Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure explains the developmental damage that can occur to adolescents from alcohol and emphasizes parent-child communication as one of the best ways of preventing this problem.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org $15.00 for 100 copies, members; $20.00, nonmembers. Minimum order: 100 copies.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Communication

Annotation: This project was part of an ongoing effort to identify and address issues related to developmental disabilities among Native American children in Wisconsin to assure that proper diagnostic and followup services are provided to this population. Tribes, State and local agencies, and volunteer organizations were involved in a collaborative effort to design and establish a long-term, community-based, high quality program in each tribal community in Wisconsin to serve the special health care needs of Native American children. The two main goals of the project were to: (1) Become an integral part of the tribal service systems, and (2) improve those systems in such a way that they address both the needs of developmentally disabled children and the issues related to the prevention of disabilities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161941.

Keywords: American Indians, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth ages 10-14 years. Based on evidence from 60 U.S. studies, it demonstrates effectiveness in reducing initiation and use of cannabis, alcohol, tobacco, illicit substances, and prescription drug misuse. The review examines intervention components including parent-child communication, rule setting, and monitoring, delivered through individual or group sessions, web-based modules, and printed materials. It includes detailed economic analyses showing cost-benefit ratios ranging from 3.9 to 8.9 across multiple programs and provides implementation guidance for various community settings and populations.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Literature reviews, Parent child relations, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This report describes the landscape of infant mortality in Minnesota, addressing prematurity and birth defects, racial and ethnic disparities, racial justice, and statewide strategic planning to addresses health inequities and improve birth outcomes. A discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on infant mortality is included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Ethnic factors, Infant death, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Prenatal influences, Racial factors, Risk factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This study uses data from the National Survey of Drug Use and Health to examine rural-urban differences in the rates of substance use among youth and young adults. Findings can help inform rural-specific prevention strategies and research targeting rural communities.

Contact: University of Southern Maine, Rural Health Research Center, P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104-9300, Telephone: (207) 780-4430 Secondary Telephone: (207) 780-5646 Fax: (207) 780-4060 Web Site: https://usm.maine.edu/muskie/cutler/mrhrc

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol, Rural health, Rural populations, Substance abuse, Substance use

Annotation: The change package is a toolkit developed to help health plans improve reporting and performance on the Unhealthy Alcohol Use Screening and Follow-Up (ASF) performance measure by providing resources for supporting quality improvement (QI) efforts. The ASF measure was adapted from the American Medical Association’s (AMA) provider-level Unhealthy Alcohol Use Screening and Brief Counseling measure. QI components of the toolkit include: measure.1) Background on unhealthy alcohol use and supporting evidence for the clinical- and costeffectiveness of implementing alcohol screening and brief intervention; 2) Details about the ASF measure, including the specification and instructions for reporting Electronic Clinical Data Systems (ECDS) measures; 3) Information and resources on QI methods and tools, including best practices identified by health plans implementing alcohol screening and follow-up; and Change ideas and resources addressing key drivers for improving measure performance.

Contact: National Committee for Quality Assurance, 1100 13th Street, N.W, Third Floor , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 955-3500 Secondary Telephone: (888) 275-7585 Fax: (202) 955-3599 Web Site: http://www.ncqa.org

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Data collection, Quality assurance, Screening, Therapeutics

Annotation: Because youth in foster care have a higher propensity for drug use, this report was written to inform child welfare professionals, treatment providers, families, and community members on the signs of drug use and the risk factors that and impact of substance abuse. The report also provides links and information on various prevention and treatment initiatives, including those determined to be culturally sensitive.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug use behavior, Foster care, Foster children, Substance abuse prevention, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and other adults contains graphs, statistics and general information about underage drinking, and helps them identify warning signs and the sorts of injuries that may result from alcohol abuse. This NIH resource also informs parents how their role can positively impact the use of alcohol in their children, and how they can find interventions that work.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

Annotation: This systematic review informed the United States Preventive Services Task Force of the benefits and harms of screening and nonpharmacologic interventions to reduce unhealthy alcohol use among adolescents and adults, including pregnant women. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials through October 12, 2017. The review also looked at references of relevant publications and government web sites through August 1, 2018. The review concluded that screening instruments are available that can effectively identify persons with unhealthy alcohol use and that are feasible for use in primary care settings.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Alcohol, Alcohol use, Interventions, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This report contains a comprehensive plan for states and local governments to address the problem of underage drinking. It outlines the goals of the ICCPUD (Interagency Coordinating Committee for the Prevention of Underage Drinking) and how it intends to facilitate cooperation among member institutions and provide information and resources on the prevention of underage drinking. This paper reports on the progress made toward achieving targets identified in 2006 for achievement in 2009 by ICCPUD, and lays out goals for 2021 and specific objectives on how to attain them.

Contact: Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov/iccpud#:~:text=Underage%20Drinking%20Report-,The%20Interagency%20Coordinating%20Committee%20on%20the%20Prevention%20of%20Underage%20Drinking,prevent%20and%20reduce%20underage%20drinking.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Binge drinking, Drug affected children, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Underage drinking

Annotation: This guide aims to help groups and communities move from concerns about abuse of alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drugs to practical ways to get the word out about prevention. It provides a brief discussion and starting points for these focus topics: the strategic prevention framework, prevention theory, risk and protection, community needs, strategies that work, issues and audiences, community partners, connecting with your audience, social marketing, media and social media, and evaluation. A suggested event timeline and sample materials are provided to help develop a successful news conference, and a list of substance abuse prevention resources is included. A Spanish language version is also available from the publisher.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Single copies available at no charge. Document Number: DHHS Pub. no. (SMA) 10-4120.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Communities, Drug abuse, Evaluation, Media campaigns, Prevention, Protective factors, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report presents an empirically-based framing strategy for communicating about fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD). Contents include a set of principles reflecting expert understanding of what fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) is, how alcohol affects fetal development, why women consume alcohol while pregnant, what the effects of FASD are, and how FASD can be prevented and addressed. The report also describes shared but implicit understandings, assumptions, and patterns of reasoning that shape how the public thinks about FASD, points at which expert and public understandings overlap and diverge, and key challenges in communicating about FASD. Recommendations are included.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Beliefs, Communication, Culturally competent services, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Prevention services, Research, Trauma care

Annotation: This resource for pregnant women provides information about drinking alcohol during pregnancy and the risk of fetal alcohol syndrome disorders (FASDs). Topics include some of the behavioral and intellectual disabilities of people with FASDs, what women can do to help themselves stop drinking alcohol, and related organizational resources.

Contact: American College of Nurse-Midwives, 1209 12th Street, SW, Suite 600 , Washington, DC 20024-2188, Telephone: (240) 485-1800 Secondary Telephone: (240) 485-1813 Fax: (240) 485-1818 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.midwife.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Pregnant women, Prevention, Substance use

Annotation: This document for higher education officials, particularly alcohol and other drug program and student life staff, provides information and guidance on choosing interventions to address harmful and underage drinking in campus communities. Contents include a matrix and summary tables of individual- and environmental-level strategies. A strategy planning worksheet, frequently asked questions, and supporting resources are also included.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 15-AA-8017.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Colleges, Intervention, Prevention programs, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Students, Young adults

Annotation: This report includes state-by-state youth drug overdose death rates and rankings, and a report card for how well states scored on 10 key indicators of leading evidence-based policies and programs that can improve the wellbeing of children and youth and have been connected with preventing and reducing misuse of alcohol, tobacco or other drugs.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Drug use attitudes, Drug use behavior, Health education, Health policy, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors, Smoking, Tobacco use, Young adults

Annotation: This brochure describes a program to prevent and/or reduce the risk of maternal alcohol and drug abuse by providing home visitation and intervention over a 3-year period by trained and supervised case managers. Contents include a description of the program goals, approach, client outcomes, and eligibility criteria. Topics include helping mothers build and maintain healthy independent family lives, assuring that children are in safe and stable homes, and preventing future births of alcohol and drug-exposed children.

Contact: University of Washington Health Sciences Administration, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute, Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit, 180 Nickerson Street, Suite 309, Seattle, WA 98109, Telephone: (206) 543-7155 Fax: (206) 685-2903 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/fadu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Case management, Child safety, Drug abuse, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, High risk children, High risk mothers, Home visiting, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, Referrals, Risk factors, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Washington, Women

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drugs, Resources for professionals, Substance abusing pregnant women, Tobacco use

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol consumption behavior, Children, Resources for professionals, Substance use behavior, Tobacco