Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

• Chartbook And PowerPoint
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

Annotation: This document is intended for use by policy makers and advocates of women's health issues. It addresses issues of minority women's health, covering Native Americans, Hispanics, African Americans, Asian Americans, with special attention to adolescent and elderly women. Information is presented about life expectancy, major causes of death, behavior and lifestyles, risk factors, prenatal health care services, access to health insurance and services, and morbidity and mortality. The document includes numerous graphs, and a list of references. It concludes with recommendations to improve the health of women of color.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH 98-4247.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Morbidity, Older adults, Risk factors, Statistics, Women', s health

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS Pub. No. (SMA) 14-4818.

• PDF

Keywords: Asian Americans, Enrollment, Hawaiians, Health promotion, Health status disparities, Minority health, Outreach, Pacific Islanders, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Contact: Hep B United , Web Site: http://hepbunited.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asian Americans, Barriers, Collaboration, Hepatitis B, High risk groups, Pregnant women, Public private partnerships, Screening, Training, Vaccines

Annotation: This toolkit for community organizers provides information about how to plan an Affordable Care Act (ACA) third birthday party community event for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities. The toolkit includes suggestions for events, a planning worksheet, sample postcard and information on how to use them, sample taglines that can be translated, information about the health insurance marketplace, and ideas for how to use social media.

Contact: Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum, 450 Sutter Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108, Telephone: (415) 954-9988 Fax: (415) 954-9999 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Communities, Community action, Community participation, Hawaiians, Health, Health Insurance, Legislation, Mass media, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This consensus statement resulted from the summit, Integrated Care for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities: A Blueprint for Action, held in August 15-16, 2011, in San Francisco, California. The document includes information about the summit; the consensus statement itself; a discussion of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) health and behavioral health and of AANHPI populations in general; and recommendations from the summit.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, Asian Americans, Hawaiians, Health, Health behavior, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Service integration

Annotation: This report compiles 2010 national surveillance data on infectious disease in single race Asians and Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders. Contents include background information and data sources, overviews, snapshots, discussion, and references on tuberculosis, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV and AIDS.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Communicable diseases, Data sources, Epidemiology, HIV, Hawaiians, Hepatitis, Mortality, Pacific Americans, Pacific Islanders, Population surveillance, Sexually transmitted diseases, Testing, Trends, Tuberculosis

Annotation: This final report describes a project to provide Asian American & Pacific Islander (AAPI) runaway and homeless youth in Minnesota culturally-appropriate health services, through RICE (Reaching Immigrants with Care & Education). The 2007-2012 project included street outreach, health education, prevention and intervention services designed for AAPI street youth, aged between 10-18 years old, with a special focus on Hmong runaway girls who bear highest risk of being subjected to sexual abuse. Report contents include a description of the project and realtionship to Title V maternal and child health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination and utilization of results, as well as future plans and sustainability. The appendix includes the evaluation report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Asian Americans, Final reports, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Outreach, Pacific Islanders, Runaways, Youth

Annotation: This book presents information about the range of cultures within the United States, and advice about developing cultural competence in order to work with families of differing origins. The book gives the cultural perspectives of families of Anglo-European, Native American, African American, Latino, Asian, Philipino, Hawaiian, Samoan, Middle Eastern, and South Asian origin. For each culture, the book lists bibliographies, beliefs, values, practices, cultural courtesies, and significant cultural events. The intended audience is health or social services professionals working with children with special health needs. Concluding sections include suggested readings and resources, and author and subject indexes.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-744-6.

Keywords: American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Children with special health care needs, Cultural competence, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Pacific Americans

Annotation: This fact sheet presents findings from a study to estimate the economic burden of health disparities in the United States using the following three measures: direct medical costs of health inequalities, indirect costs of health inequities, and costs of premature death. Topics include the potential cost savings of eliminating health disparities and productivity loss associated with health inequalities for racial and ethnic minorities.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Economics, Equal opportunities, Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Racial factors, Research

Annotation: This evaluation report summarizes methods, outputs, and outcomes of Phase II (community awareness and education) of the Community Genetics Education Project, a project funded by a Health Resources and Services Administration cooperative agreement with the March of Dimes with the goal of increasing the genetic literacy of African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders. The report aims to identify overarching challenges, lessons learned, and best practice implications. Specifically, the report (1) summarizes methodologies used in the development of this report, (2) provides an overview of local site interventions, (3) describes the roles of various project partners in Phase II, (4) summarizes common elements of the local evaluations and provides an overview of specific local evaluation designs and methods, (5) summarizes and discusses local evaluation findings, (6) addresses how these findings have been disseminated and discussed, (7) discusses additional Phase II outcomes, (8) details implementation challenges and lessons learned, and (9) summarizes best practice implications.Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Communities, Evaluation, Genetics education, Health literacy, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Intervention, Outcome and process assessment, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This plan illustrates measurable objectives that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) will pursue to raise the visibility of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) health issues, health care, and human services designations. The plan, developed as part of the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, identifies how the department will carry out its plan to prevent, treat, and control Hepatitis B infections in AANHPI communities; work to improve reporting of data; foster workforce diversity by developing workforce pipelines for AAs and NHPIs; and address some of the key health issues that specifically impact NH and PI populations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian Americans, Cultural diversity, Data, Federal initiatives, Hawaii, Hepatitis B, Minority health, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Strategic plans, Work force

Annotation: This issue focus highlights disparities and health concerns among Hispanics, Asian Americans, and American Indians and provides examples of ways that philanthropic organizations can support efforts to improve health status and outcomes of these populations. Challenges and future considerations are also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Asian Americans, Ethnic factors, Health, Health status disparities, Hispanics, Racial factors

Annotation: This quick reference describes the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) -- including those in the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 -- that are relevant to child care providers and programs. It defines what the ADA is and explains who is protected by it; whether or not specific child care programs are required to achieve compliance; and the types of child care policies, procedures, and accommodations the ADA requires. It is available in English, Chinese, and Spanish.

Contact: Child Care Law Center, 221 Pine Street, Third Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104, Telephone: (415) 394-7144 Fax: (415) 394-7140 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childcarelaw.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Americans with Disabilities Act, Asian language materials, Child care, Children with special health care needs, Federal legislation, Inclusion, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This blueprint, which complements the Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) health agenda, is based on information and recommendations gleaned from APIAHF conferences, workshops, and meetings with Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AA and NHPI) community groups and leaders held over the past two decades. (The APIAHF health agenda is an outcome of an APIAHF conference held in Washington, DC, to address growing disparities in education, employment, poverty, and health in AA and NHPI communities.) Blueprint topics include guaranteed affordable health care; guaranteed access to high-quality care; health equity; healthy communities; and leadership, civic engagement, and political will.

Contact: Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum, 450 Sutter Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108, Telephone: (415) 954-9988 Fax: (415) 954-9999 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Communities, Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Poverty

Annotation: This brief compares access to health care for three groups of non-Hispanic Asian and white children and adolescents ages 2-17: (1) all children and adolescents, (2) children and adolescent born in the United States, and (3) immigrants. It presents data on the average percentage of children and adolescents in the past year who had (1) a usual source of care, (2) one or more office visits, (3) one or more dental visits, (4) no health insurance coverage for an entire calendar year, and (5) no health insurance coverage for an 6 to 12 months in the past year.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Asian Americans, Child health, Immigrants, Oral health, Statistical data, Uninsured persons, Whites

Annotation: This monograph presents a description and analysis of the research literature related to child and family mental health among African Americans, Asian American/Pacific Islanders, Latinos, and Native Americans. These groups provide a starting point for analyzing the existing literature available to support organizational cultural competence strategies and identify gaps that require further study. Background information for each of these populations is also provided, including population characteristics and community context factors that influence the development, implementation, and operationalization of cultural competence in terms of access, availability, and utilization of mental health services. Appendices provide summaries of strategies for each of the cultural groups. Figures and tables present data throughout the monograph.

Contact: University of South Florida, Research and Training Center for Children's Mental Health, 13301 Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612-3809, Telephone: (813) 974-4661 Fax: (813) 974-6257 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://rtckids.fmhi.usf.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: Publication no. 240-1.

• PDF

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child health, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Family health, Hispanic Americans, Literature reviews, Mental health services, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Service utilization

Annotation: This report provides information on the physical activity status of California adolescents. The report discusses the percentages of California adolescents who get regular, some, and no physical activity; the status of girls, Latinos, Asians, and African Americans; the lack of safe parks and open spaces; and the importance of physical education. Policy recommendations, the data source, and author information are also included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes endnotes.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent health, Asian Americans, Blacks, California, Hispanic Americans, Physical activity, Physical education

Annotation: This Web site provides information in a variety of Asian languages to increase electronic access to health information for consumers and health care providers of the South Cove Community Health Center and its affiliates by developing a web site to meet the information needs of the South Cove community; (2) provide consumer information in the languages of the community served, specifically Chinese, Cambodian, Vietnamese, and Laotian; and (3) teach health care providers to use the wide variety of Internet resources available to them and their patients including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources. Additional languages include Hmong, Korean, and Thai. Information for over 30 different health topics is provided.

Contact: Tufts University, Hirsh Health Sciences Library, 145 Harrison Avenue, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 636-6705 Fax: (617) 636-4039 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.library.tufts.edu/hsl/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Asians, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Resource materials

Annotation: This brochure gives an overview of statistics of infant deaths attributable to sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in a variety of racial and ethnic categories. Topics include efforts to reduce the risks of SIDS through the "back to sleep" campaign. Information is provided for resources designed to reduce SIDS risks in minority communities. References conclude the brochure.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child death review, Hispanic Americans, Infant death, Minority groups, Neonatal death, Pacific Islanders, Risk factors, SIDS, Statistics