Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This presentation features Joy Burkhard and Kay Matthews, founders of 2020 Mom and Shades of Blue respectively, who outline strategies for strengthening the maternal behavioral health workforce through effective recruitment, funding, training, and retention approaches. Working with multidisciplinary teams from Nevada, Missouri, and Indiana, they aim to showcase best practices, explore diverse funding sources, and highlight innovative programs addressing maternal behavioral health needs. The speakers emphasize the critical nature of this work, noting that maternal mental health remains severely underserved with one-third of Americans living in mental health professional shortage areas, while primary care and obstetrical/gynecological services face similar resource gaps.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Staff development, Work force, Behavioral medicine, Recruitment, Retention, Nevada, Missouri, Indiana, Texas

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of stressors that affect childhood development and health, a framework for applying current brain and development science to the real world, a roadmap for implementing tailored interventions, and recommendations about improving systems to better align with our understanding of the significant impact of health equity. It builds upon and updates research from Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development (2000).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health equity, Infants, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This policy statement supports families, early childhood programs, and states by providing recommendations from the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services and Education for preventing and severely limiting expulsion and suspension practices in early childhood settings. Contents include an overview, recommendations for early childhood programs and state action. The appendices include information and resources to implement early childhood mental health consultation and positive behavior intervention and support. Resources for parents and families; programs, schools, and staff; and states are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral health, Consultation, Discipline, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Intervention, Mental health, Parent support services, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: This document reviews the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Program standards as they relate to the integration of behavioral health and primary care. The review highlights four NCQA-PCMH standards which include elements and factors specific to behavioral health integration and applies an expanded interpretation of all standards through the lens of behavioral health integration. Topics include patient-centered access, team-based care, population health management, care management and support, care coordination and transitions, performance measurement and quality improvement. Detail about implementing the elements is included.

Contact: SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, 1701 K Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: integration@thenational council.org Web Site: http://www.integration.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior modification, Behavioral medicine, Family centered care, Medical home, Mental health, Model programs, Primary care, Program development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service integration, Standards

Annotation: This report provides information about best practices in therapeutic or treatment foster care (TFC), a clinical intervention for youth from birth to age 18 who have severe mental, emotional, or behavioral health needs. Topics include essential partners; building relationships among provider agencies and child advocates; example practices in Connecticut, Illinois, Michigan, Oklahoma, Nebraska; efforts to expand the focus beyond safety and permanency to well-being for youth in therapeutic foster care; and public policy challenges.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Behavioral medicine, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Foster parents, Health services delivery, Intervention, Medically fragile children, Mental health, Policy development, Psychological needs, Reimbursement, Relationships, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma care, Youth

Annotation: This issue brief examines the correlation between the self-reported quality of parent relationships and the emotional and behavioral health outcomes of children across various social, economic, and racial/ethnic subgroups. Using data from the 2007 National Survey of Children's Health, the brief compares reported levels of parental relationship happiness (ranging from completely happy to not very happy) with their child's level of social competence, engagement in school, parent-child communication, and external behavior (positive or negative). The data compares findings across income levels (presented as a percentage of the federal poverty level); by racial/ethnic group (White, Hispanic, and Black), education level of parent; and parental relationship status (married or cohabiting and whether the parents are biological, adoptive, or step parents). The report concludes that happy parental relationships are quite consistently related to better outcomes for children and families across all types of subgroups

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavioral development, Children, Data, Data analysis, Emotional development, Mental health, National surveys, Outcome evaluation, Parent child relations, Parents

Annotation: This paper examines the impact of an expansion of Canada's paid maternity leave programs (expanding the duration of job-protected, partially compensated maternity/parental leave from approximately 6 months to a full year) on measures of children's cognitive and behavioral development at ages 4 and 5. The paper discusses previous literature on the topic, the reform and its expected impact, data, the empirical framework, differences in observable inputs across birth cohorts at ages 1 through 4, and estimates of the impact of the change on developmental outcomes at ages 4 and 5.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral development, Canada, Child development, Cognitive development, Costs, International health, Legislation, Parental leave, Public policy, Research, Working parents

Annotation: This final report describes a 2005-2010 project to improve the social, emotional, and behavioral health of out-of-home child care preschool children in Cleveland County, North Carolina and to facilitate a successful entry in to kindergarten. Contents include a description of the project purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, a brief section on evaluation, and results and outcomes. Additional information is provided on publications and products developed during the project, dissemination and utilization of results, and future plans and followup. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral development, Child care, Early childhood development, Final reports, Mental health, North Carolina, Preschool children, Social development, Young children

Annotation: This book, which provides information about preventing mental, emotional, and behavioral disorders among infants, children, and adolescents, is divided into three main parts. Part I provides contextual and background information, discusses the scope of prevention, and outlines pathways that may lead to disorders. Part II presents evidence related to interventions aimed at factors associated with mental, emotional, and behavioral outcomes; discusses issues and opportunities related to screening; provides information about costs; and outlines improvements in methodologies. Part III outlines the frontiers of prevention science.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available at no charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-12674-8.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral disorders, Child health, Costs, Emotional development, Infant health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Prevention, Research, Screening

Annotation: This book is designed to assist primary care clinicians—pediatricians, family practitioners, nurse practitioners, physicians' assistants, pediatric nurses—and others who care for children to strengthen their skills in dealing with patients and their families. The book is divided in to three parts. Part I discusses the fundamentals of behavioral and developmental pediatrics to enable the clinician to create a therapeutic atmosphere in primary care. Parts II and III address issue-specific developmental and behavioral problems. Developmental and behavioral questionnaires and screening instruments are provided in the appendices. An index concludes the book.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-1683-7.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral medicine, Child health, Developmental pediatrics, Infant health

Annotation: This report reflects the discussions and recommendations put forth by Roundtable members for improving health care quality through integration of primary care and behavioral health care. Section one of the report provides a summary of barriers to the integration of care, including financial barriers, differences in culture and practice, training issues, information systems and privacy protections, and consumer issues and concerns. The second section discusses topics and recommendations such as financial issues, collaboration needed for integration, key characteristics of integrated practices, parity in coverage, how carve-outs discourage integration of care, continuity of care, reimbursement, universal screening, and ways to improve treatment. Section three provides a list of recommendations organized by stakeholder group, and section four includes final analysis and concluding remarks. Notes and a list of roundtable participants are provided.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Behavior development, Behavioral medicine, Collaboration, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: This book explores the history of the founding and progress of the field of child development from the late 1800s up to World War II. Topics in part one of the book, encompassing 1893-1910, include the rise of social research, feminism, the child study movement, scientific child rearing, parent education, social welfare reform and reform-minded scientsts. Part two provides an overview of the creation of models from 1910-1921. Contents include the establishment of the Children's Bureau, research perspectives from juvenile delinquency to child guidance, and a case study of the methods used in the Iowa Child Welfare Research Station to grow better crops, better pigs, and better children. The third section reviews breakthroughs during the period from 1922 to 1940. It discusses the "Children's Decade" of the 1920s, child development research and preventive politics, a case study of the Yale Clinic, activities of the Child Guidance Movement and its transformation to child psychiatry, and the continued activities of the Children's Bureau.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp $32.00 for paperback, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 9780300144352.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Biological sciences, Child development, Child health, Child health programs, Child rearing, Children, Children', Federal agencies, History, Mother child relations, Mothers, Parent education, Pediatrics, Social sciences, United States, s Bureau

Annotation: This issue brief describes a study conducted to assess the amount of training that pediatricians receive in the areas of developmental and behavioral pediatrics. The brief, which contains an abstract, includes a background section, describes the methodology, presents the results, and offers a discussion and conclusion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the brief. The brief concludes with endnotes.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Child behavior, Developmental pediatrics, Pediatricians, Research, Training

Annotation: This document refines the goals and objectives of a strategic plan to better understand the developmental processes involved in forming cognitive, learning, emotional, social, and physical behaviors, and the biological and environmental factors that make infants, children, and adolescents more susceptible to behavioral disorders or to adopting risk-taking and violent behaviors. Chapter sections includes the strategic planning process, an outline of the scientific goals of the strategic plan, the importance of research technologies and resources, and the need for integrated training and education. The appendix includes a roster of working groups advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Behavioral medicine, Behavioral sciences, Child development, Developmental psychology, Research, Strategic plans

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Annotation: This book is a report of a two- and-a-half year project in which the Committee on Integrating the Science of Early Childhood Development, established by the Board on Children, Youth, and Families of the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine, was given the task of updating and evaluating the current science of early childhood development. The committee reviewed a body of research covering the period from before birth to the first day of kindergarten. The report introduces the concepts of the study. It discusses the nature and tasks of early development and the context for early development. The report includes conclusions, recommendations, references and an index. The appendices include: A. Related reports from the National Academies; B. Defining and estimating causal effects; C. Technologies for studying the developing human brain; and D. Biographical sketches of committee members. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-06988-2.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Developmental psychology, Early childhood development, Genetics, Infants, Neural development, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This document explains the behavioral pediatrics education grant application process. It includes Bureau directives, lists specific requirements and program elements for MCH leadership education in behavioral pediatrics, and explains the application process. Appendices include additional instructions and guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Applications, Behavioral medicine, Developmental pediatrics, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatrics, Professional education

Annotation: This summary report describes first eight years of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau training programs in Behavioral and Developmental Pediatrics (BDP), which started in 1986 with grants to eleven medical school and hospitals. The report includes chapters about the following: components of the educational program; types of training received by medical students and pediatric residents; evaluations of the program by current fellows; professional accomplishments of former fellows; academic productivity of program faculty; postgraduate education; new programs initiated; and the impact of fellowship programs. The concluding summary is an argument for continuation of the program as an cost-effective investment in our nation's future. Appendices include: BDP Training Program components; fellowship evaluation forms summary; and a compilation of publications by program faculty and fellows. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Curricula, Developmental pediatrics, Federal grants, Fellowships, Internship and residency, MCH training programs, Medical education, Medical students, Pediatricians, Pediatrics, Productivity, Professional education, Professional training, Program evaluation, Publications, Research methodology, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the funding trends for the branch since 1978; the 1988 report emphasizes fiscal years 1985–1987, and the 1992 report emphasizes fiscal years 1988-1991. Research highlights are noted for the program areas of the branch: behavioral pediatrics, developmental behavioral biology, learning, cognition, social and emotional development, communication and learning disabilities, and prevention of risk behaviors associated with AIDS. Specific areas covered include: neonatal behavior; health and illness-related behavior of children and childhood injury; brain/behavior relationships as shaped by hormonal influences; development during the perinatal period; socialization of emotion and cognition and the development of cognition during infancy and childhood; the development of speech and language; and dyslexia.

Contact: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Human Learning and Behavior Branch, Executive Plaza North, Room 633, Bethesda, MD 20892., Telephone: (301) 496-6591 Available in libraries.

Keywords: AIDS, Behavioral medicine, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Communication, Emotional development, Learning, Learning disabilities, Pediatrics, Social development

Annotation: This book, the first volume in a projected biennial series, contains articles on infant development from the perspective of behavioral pediatrics. Its chapters focus on early intervention, with a model for understanding plasticity in early development; behavior of premature newborns, including a manual for the assessment of preterm infants' behavior (APIB), adapted from the Brazleton Neonatal Behavioral Assessment Scale; crying in young infants; the role of physical appearance in development; and sex differences in caregiving, particularly with respect to the relationship between father and infant. Each chapter has a bibliography.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Father child relations, Infant behavior, Infant development, Pediatrics, Premature infants, Research