Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents an empirically-based framing strategy for communicating about fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD). Contents include a set of principles reflecting expert understanding of what fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) is, how alcohol affects fetal development, why women consume alcohol while pregnant, what the effects of FASD are, and how FASD can be prevented and addressed. The report also describes shared but implicit understandings, assumptions, and patterns of reasoning that shape how the public thinks about FASD, points at which expert and public understandings overlap and diverge, and key challenges in communicating about FASD. Recommendations are included.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Beliefs, Communication, Culturally competent services, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Prevention services, Research, Trauma care

Annotation: This document for higher education officials, particularly alcohol and other drug program and student life staff, provides information and guidance on choosing interventions to address harmful and underage drinking in campus communities. Contents include a matrix and summary tables of individual- and environmental-level strategies. A strategy planning worksheet, frequently asked questions, and supporting resources are also included.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 15-AA-8017.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Colleges, Intervention, Prevention programs, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Students, Young adults

Annotation: This report includes state-by-state youth drug overdose death rates and rankings, and a report card for how well states scored on 10 key indicators of leading evidence-based policies and programs that can improve the wellbeing of children and youth and have been connected with preventing and reducing misuse of alcohol, tobacco or other drugs.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use attitudes, Drug use behavior, Health education, Health policy, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors, Smoking, Tobacco use, Young adults

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Resources for professionals, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This guide is designed to help an individual or small planning team adapt alcohol screening and brief intervention (SBI) to the primary care practice. Topics include understanding the need for alcohol SBI, getting organizational commitment, planning for SBI and establishing referral procedures, orientating and training, planning a pilot test, supporting a strong start-up, monitoring and updating the plan, and communicating about alcohol SBI services. The appendices contain additional information on topics such as fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, risky and binge drinking, screening instruments, and billing.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Communication, Intervention, Planning, Primary care, Referrals, Screening

Annotation: This report documents alcohol industry self-regulatory initiatives designed to address concerns about underage exposure to alcohol marketing. Contents include data about how industry members allocate marketing expenditures; compliance with its advertising placement standard; online and digital marketing, including privacy practices; product placements in entertainment media; and external review of complaints related to self-regulatory code compliance. The report provides the data in an aggregate, anonymous fashion.

Contact: Federal Trade Commission, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20580, Telephone: (202) 326-2222 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ftc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Advertising, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Consumer protection, Costs, Data, Industry, Marketing, Regulations

Annotation: This brief examines the relationship between 14 state underage drinking laws and drinking prevalence among U. S. high school students, using data from the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance Survey, the Alcohol Policy Information System, and the Child Trends' state policy database. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption behavior, Policy analysis, Prevalence, Risk taking, State legislation

Annotation: This report presents the results of a baseline survey completed by 241 girls, primarily African American, in grade 9 through 11 who are participating in a federally funded evaluation of the Demoiselle-2-Femme signature after-school program in Chicago, Illinois. The purpose of the evaluation is to estimate the effects of program participation on a number of key behavioral outcomes, including sexual activity, unprotected sex, and adolescent pregnancy. The report presents background; describes the program; and discusses study design and methods; student characteristics; relationships with adults; attitudes, feelings, and knowledge about sexual behavior; sexual behavior and prior pregnancy; dating violence; tobacco, alcohol, and marijuana use; and educational expectations.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption behavior, Blacks, Community programs, Dating, Educational attainment, Illinois, Interpersonal violence, Marijuana, Prevention, Relationships, Smoking, Substance abuse

Annotation: This document provides guidance to facilitators of IKnowEverything, an adolescent driver safety program that reinforces how to be a safe driver, how to avoid being a distracted driver, and the role that parents play in shaping and influencing adolescent driving behaviors. Contents include a program overview, suggested messaging, facts, online resources, and tips for adolescent drivers and their parents. A video is also available.

Contact: Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility, 2345 Crystal Drive, Suite 710, Arlington, VA Telephone: (202) 637-0077 Web Site: http://responsibility.org Available from the website.

• Facilitator's Guide
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol related injuries, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Risk taking, Safety programs

Annotation: This report to Congress summarizes the status of the latest scientific research on adolescent alcohol use. It describes the characteristics and consequences of underage alcohol use and outlines the federal government's comprehensive efforts to address this problem. In addition, the report contains individual state reports required by the Sober Truth on Preventing Underage Drinking Act. These reports provide information on state-supported prevention and enforcement activities, programs, and policies.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Federal programs, Legislation, Prevention, Public policy, Research, State programs

Annotation: This report examines the relationship between family dinners and specific characteristics that increase or diminish the likelihood that an adolescent will smoke, drink, or use illicit drugs. The following topics are discussed: (1) family dinners and adolescent substance-abuse risk, (2) family dinners and stress, boredom, and academic performance, (3) family dinners and smoking, drinking, and using illicit drugs.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Alcohol consumption, Families, Illicit drugs, Smoking, Stress, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report provides information about adolescent alcohol consumption and substance abuse, including the abuse of prescription drugs and illegal drugs. The report explains the problem and discusses its magnitude, consequences, messages that promote adolescent substance abuse, adolescent perceptions and expectations,factors that compound or reduce the risk of adolescent substance abuse and addiction, prevention approaches and barriers to improvement, and treatment.

Contact: National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University, 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mass media, Prevention, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides a simple, empirically derived tool for identifying children and adolescents ages 9-18 at risk for alcohol-related problems. The guide also explains why it is important to screen for such problems and how the tool helps in doing so. A pocket guide and algorithm are also available from the website.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Full Guide
• Pocket Guide

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol intoxication, Child attitudes, Adolescent attitudes, Child behavior, Child health, Continuing education, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, Screening

Annotation: This paper addresses aspects of substance abuse and addiction in women of childbearing age, with an emphasis on the potential adverse effects of substance use and substance use disorders during pregnancy. The paper details mechanisms of harm from alcohol and other substances during pregnancy. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: American Society of Addiction Medicine, 4601 North Park Avenue, Upper Arcade, Suite 101, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 656-3920 Fax: (301) 656-3815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asam.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Infant health, Public policy, Substance abuse, Substance abusing pregnant women, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses oral cancer as a public health issue and describes causes and symptoms. Information about oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality rates in Wisconsin and the state's tobacco prevention and control program is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Consumer education, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Epidemiology, Oral cancer, Oral health, State programs, Statistics, Tobacco use, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report presents an overview of alcohol product advertising on television from 2001 to 2009 and discusses the alcohol industry's 30% threshold (i.e., an agreement to limit alcohol advertising to programs in which underage viewers make up a maximum of 30%), as well as adolescent exposure to alcohol product advertising on television.

Contact: Center on Alcohol Marketing and Youth, Georgetown University, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-1019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://camy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Advertising, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Television

Annotation: This paper estimates the impact of binge drinking on sexual activity among a nationally representative sample of high school students during the 1990s and 2000s. It includes a discussion of the data used in the research from the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBS) -- administrated every odd year since 1991 -- and the results of the data analysis. Tables present control variable definitions and means, together with data that correlates binge drinking with sexuality activity, birth control use, and other variables.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Alcohol consumption behavior, Data, Data analysis, High school students, National surveys, Risk taking, Sexual behavior

Annotation: This Web site for adolescents, created by the organization Reach Out, is designed to help adolescents cope with mental health problems and to help prevent adolescent suicide. The site presents information about issues such as suicide and self-harm; drugs, alcohol, and tobacco; relationships; loss and grief; and sexuality. Stories told by adolescents in their own voices are also included, and opportunities for adolescents to share their own stories and become involved with Reach Out are provided. Resources for getting help and support are included, as well.

Contact: Reach Out, Inspire USA Foundation, 657 Mission Street, Suite 507, San Francisco, CA 94105, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://us.reachout.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy Grief, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol consumption, Friendships, HIgh risk adolescents, Mental health, Prevention, Relationships, Resource materials, Substance abuse, Suicide prevention, Tobacco use, Violence prevention

Annotation: This brochure provide information on what parents can do to help their children avoid abusing alcohol. Topics include adolescent alcohol use, how parenting style affects adolescents' alcohol-use decisions, modeling, genetics, and whether adolescents listen.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Alcohol consumption, Communication, Consumer education materials, Genetics, High risk adolescents, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women', s health