Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides downloadable breastfeeding-education pamphlets for new mothers. Topics of the pamphlets include breastfeeding, milk quality, how to breastfeed, breast milk expression and storage, taking care of sore nipples and breast engorgement, and what to eat while breastfeeding. Each pamphlet is available in English and Vietnamese.

Contact: University of California, Berkeley, College of Natural Resources, 101 Giannini Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720, Telephone: (510) 642-7171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nature.berkeley.edu/site/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infants, Nutrition

Annotation: This flyer provides quotes from mothers who breastfeed and summarizes why breastfeeding is good for babies, mothers, and families. It is available in Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Indonesian, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/ Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This illustrated flyer describes the proper sleeping environment for babies in cribs. It is available in Arabian, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese, Khmer, Lao, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: SIDS and Kids Australia, 98 Morang Road. Suite 1, Hawthorne, Victoria, Australia 3122, Telephone: +61 3 9819 4595 Fax: +61 3 9818 4596 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsandkids.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Non-English Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video for pregnant women and parents describes steps to promote good oral health for their infant. Steps include taking care of the woman’s mouth during pregnancy, cleaning the infant’s gums daily, brushing the infant’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, taking the infant to the dentist when the first tooth erupts or by age 1, and avoiding giving the infant drinks with added sugar. In addition to English, the video is available in the following languages: Arabic, English, French, Nepali, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• English
• All Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Non English language materials, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about promoting good oral health at home during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of serving healthy foods and drinks and promoting good oral hygiene habits to keep children’s mouths healthy during the pandemic and always. It also includes tips for eating healthy foods and drinks and practicing healthy oral hygiene habits. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, COVID-19, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about taking their child to the dentist during the COVID19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of getting oral health care for children. It also lists changes that dental offices may have made to lower the risk of spreading COVID-19 to patients and parents. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, COVID-19, Consumer education materials, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

Annotation: This toolkit provides oral health resources that health professionals can share with pregnant women and new mothers. The print resources, which include the complete toolkit, brochures, posters, and infographics, are available in Arabic, Cambodian, English, French, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Taiwanese. Videos are available in English and in Spanish. The resources offer information about where to obtain oral health care by state and about how to care for gums and teeth during pregnancy and infancy.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infants, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: This form is designed to assist oral health professionals in obtaining patient consent for use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) to arrest dental caries. Contents include facts about SDF, including potential risks, and alternatives to using SDF. A photo of how teeth may look after SDF treatment is included. The form is available in Chinese, English, and Spanish.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Informed consent, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources provide information on oral health throughout life. Selected topics include tips for good oral health during pregnancy, dental emergencies, nutrition, oral health for older adults,dental sealants, and silver diamine fluoride. For each topic, linns to resources for more information are provided. The resources are available in Arabic, Cantonese , English, Hmong, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medlineplus.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Men, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Research, Risk factors, Sealants, Spanish language materials, Statistical data, Women

Annotation: This fact sheet is designed to help families navigate their child’s dental coverage in Covered California and Medi-Cal. Topics include what services are covered, where to learn about dental coverage, and how to find a dentist. The fact sheets are available in Chinese, English, Hindi, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Spanish, Tagalog, Tongan, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, California, Consumer education materials, Families, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Local initiatives, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: These resources are designed to help people prevent or manage diabetes. Contents include tracking tools, printable documents, online and inperson programs, videos and podcasts, presentations, mobile applications, and websites. Topics include eating healthy, being active, managing weight, coping with stress and emotions, setting goals, stopping smoking, preventing diabetes-related health problems, and checking blood glucose. The resources can be searched by topic, age, type of resource, or language (English, Spanish, and Vietnamese). Resources are are also available for people with diabetes or prediabetes, and those at risk for diabetes; family members, friends, or caregivers; health professionals; teachers or school health professionals; community health workers; and community organizations. A community health promotion toolkit is also available.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Behavior modification, Diabetes, Health behavior, Health promotion, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Self care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website provides information and resources for a national public health campaign to encourage families to learn more about their family health history. Contents include the My Family Health Portrait tool, a web-enabled program for collecting and sharing family history information with health professionals and other family members. The tool is also available in printable versions in English, Chinese, French, Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish. Additional resources include guidance on planning and conducting conversations with family members, information about National Family History Day (Thanksgiving), and links to related resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Human Genome Research Institute.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Family health, Federal initiatives, Medical history, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaigns, Public health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide offers a plan for women's health at all stages of life. It outlines healthy behaviors to prevent and manage many health conditions that can affect women, and specifically addresses pregnancy, breastfeeding, healthy eating, physical activity, menopause, and breast cancer. Topics include risk factors, screening tests and immunizations, and talking with a health professional. The guide is available in Chinese, English, and Spanish..

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Asian language materials, Disease management, Educational materials, Health behavior, Health promotion, Oral Health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: This brochure for parents and other caregivers provides tips for keeping infants safe during sleep. Topics include suffocation and safe sleep environments. The brochure is available in English, Spanish, Hmong, and Somali.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

• English
• Program Website

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education, Environmental influences, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaign materials, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation

Annotation: This report tracks the status of the tobacco epidemic and the impact of interventions implemented to stop it. Contents include the World Health Organization's framework convention on tobacco control, along with guidelines for implementation. Topics include monitoring tobacco use and prevention policies, protecting from tobacco smoke, offering help to quit tobacco use, warning about the dangers of tobacco, health warning labels, and anti-tobacco mass media campaigns. The appendices contain global tobacco control policy data, country profiles, graphs on tobacco taxes and prices, age-standardized prevalence estimates for smoking, country-provided prevalence data, Global Youth Tobacco Survey data, and maps on global tobacco control and policy data. Information is presented in English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Spanish, and Russian.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• 2011 Editions
• 2008, 2009 Editions

Keywords: Asian language materials, Costs, Data, Health policy, International health, International programs, Non English language materials, Prevalence, Spanish language materials, Taxes, Tobacco use

Annotation: The tool serves as a quick reference guide for families just receiving a new diagnosis of autism for their child. It provides a template to help parents know who to contact and how to start getting help for their child. Topics include health insurance and medical care, early intervention, education, specialized services, child care, family support, parent education, therapies, and medications. Many national resources are included as well as resources for Washington state. The tool is available in Cambodian, English, Korean, and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: PAVE, 6316 South 12th Street, Tacoma, WA 98465, Telephone: (253) 565-2266 Secondary Telephone: ( 800) 572-7368 Fax: (253) 566-8052 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.washingtonpave.com Available from the website. Document Number: DOH Pub. no. 970-138.

Keywords: Asian English language materials, Autism, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Community coordination, Parenting, Spanish language materials, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This brochure provides tips for reducing the risk of sudden infant death syndrome, or cot death. It discusses how to position baby for sleep and smoking prevention in baby's area; warns against sharing a bed, couch, or sofa, with baby and avoiding overheating; and gives additional tips. The brochure has been translated into simplified Chinese, Latvian, Polish, and Portuguese.

Contact: Lullaby Trust, 11 Belgrade Road, London, England SW1V 1RB, Telephone: (020) 7802-3200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lullabytrust.org.uk Available from the website.

• Brochure

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Environmental exposure, Infant death, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This brochure provides tips for parents on creating a safe sleep environment for infants. It discusses the dangers of co-sleeping and lists specific situations in which the danger is particularly great. The risk of sleeping together with an infant on a sofa, armchair, settee, or adult bed are listed, and a phone number for more information is provided. The brochure has been translated into Arabic, Chinese, French, Gujarati, Kurdish, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, and Urdu.

Contact: Lullaby Trust, 11 Belgrade Road, London, England SW1V 1RB, Telephone: (020) 7802-3200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lullabytrust.org.uk Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep

Annotation: This quick reference describes the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) -- including those in the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 -- that are relevant to child care providers and programs. It defines what the ADA is and explains who is protected by it; whether or not specific child care programs are required to achieve compliance; and the types of child care policies, procedures, and accommodations the ADA requires. It is available in English, Chinese, and Spanish.

Contact: Child Care Law Center, 221 Pine Street, Third Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104, Telephone: (415) 394-7144 Fax: (415) 394-7140 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childcarelaw.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Americans with Disabilities Act, Asian language materials, Child care, Children with special health care needs, Federal legislation, Inclusion, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This user kit gives instructions for presenting the Baby Essentials slide program to all who work in organizations that have a role in supporting families, including board members, managers, and service and support staff. It describes how to make the presentation; lists purposes and key points for each of the slides; provides activities to help the audience prepare to shape discussions with families; and includes resource materials that can be copied for engaging families and images of the slides in the presentation. It provides guidance for managers in integrating safe sleep into the organization's service standards and in developing a staff education plan. It lists expectations for peer educators who present this program and provides sample marketing materials for advertising the program and sample documents such as attendance forms and participant evaluation forms. It closes with abstracts of research articles. The online page presents the slide show with audio and summaries in 20 languages (Arabic, Chinese Simplified, Cook Island Maori, English, Fijian, Filipino, French, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Maori, Niuean, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Tokelauan, and Tongan).

Contact: Change for Our Children, P.O. Box 36406, Christchurch, NZ 8146, Telephone: (03) 379-6686 Fax: (03) 353-9269 E-mail: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz/contact/enquiry_form Web Site: http://www.changeforourchildren.co.nz Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-877512903-2.

• User Guide
• Online Program

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Family support, Infant death, Intervention, Non English language materials, Prevention, Resource materials, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials