Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster shows a woman in a long white dress looking at her reflection in a pool. She is pregnant and her reflection holds a healthy baby.

Contact: American Council for Drug Education, , 50 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201, Telephone: (718) 222-6641 Secondary Telephone: ( Contact Phone: (301) 294-0600 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acde.org/ Out of print.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Drugs, Infant health, Posters, Teratology

Annotation: This poster shows two Star Wars characters in a futuristic setting. The legend reads: "Parents of earth, are your children fully immunized? Make sure - Call your doctor or health department today. And may the force be with you."

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Immunization, Posters

Annotation: This videotape discusses the effects of regulatory disorders through a case example of a seventeen month child. Common symptoms, assessment, and treatment interventions are discussed for this sensory disorder. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 12301 Academy Way, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 984-4444 Fax: (301) 881-8043 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.louriecenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, Infant behavior, Infant stimulation, Videotapes

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Health services, Videotapes

Annotation: This set of posters contains five posters which promote breastfeeding. The posters' messages are 'Breastfeeding Can Help Your Baby's Brain Grow",''Breastfeeding Can Make You Feel Good About Yourself",''Breastfeeding Can Help Your Baby From Getting Sick," 'Breastfeeding: Special Moments That Make Motherhood So Worthwhile," and "Breastfeeding Doesn't Have To Be Embarrassing."

Contact: Best Start Social Marketing, 4809 E. Busch Boulevard, Suite 104, Tampa, FL 33617, Telephone: (813) 971-2119 Secondary Telephone: (800) 277-4975 Fax: (813) 971-2280 E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding promotion

Annotation: This set of two posters are geared to new mothers to promote breastfeeding. The posters' messages are 'Best-fed is Breast-fed, ' and 'Lunch at Mom's.'

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding promotion

Annotation: This poster encourages cigarette smokers to quit smoking. The poster provides words of support to those trying to quit smoking.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This videotape profiles the school-based health center at Foxcroft Academy in Dover, Maine. It shows adolescents and adults discussing kids' lives and problems, describes the mixed community reception to the health center, discusses the benefits of continuity for those without other access to health care, and profiles services available to students and teachers.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Maine, School based clinics, Videotapes

Annotation: This videotape describes the Caring Program for Children and the Children's Health Insurance Program (Blue Cross/Blue Shield's BlueCHIP program) in Pennsylvania. It depicts the health care needs of children living in poverty and children of the uninsured working poor who do not qualify for Medicaid assistance, and explains the unique funding of this collaborative program. Appearances by Fred Rogers of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood" and by local medical and government officials underscore the need for this type of program, the reasons for its success, and the ways that public and private resources can join together to help ensure access to primary health care for children. The videotape concludes with a television clip describing the program on NBC's "America Close Up." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Pennsylvania, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Videotapes

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This videotape contains parenting information for new fathers. It covers the psychological implications of parenthood and the changes it brings to the parent's life, the physical care of the baby, and an explanation of infant behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-0978 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Fathers, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infant feeding, Parenting, Videotapes

Annotation: This videotape is for new parents and discusses newborn care at home. It covers preparing the home before the baby arrives, normal infant development, and aspects of physical care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant health, Videotapes

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video explains why adding fluoride to community water systems is safe and effective at preventing tooth decay. The video features commentary from oral health professionals and pediatric health professionals about the value of community water fluoridation for children and adults.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Community based services, Fluorides, Nutrition, Oral health, Preventive health services, Safety, Water

Annotation: This poster explains how tooth decay develops in children and the role of fluoride in protecting their teeth from decay. Additional topics include the importance of drinking fluoridated water, toothbrushing with the right amount of fluoridated toothpaste, and talking to a dentist or doctor about fluoride treatments. The poster is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Community based services, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Posters, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Water

Annotation: This online video reflects on 25 years of the Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology Program (MCHEP). It outlines the building of state, local, tribal, and territorial MCH data and research capacity to improve the health outcomes for women, infants, children, and families.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Families, History, Infants, MCH Epidemiology Program, Women

Annotation: These three videorecordings, about 15-20 minutes each, help train law enforcement officers in New Mexico about child safety in traumatic situations involving abuse or neglect of children, and provides tips and procedures in minimizing trauma for children. Video topics include: (1) parental arrest, (2) abuse and neglect referrals, and (3) minimizing trauma.

Contact: Southwest Region-National Child Protection Training Center, New Mexico State University, PO Box 30003, MSC3470, Las Cruces, NM 88003, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://swrtc.nmsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child safety, Child welfare, Children, Law enforcement, New Mexico, Professional training, Trauma

Annotation: This book for students and practicing clinicians presents a step-by-step approach to thoughtful and critical reading of health research literature utilizing scenarios, checklists, and exercises. Section one focuses on study evaluation including design, assessment, analysis, interpretation, extrapolation, randomized trials, cohort studies, and meta-analysis. The second section discusses tests with topics in variability, reference interval, definitions, test comparisons, and screening. Section three covers rate sampling, standardization, sources, and compilation. The fourth section considers costs and evaluating effectiveness by study design, assessment, analysis, interpretation, and extrapolation. Section five gives an overview of basic principles of statistics, univariable, bivariable, and multivariable analyses, along with a flowchart summary. Each section concludes with a review/question summary. The book concludes with a glossary and index. A CD-ROM is included with interactive questions and answers that parallel each of the first four sections of the text.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-1860-0.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Data analysis, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Health services, Interactive media, Medicine, Research methodology, Statistics

Annotation: This resource provides oral health images (color photo- graphs and illustrations) for educational, news media, or research purposes. Contents include scientific photo- graphs and graphs, as well as illustrations.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Children, Infants, Oral health, Parents

Annotation: This webinar presentation, broadcast April 9, 2013, describes how evaluations are critical in verifying that home visiting programs are delivering on the promises of improved outcomes for children and families and wise use of dollars. It highlights common challenges encountered in the evaluation process and provides examples of successful approaches to overcoming evaluation challenges. Examples are provided from the Michigan Maternal Infant Health Program evaluation strategy and considerations for effectiveness evaluation of MCH home visiting programs in the current landscape of expansion in the Nurse-Family Partnership Program in Pennsylvania.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website, after registration.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Case studies, Child health, Evaluation methods, Family support services, Home visiting, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation