Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 6 (6 total).

Safe Kids Worldwide. 2014. Changing the culture of youth sports. Washington, DC: Safe Kids Worldwide, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of athletes in grades 7-10, coaches of athletes in grades 7-10, and parents with children who play sports in grades 1-10 about sports injuries and what is being done to keep young athletes safe while playing sports. The report provides information on sports injuries in children, players who play injured, injuries resulting from foul play, and opportunities to improve coaches' knowledge and skills. Tips on sports safety are also included.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Athletes, Child safety, Children, Injury prevention, International health, International programs, Program improvement, Recreational safety, Risk taking, Safety programs, Sports equipment, Sports injuries, Team sports

Center for Medicaid, CHIP and Survey and Certification. 2013. The game plan: How school and community youth sports programs can help get eligible children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 28 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides strategies and outreach materials to help coaches ensure that children get the health coverage they need. The guide is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Connecting Kids to Coverage Challenge, which calls upon leaders in government, schools, and communities across the country to reach out and enroll all children eligible for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Contents include tips for getting the word out, potential partner organizations, getting media coverage and preparing a media pitch, and resources.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Athletes, Children', Community outreach, Mass media, Medicaid, National initiatives, Public awareness campaigns, Students, s Health Insurance Program

Child Trends Data Bank. 2013. Steroid use: Indicators on children and youth (upd.). [Bethesda, MD]: Child Trends Data Bank, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about anabolic steroid use among students in grades 8, 10, and 12. The report discusses the importance of the issue (including health problems and behavior problems related to steroid use in adolescents); trends; differences by gender, race, and HIspanic origin, and college plans; state and local estimates; international estimates; and national goals.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Athletes, Eduational factors, Ethnic factors, Mental health problems, Racial factors, Risk taking, Sex factors, Statistical data, Steroids, Substance abuse, Trends

Children's Safety Network. 2013. Strategies for preventing sports-related concussions and subsequent injury. Newton, MA: Children's Safety Network, 5 items.

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses ways to reduce the risk of concussion during sports and recreational activities and the role of preventive equipment in prevention. The fact sheet includes tips for coaches, parents, and athletes, discusses findings from the literature and recommendations from professional organizations, and provides a list of related fact sheets.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Athletes, Child health, Education, Guidelines, Head injuries, Prevention, Safety, Sports, Training

Youth Sports Safety Alliance. 2013. National action plan for sports safety. Carrollton, TX: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document describes the benefits and potential risks to student athletes while playing sports and general recommended actions for schools, parents, and advocates to minimize or eliminate adverse outcomes among secondary school athletes. Topics include providing proper equipment, available health care professionals, and a safe environment. The document also provides specific recommended actions related to cardiac events, neurologic injuries, environmental / exertional conditions, and dietary / substance-induced conditions.

Contact: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 1620 Valwood Parkway, Suite 115, Carrollton, TX 75006, Telephone: (214) 637-6282 Secondary Telephone: (860) 437-5700 Fax: (214) 637-2206 Web Site: http://www.nata.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Athletes, Community action, Health care delivery, Injury prevention, Parents, Physical activity, Policy development, Risk factors, Safety, Safety equipment, Secondary schools, Sports, Students

Secretary's Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children. 2010. Screening U.S. college athletes for their sickle cell disease carrier status. Rockville, MD: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children, 18 pp.

Annotation: This briefing paper outlines issues surrounding the screening of young athletes for their sickle disease carrier status (sickle cell trait), a genetic condition. The report discusses research findings and reports on health outcomes of individuals with sickle sell trait, public health implications of the National Collegiate Athletic Association rule on testing athletes for sickle cell trait, and recommendations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1080 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Athletes, College students, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Public policy, Research, Sickle cell trait, Testing
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.