Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is designed to help peer leaders address date violence as peer counselors, classroom presenters, or public speakers. The manual includes an overview of the problem of dating violence, three recommended activities, guidelines for talking to adolescents about physical and sexual abuse, a checklist for peer leaders, an evaluation form, and educational handouts. The materials are appropriate for presentations to grades 8–12.

Contact: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 649 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 6, Cambridge, MA 02139, Telephone: (617) 868-1650 Fax: (617) 868-1651 E-mail: [email protected] $10 plus 20% for mailing charge.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dating, Sexual assault, Violence

Annotation: This document for agencies, organizations, universities, community coalitions, policymakers, prevention professionals, and other individuals interested in reducing the burden of sexual violence in New Mexico provides a framework for moving primary prevention forward. Contents include background on sexual violence and active consent, the causes and costs of sexual violence and how to prevent it, societal factors that contribute to sexual assault, priority populations, the system for responding to sexual violence in New Mexico, and a summary of progress. Methods, results, focus groups with a subset of priority populations, conclusion, and goals and objectives are included.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Costs, Ethnic groups, Injury prevention, Minority groups, New Mexico, Primary prevention, Risk factors, Rural populations, Sexual assault, Strategic plans, Violence prevention, Women

Annotation: This report presents action steps and recommendations from a federal task force to protect students from sexual violence. Topics include using campus climate surveys to identify problems; preventing sexual assault on campus; responding effectively when a student is sexually assaulted; and improving the federal government's enforcement efforts, and making them more transparent.

• PDF

Keywords: Community action, Crime prevention, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Interpersonal violence, Judicial actions, Policy development, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Schools, Sexual assault, Students, Surveys, Training, Trauma, Violence prevention

Annotation: This national plan was developed to help prevent child sexual abuse and exploitation. The plan defines the nature and scope of the child sexual abuse and exploitation; acknowledges the need to build on the foundation of existing research, advocacy, and treatment; discusses the value of a national plan; encourages the development of prevention-focused policy; and describes a range of actions that include individual, community and policy level strategies to stop the demand for, and to prevent, child sexual abuse and exploitation. In efforts to accomplish the goals of prevention, six action areas are emphasized: research, public awareness, ending the demand, policies and organizational practices, collaborative practices, and funding. A glossary of terms is also provided.

Contact: National Coalition to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Exploitation, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventtogether.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child sexual abuse, National programs, Prevention, Sexual assault, Strategic plans

Annotation: This fact sheet provides statistics and research findings on child sexual abuse and assault in the United States. It describes the extent of the problem, the negative health outcome, and the long-range impact on children and youth.

Contact: National Coalition to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Exploitation, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.preventtogether.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child sexual abuse, Data, Prevention, Reports, Sexual assault, Statistics

Annotation: This fact sheet provides statistical information on adolescent sexual activity. Topics include: general sexual activity; first sexual intercourse; sexual partners and relationships; abstinence; contraceptive and protection; pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs); sex and substance abuse; sexual pressure, assault and dating violence; and access to health care services. Major national data sets on teen sexual activity in the U.S. are identified.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Contraception, Dating, Peer pressure, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual intercourse, Sexual partners, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Violence

Annotation: The report describes a project assessing violence prevention interventions provided to adolescent victims of violence in hospital emergency departments (ED) and after discharge. Research objectives also include assessing the receptiveness of injured youth and their families presenting to the ED to violence prevention interventions, and determining the feasibility and effectiveness of an individualized home-based youth and family intervention with community involvement on outcomes of future injury, fighting, problem behavior, and aggression. Report contents include an abstract of the research program; an introduction discussing the nature of the research problem, and the purpose, scope, and methods of the investigation; an overview of the literature; study design and methods; the presentation of the findings including general status, risk and protective factors for assault injury, circumstances of assault injury presenting to the ED, mental health of assault injured youth, the assault injury as a sentinel event or teachable moment, and manuscripts in progress; a discussion of the findings; a list of products produced; and a list of literature cited. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Aggression, Assault, Final reports, Injuries, Intervention, MCH research, Trauma, Violence prevention

Annotation: This annual report synthesizes information provided by state child protective service agencies to the federally mandated National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS). It reviews the background of the data collection process; analyzes the national child abuse and neglect data for the year being covered; considers the detailed case data component of NCANDS with examples of some of the types of analyses that can be made of the data; and discusses future directions. Data gathered include: age, sex, race or ethnic group of victims, types of abuse, case dispositions and descriptive information on perpetrators. Appendices contain listings for state advisory group representatives, summary data component tables, and state responses to the summary data component and state comments. This report was previously published under the title: "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 1: 1990 Summary Data Component, " and "National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System Working Paper 2: 1991 Summary Data Component."

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Crime, Data collection, Demographics, Emotional abuse, Federal programs, National data, Sexual assault, State data reports, State surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This bulletin draws on key findings derived from data from the Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Incident-Based Reporting System to develop a statistical profile of juvenile crime. Tables, figures, and an accompanying analysis offer perspectives on characteristics of offenders and victims, including age, gender, and relationship; types of offenses, including aggravated and simple assault, sexual assault, and robbery; the unlawful use of firearms; and injuries. A methods section and a data source note are also included.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 201628.

• PDF

Keywords: Assault, Crime, Data, Firearms, Injuries, Juvenile delinquency, Offenders, Sexual assault, Victims

Annotation: This report analyzes data from a 2002 survey undertaken to determine the prevalence of sexual assault in Virginia. According to this survey, the vast majority of sexual assault victims in the state were first victimized as children. This report focuses on data pertaining to respondents victimized as children. The report, which includes an executive summary, also discusses the study methods, findings, and recommendations. Statistical information is provided in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes references.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Division of Injury and Violence Prevention, PO Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7733 Secondary Telephone: (800) 732-8333 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vahealth.org/civp/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Children, Data, Sexual assault, Surveys, Virginia

Annotation: This paper assesses the extent to which adolescent birth rates can explain why the United States had the highest developed country crime rates in the 1980s, and why U.S. crime rates subsequently fell so much, particularly for the crime of assault. The paper includes a description of the theoretical and empirical work on crime determinants, a description of data and descriptive statistics, a description of the econometric approach, a results section, and conclusions. The paper also contains a data appendix. References and a data appendix are provided. Statistics are presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the paper.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Assault, Birth rates, Crime, Low income groups, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This brief presents information on many types of violence (including the most common forms of violence, the least common forms of violence, and other types of violence) that affect children's lives, as well as critical intersections of violence and age, gender, and race and ethnicity. The brief considers the need to collect other types of information to help monitor and track violence in the lives of America's children and adolescents. The brief also offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the brief. The brief concludes with a list of data sources for figures, and endnotes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-932359-06-X.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Domestic violence, Ethnic factors, Fighting, Gun violence, Infants, Media violence, Racial factors, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Violence, Violence prevention, Weapons

Annotation: This policy and resource guide brings together policies, position statements, and advocacy activities that address violence, intentional injury, and abuse affecting adolescents. The guide covers the following topics: (1) bullying and physical fighting, (2) education and training, (3) legal considerations, (4) physical abuse and neglect, (5) sexual abuse and sexual assault, (6) special populations, (7) suicide and attempted suicide, (8) violence and the media, (9) model policy recommendations on violence and adolescents: intentional injury and abuse, (10) joint policy statements, (11) violence prevention projects and activities, and (12) Internet resources for statistics and additional information on violence prevention. The guide includes one appendix: organizations of the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available at no charge; also available from the web site.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Advocacy, Attempted suicide, Bullying, Child abuse, Child neglect, Education, Fighting, MCH research, Public policy, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Annotation: These proceedings provide a summary of a conference held February 9-11, 1994, in Seattle, Washington. The conference was the first major Public Health Service multi-regional activity which addressed the recognition, treatment, and prevention of interpersonal violence. Keynote presentations provided perspectives of interpersonal violence from the criminal justice system, public health services, health care providers, juvenile justice system, and religious communities. Panel sessions focused on issues in child abuse, adolescent abuse, partner/spouse abuse, elder abuse, and special topics. Aspects of physical, emotional, and sexual abuse were considered. The proceedings also include a bibliography of selected resources prepared by the Children's Safety Network National Injury and Violence Resource Center in Newton, Massachusetts. It is available separately under the title: "Interpersonal Violence: A Bibliography of Selected Resources."

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region X, 2201 Sixth Avenue, Room 1036, Mail Stop -01, Seattle, WA 98121-1831, Telephone: (206) 615-2010 Fax: (206) 615-2087 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://directory.psc.gov/os/880.html Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Conferences, Domestic violence, Elder abuse, Emotional abuse, Interpersonal violence, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Suicide

Annotation: In this book, comprised of 15 different papers, a panel of experts assimilate the diverse research on the patterns and characteristics of violent behavior in the United States, including behaviors that have only recently been recognized as crimes, such as incest and spousal and elder abuse. The book describes what is known about certain types of violence, details insights into risk factors for violent behavior in individuals and situations, and recommends new research efforts with short and long term payoffs. The authors also propose some answers, such as several preventive strategies for reducing firearm-related violence, that rely on existing laws. Tables and figures are included as well as author and panel biographies, references and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use, Behavioral sciences, Child abuse, Crime, Crime, Drug use, Elder abuse, Family violence, Firearms, Gun control, Legislation, Media violence, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Sexual assault, Statistics, Substance use, Weapons

Annotation: This report provides summaries of presentations at the 1992 Public Health Social Work Maternal and Child Health Institute. The conference examined violence as a public health problem and attempted to identify preventive interventions focusing on children, youth, and families. A major objective was to facilitate communication and cooperative program development among health, education, and social service systems. Preventive approaches are emphasized in the report, and several model programs are described. A 25-page executive summary, published in 1992, is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG071 (report), MCHF104 (executive summary).

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Children, Criminal justice system, Demographics, Education, Family violence, Firearms, Gangs, Injury prevention, Media violence, Population surveillance, Program development, Rape, Risk factors, Socioeconomic status, U.S.Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This book is a practical guide to date rape. Written by attorneys and a psychologist, the chapters of this book cover the following topics: what date rape is; the rapists: who they are, why they rape and how to avoid them; rape trauma syndrome: what it is and how it is used in court; protecting the victim in court: rape shield laws and related legal issues; the defendant's legal rights in court; campus rape; and the healing process. The appendix contains a directory of rape victims' resources.

Contact: Health Communications Inc. , 3201 SW 15th Street, Deerfield Beach, FL 33442, Telephone: (800) 441-5569 Secondary Telephone: (954) 360-0909 Fax: (954) 360-0034 Web Site: http://www.hci-online.com/ $9.95.

Keywords: Legal issues, Prevention programs, Rape, Sexual assault

Annotation: This manual shows how community-based programs can reduce violence in the communities. The book identifies specific activities plus a framework for putting them into place. The first part, Activities to Prevent Youth Violence, describes the target groups, settings, and strategies for prevention. The second part, Program Management, covers basic principles of effective community-based health promotion programs and includes suggestions on organizing the community, gathering and analyzing information, setting goals and objectives, locating resources, and monitoring the progress of the program. An index of community programs to prevent youth violence is included.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (404) 488-4646 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Assault, Community programs, Comprehensive programs, Conflict resolution, Crisis intervention, Education, Firearms, Intervention, Leadership, Parenting, Peer groups, Population surveillance, Prevention, Violence, Weapons

Annotation: This directory was developed to help update health care professionals on available protocols that address the needs of victims of domestic violence. The protocols and manuals provide information about the prevalence of domestic violence, the abusive cycle, profiles of victims and abusers, sample scripts for initiating discussion, descriptions of legal issues to consider, sources of referral, as well as guidelines for developing new protocols. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assault, Community programs, Domestic violence, Emergency medical services, Gender, Hospitals, Nurses, Physicians, Protocols, Sexual abuse