies for reducing firearm-related violence, that rely on existing laws. Tables and figures are included as well as author and panel biographies, references and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use, Behavioral sciences, Child abuse, Crime, Crime, Drug use, Elder abuse, Family violence, Firearms, Gun control, Legislation, Media violence, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Statistics, Substance use, Weapons

Annotation: This book, evolving from work done on an NCCAN grant at Penn State University, is based on an in-depth study of 64 families from 1981 through 1983, conducted to understand the origin, dynamics and outcomes of abuse and neglect in the lives of the adolescents involved. This 'Family Intervention Project' investigated psychological and social aspects of two-parent families coping with adolescents' behavior, ranging from normal to seriously pathological. The study focused on the degree to which parent adolescent relations were at risk for emotional or physical abuse. The book provides some theories concerning adolescent maltreatment, and concerning child abuse and juvenile delinquency. The concept of high risk is presented and defined as are the measurement tools for determining that high risk and the resulting characteristics of high risk families. Factors of adolescent competence, behavior problems, socioeconomic stress, changes in family structure (as in step-families) are explored. Current interventions, prevention strategies with parents, support strategies for adolescents are discussed. Future prospects and programs for intervention are presented along with current evaluations or indicated needs for evaluation. A final chapter discusses the investigators' prognosis for troubled adolescents in troubled families.

Contact: Walter de Gruyter, Inc., 545 Eighth Avenue, Suite 1650, New York, NY 10018, Telephone: (212) 564-9223 Fax: (212) 564-9224 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.degruyter.com/ $41.95 plus $3.50 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Behavioral sciences, Child abuse, Clinical medicine, Counseling, Crisis intervention, Drug abuse, Family violence, Injury prevention, Physical abuse, Research, Risk factors, Socioeconomic status, Survey tools

Annotation: This website provides information on methods for developing and implementing high-quality behavioral and social science research (BSSR) through interactive learning. Contents include major concepts in BSSR design and planning; methodologies for describing how and why something happens, and for answering questions about efficacy and effectiveness; and emerging challenges in BSSR. Tables, figures, exercises, and examples are provided. A discussion forum is also available.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Communication skills, Interactive media, Research design, Research methodology, Social sciences, Training materials