Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue brief outlines Action 5.4 from Goal 5 of the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, which focuses on preventing and addressing violence against pregnant and postpartum individuals through state-level pilot programs. It describes how intimate partner violence intersects with leading causes of pregnancy-associated deaths, examines evidence-based screening tools and interventions, and presents data on racial disparities in pregnancy-associated homicide rates. The document details barriers to effective screening, successful intervention models, and resources for implementing provider training programs to better identify and respond to intimate partner violence during pregnancy and postpartum periods.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Injury prevention, Model programs, Physical abuse, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Professional training

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find hotlines and web sites about domestic violence, including rape, abuse, incest, teen dating, legal counsel, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Emotional abuse, Family relations, Family violence, Hotlines, Parent child relations, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report summarizes proceedings from the workshop sponsored by the Forum on Global Violence Prevention in January 2011 to explore the prevention of violence against women and children. The report provides an overview of the workshop, including summarizes of presentations, workshops, and discussions related to violence prevention strategies. Topics explored include the co-ocurrence of child maltreatment and intimate partner violence; paradigm shifts and changing social norms in violence prevention; and the state of prevention research in low- and middle-income countries. Summaries of various papers presented during the workshop are also included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $54.00 plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-21151-2.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Child abuse, Conference proceedings, Maltreated children, Physical abuse, Prevention programs, Violence, Violence prevention

Annotation: This document provides information about domestic violence with the goal of increasing awareness about this problem in Oklahoma. Background on domestic violence is provided, along with information on who are the victims, who are the batterers, what can be said and done, assessing danger, the legal system, and resources. A section dedicated to how those working with women in crisis can take care of themselves is included, as well.

Contact: Oklahoma Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 25352, Oklahoma City, OK 73125, Telephone: (405) 521-3646 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.okdhs.org Available from the website. Document Number: OKDHS Pub. No. 01-05.

• PDF

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Intervention, Oklahoma, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report estimates the incidence, prevalence, and costs of nonfatal and fatal intimate partner violence (IPV), identifies future research needs, and highlights the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's priorities for prevention research. The report presents annual data about IPV and its costs, generalized from data about the incidence of IPV in 1995 and the costs associated with those particular victimizations. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes two appendices: (1) calculating lost productivity and related values and (2) calculating age group-specific present value of lifetime earnings estimates.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Battered women, Costs, Domestic violence, Family violence, Interpersonal violence, Prevention, Research, Statistics, Violence

Annotation: These guidelines offer recommendations for screening and responding to domestic violence (intimate partner violence) in child health settings. Part one presents an overview of the impact of domestic violence on children and adolescents, and the rationale for regular and universal screening for domestic violence in child health settings. Part two addresses dilemmas that providers may encounter in discussing domestic violence with parents of their patients and with adolescents. Part three contains specific guidelines. Part four recommends elements to create a clinical environment that effectively response to domestic violence. Several appendices include position statements from medical and health professional associations, a bibliography, indicators of abuse, child abuse reporting laws, and more.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Child abuse, Cultural competence, Domestic violence, Family violence, Guidelines, Screening

Annotation: This book discusses women's willingness to risk their health as a result of three intertwined forces: the caring attitude that characterizes many women; centuries of subordination; and cultural traditions about how to look, behave, and be treated. Part one topics include eating disorders and how to obtain help, cosmetic surgery and its repercussions, accepting yourself and body imaging. Part two talks about living in abusive relationships, intimate abuse/battering, rape, and how to get help. The third part covers sexuality, reproductive and sexually transmitted diseases, and guidelines for safer sex. An annotated notes section, a resources listing, and an index are provided.

Contact: Ten Speed Press, Crossing Press, P.O. Box 7123, Berkeley, CA 94707, Telephone: (510) 559-1600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 841-2665 Fax: (510) 559-16299 Web Site: http://www.tenspeed.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-89594-743-9.

Keywords: Abuse, Battered women, Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Plastic surgery, Psychosocial factors, Rape, Reproductive health, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper explores twelve issues relating to family violence; for each topic it provides a context and discusses the implications for mental health professionals. Some of the topics covered are: is treating family violence an intrusion into family privacy, is violence a learned behavior, and is spanking children abusive. Other topics include: how do emotions affect the professionals' approaches to family violence, why don't battered women take their children and leave, are mandatory reporting laws helpful, what does society want police to do in response to family violence, and what legal concerns should professionals have as they work with families?

Contact: American Psychological Association, 750 First Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4242, Telephone: (202) 336-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-2721 Contact Phone: (202) 336-5898 Fax: (202) 336-6069 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apa.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Battered women, Behavior disorders, Child abuse, Family violence, Legal responsibility, Mental health professionals, Physical abuse, Professional ethics, Sexual abuse, Social problems

Annotation: This videotape relates the stories of four battered women who were imprisoned for killing their batterers. The women share the details of their stories and relate how the criminal justice system failed to protect them when they tried to escape the abusive relationship. The videotape is aimed toward the general public and all advocates interested in promoting legislative and judicial reform. The study and resource guide contains statistics on partner abuse, indicates ways to offer help, includes a warning list of controlling behaviors, and suggests developing a personalized safety plan. It also provides essays by Sarah Buehl, a district attorney who narrates the film, and resource lists which include model domestic violence programs, the numbers for violence hotlines, and a bibliography.

Contact: Cambridge Documentary Films, P.O. Box 390385, Cambridge, MA 02139-0004, Telephone: (617) 484-3993 Fax: (617) 484-0754 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cambridgedocumentaryfilms.org/ $150.00 (video), purchase; $45.00, rental; $375.00 (16mm film), purchase; $150.00, rental plus $9.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Battered women, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Personal narratives, Statistics, Videotapes

Annotation: This manual describes AWAKE (Advocacy for Women and Kids in Emergencies), a model mother-child public health family violence intervention project. The philosophy of the program, protecting children by protecting women, is discussed in the manual's overview. A summary of the project's services, an explanation of its administration, and suggestions for starting a similar program are contained in the publication. Also included are selected bibliographies on battered women, abused children, domestic violence, health care protocols, and training materials; a project description; and an AWAKE basic data form.

Keywords: Advocacy, Battered women, Child Abuse, Child abuse, Crisis intervention, Family violence, Interagency cooperation, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This document describes suggested protocols for health professionals for providing appropriate care to victims of suspected abuse. The protocols were developed by the Domestic Violence Protocol Development Task Force which was formed by the Colorado Department of Health. The document includes several checklists, forms, and injury charts designed to help identify and assess abuse. There is a directory of shelters and programs in Colorado for battered women and abused elders. Model programs from Denver area hospitals are also included.

Contact: Colorado Department of Health, Prevention Services Division, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2567 Contact Phone: (303) 692-2589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/pp/index.html Training manual $40.00, video and protocol $75.00.

Keywords: Battered women, Colorado, Domestic violence, Elder abuse, Health care systems, Legal aid, Pregnancy, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Shelters, Treatment

Annotation: The purpose of this manual is to increase the knowledge of all health care providers about domestic violence to facilitate full participation in a community-wide strategy to stop domestic violence. The manual is separated into specific sections which contain information about the cycle of violence, applicable Colorado statues, behaviors and characteristics of survivors and perpetrators, and assessment and intervention strategies. The sections include: 1) problem overview; 2) the medical community's legal responsibilities; 3) ramifications of battering; 4) case identification, assessment, documentation and intervention strategies; 5) protocol development, implementation and maintenance, with a sample emergency room protocol, designed for practical use in the emergency room setting; 6) bibliography; 7) listings of films related to battering and addresses of the Colorado Domestic Violence Coalition member organizations, with space for adding local area resources; and 8) a compilation of 25 articles on battered women's care. For further information contact Deborah Haack, Coordinator, Family Violence Prevention Program, Colorado Department of Public Health, 4210 East 11th Avenue, Denver, CO 80220-3716. Telephone (303) 331-8293. Department telephone (303) 320-8333. Providers in Illinois may access information to coordinate with the Colorado manual that is modified to reflect Illinois statutes and referral services. Contact Vicky Biddle, Illinois Department of Public Health, Center for Health Promotion and Injury Control, 535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 62761. Telephone (217) 785-2060. The 30-minute videotape is a companion part of the training curriculum for health care givers on the subject of domestic violence (spouse abuse, battered women). Entitled "Recognizing the Epidemic, " the videotape presents some data on these injuries and stresses the value of correctly identifying the cause of injuries seen. A big segment is devoted to the "how to s" of identifying abuse injuries. Information on eliciting true reports from the victims and on the 'cycle of abuse' are provided.

Keywords: Battered women, Criminal justice system, Curricula, Domestic violence, Health care systems, Injury prevention, Pregnancy, Professional education, Resource materials, Training, Treatment

Annotation: This manual is designed to provide mental health practitioners with guidelines for dealing with domestic violence cases and to guide collaboration with organizations that provide assistance to battered women and their children. The manual defines the problem, describes and dispels various misconceptions, and lists indicators of abuse. It provides guidelines for interviewing and empowering the patient which include validating her experiences, exploring her options and advocating for her safety, building on her personal strengths and avoiding victim-blaming, and respecting her right to self-determination. The manual includes a section on interventions to be avoided, including couples therapy, court mediation, and certain programs for battered women and their assailants, and discusses why these interventions are not appropriate for battered women. Special consideration is given to serving battered women with a demonstrated history of mental health problems. The booklet stresses the necessity of interagency collaboration and assessing agency policies, and concludes with a bibliography and information about the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence.

Contact: National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, 1120 Lincoln Street, Suite 1603 , Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 839-1852 Fax: (303) 831-9251 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncadv.org $8.00.

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Mental health services, Pregnancy, Resource materials, Treatment

Annotation: The purpose of this manual is to ensure identification and comprehensive medical and social intervention for battered women. The target audience is nurses, physicians, social service, and security personnel. The manual contains a list of 15 indicators that may indicate domestic violence. Health care providers are encouraged to take specific actions such as providing a quiet and private environment, asking direct and non-threatening questions, documenting assessments, saving evidence, and photographing injuries. The manual suggests systematic methods for completing each of these major steps. The protocol outlines separate assessment, diagnosis, treatment, education and referral activities for nurses and physicians. Social service department procedures for patient interviewing, providing information, devising a safety plan, and making referrals are also presented. The security department is responsible for monitoring behavior and providing a safe hospital environment for victims; basic steps for ensuring safety are listed. Regina Braham is available to answer questions and provide assistance in developing or implementing educational services for health care providers.

Contact: Jersey Battered Women's Service , P.O. Box 1437, Morristown, NJ 07962, Telephone: (973) 267-7520 Secondary Telephone: (973) 267-4763 Contact Phone: ((201)) 455-1256 Fax: (973) 605-5998 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbws.org/ $5.00.

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Nurses, Physicians, Pregnancy, Protocols, Treatment

Annotation: This curriculum was developed for use with groups of adolescents; it addresses battering as a social problem that can happen to the friends and families of the participants. An introduction discusses preparing to use the curriculum, and offers suggestions on using it. Chapters focus on defining domestic violence, review myths and facts associated with battering, consider why battering occurs, and explore prevention skills. Attention is given to defining roles in a relationship, handling emotions, conflict resolution, developing support systems, and determining ways to help. References and handouts are included.

Contact: Southern California Coalition on Battered Women, P.O. Box 5036, Santa Monica, CA 90405, Telephone: (213) 655-6098 $25.00 plus $2.50 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Battered women, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Intervention, Relationships, Violence prevention