Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes key methodological aspects and issues to consider when using the 2007 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) data files and the linked file of the 2007 NHIS and the 2008 Medical Expenditure Panel Survey to evaluate use and impact of complementary and alternative medicine among children in the United States. Topics include weighting, sample size and limits of the linked data sets, validity evaluation, and variable construction using currently available population-based data files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Child health, Data, National surveys, Research methodology, Treatment effectiveness evaluation, Utilization review

Annotation: This brief uses data from the 2007 National Health Interview Survey and the 2009-2010 National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs to examine complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) use and expenditures for children with emotional, behavioral, or mental (EBM) conditions or problems. Topics include characteristics of children with EMB conditions or problems and the relationship between CAM and conventional medical care use.

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Alternative medicine, Children with special health care needs, Comorbidity, Data analysis, National surveys, Prevalence

Annotation: This brief uses data from the 2007 National Health Interview Survey to examine complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) use for children from birth to age 17 with pain-related conditions or problems. Topics include characteristics of these children and the relationship between CAM and conventional medical care use.

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Alternative medicine, Children with special health care needs, Comorbidity, Data analysis, National surveys, Pain, Palliative treatment, Prevalence

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women', s health

Annotation: This book presents information on women's health from an holistic approach and using case studies. The book is divided into three parts. Part One: From External Control to Inner Guidance examines the cultural influence on women's health care, the mind-body connection, feminine intelligence and the female energy system. Part Two: The Anatomy of Women's Wisdom discusses reproduction, sexuality, fertility, childbearing, motherhood, and menopause. Part Three: Choices for Healing: Creating Your Personal Plan looks at steps for healing, medical care, nutrition, physical activity, and overall personal well being. An appendix provides choices in hormone replacement. References, resources and chapter notes are included.

Contact: Random House, Bantam Books, 1540 Broadway, New York, NY 10036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.randomhouse.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-553-37953-4.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Holistic health, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of recent findings from a cross-section of Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)-supported research projects on conditions especially important to women's health. Examples of topics included in the brief are cardiovascular disease, cancer screening and treatment, reproductive health, women and medications, and prevention. For each topic, facts are presented and then elaborated upon. The studies from which the facts are drawn are identified by author names, journal in which the study appears, and (in some cases) AHRQ grant or contract number.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no.10-P005.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Costs, Family planning, HIV, Homelessness, Hysterectomy, Osteoporosis, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Research, Screening, Treatment, Violence, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This resource handbook is designed for librarians and others who help the general public locate consumer health information. It covers standard resources for answering health-related questions, discusses the art of the health-reference interview, and touches on such related matters as the legal implications of providing health information to consumers. The handbook provides librarians with resources in consumer health in three parts. Part one discusses consumer health essentials such as decoding medical terminology, understanding health concerns of a variety of diseases, and exploring complementary and alternative medicine. The second part provides recommended resources in both electronic and print formats, and includes a section focused on children's health. Part three gives specific tips for librarians on providing consumer healthcare information including the creation of services, evaluating resources, creating publications, and building successful consumer health Web sites. This handbook also contains a CD-ROM which includes a Web-ready HTML list of recommended health Web sites and a template of the Hathaway Medical Center Library Consumer Health Web Site for use in Web design.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-418-2.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diseases, Information services, Information sources, Library services, Medical terminology, Reference materials, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This book is a compilation of articles from the New York Times that analyze the major health issues facing women. The book is divided into 13 sections that cover the following subjects: (1) nutrition; (2) exercise; (3) women and weight; (4) emotional health; (5) violence; (6) sexuality; (7) pregnancy, childbirth, and matters of the womb; (8) the teenage years: raising healthy daughters; (9) menopause and aging; (10) breast cancer; (11) heart disease; (12) image and self-image; and (13) herbs, supplements, and alternative medicine. Each article shows the name of the reporter wrote the article and the date it was published.

Contact: Lebhar-Friedman Books, 425 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Web Site: http://www.lfbooks.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-86730-806-0.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Breast cancer, Childbirth, Menopause, Nutrition, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Violence prevention, Women', s health

Annotation: This book for health and community professionals and the general public discusses both traditional and alternative medical therapies for women's health issues throughout the life cycle. Part one outlines major health care issues and goals in the areas of physical, reproductive, and psycho-social-cultural-spiritual health. Part two covers traditional and alternative approaches to women's wellness including historical perspectives, psychological therapies, physical activities, nutrition, pharmacological therapies, herbal remedies, homeopathy, and acupuncture. Unique treatment options are also included such as spiritual approaches, music, drama and dance therapies, and therapeutic touch. Part three presents case studies of women's health care in Nicaragua, a use of art therapy, and storytelling as a holistic treatment. An index is provided.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1219-6.

Keywords: Acupuncture, Alternative medicine, Biofeedback, Case studies, Drug therapy, Herbs, Holistic health, Life cycle, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This book for health and community service professionals and the general public focuses on heart disease risks common among black women. Topics include high blood pressure, obesity, diabetes, nutrition, cholesterol, estrogen replacement therapy, and smoking. Alternative treatments such as herbs, vitamins, stress reduction techniques, and visualization techniques are discussed. Appendices include questions for healthcare providers, resources, a stay-on-track checklist, an exercise checklist, and a glossary. An index is provided.

Contact: Marlowe and Company, LLC, 1667 K Street, N.W., Suite 480, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 775-1796 Fax: (202) 775-0214 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.marloweco.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56924-619-X.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Heart diseases, Hormone replacement therapy, Hypertension, Nutrition, Prevention, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This book presents information on a wide range of alternative or complementary methods for providing health care. It provides an introductory chapter on alternative medicine which covers approaches such as acupuncture and acupressure, biofeedback, homeopathy, massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, and visualization therapy, among others. It includes chapters on the following topics: natural nutrition; vitamins; minerals and trace elements; botanical medicines; coping with stress; stress-related disorders; drug abuse and addiction; mental health disorders; common male and female health problems; pregnancy, childbirth, and infant care; dental care; eye, ear, nose, and throat problems; cancer; heart disorders; and aging. Each chapter presents alternative treatments for specific conditions, includes sidebars which summarize certain strategies, and provides bibliographical references. A glossary, a general bibliography, and an index are included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8303-9.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Childbirth, Dental care, Drug abuse, Encyclopedias, Exercise, Health services, Heart diseases, Holistic health, Infant care, Men, Mental disorders, Minerals, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Stress, Stress management, Vitamins, Women