Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This survey focuses on the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in Wisconsin during the 2022–2023 school year. The survey provides an introduction explaining why good oral health is important; describes the survey methodology; and presents results in the following areas: participation, tooth decay experience; oral health care needs, statewide trends among children in third grade, and oral health by region. A convenience sample focused on American Indian and Alaska Native students is also discussed, and key findings are presented.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Oral health, School age children, State information, Tooth decay, Trends, Wisconsin

Annotation: In this episode of the AIM for Safer Birth podcast series, host Christie Allen continues her conversation with Dr. Tina Pattara-Lau, Maternal and Child Health Consultant at the Indian Health Service (IHS) as they explore the ongoing transformation of maternal health care within rural communities. Dr. Pattara-Lau delves deeper into the impact of culturally responsive care, the integration of traditional practices, and the expansion of telehealth services. They further discuss the strides being made in overcoming access barriers, fostering community trust, and implementing innovative care models tailored to the unique needs of American Indian/Alaska Native populations. The AIM for Safer Birth series dives deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Community participation, Cultural sensitivity, Health care access, Initiatives, Model programs, Rural health

Annotation: Podcast host Christie Allen delves into the unique challenges and innovative solutions in rural and Indigenous maternal health care with Dr. Tina Pattara-Lau, Maternal and Child Health Consultant at the Indian Health Service (IHS). Dr. Pattara-Lau shares her experiences and insights on improving patient access to quality care through culturally safe practices, partnerships, and innovative models such as telehealth and community-based care. They discuss the systemic barriers, the importance of culturally safe practices, and the role of community partnerships in enhancing care for American Indian/Alaska Native populations, emphasizing the need for continuous quality improvement and sensitivity to cultural and traditional practices. This episode is part of the AIM series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Community participation, Cultural sensitivity, Health care access, Initiatives, Model programs, Rural health

Annotation: This paper provides information on oral health disparities that American Indians and Alaska Natives experience. It discusses the causes of these disparities and presents possible solutions. Topics include historical and current sources of health inequities, information from the State of Oral Health Equity in America Survey, creating and expanding a representative oral health workforce, collaborating to conduct inclusive research, and making funding available that promotes oral health equity. A call to action is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Collaboration, Diversity, Healthy equity, Oral health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This issue brief provides analysis of racial and ethnic disparities across selected measures of maternal and infant health, discusses the factors that drive these disparities, and provides an overview of recent efforts to address them. Statistics from federal data sets are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Access to health care, Alaska natives, Blacks, Data, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Native Americans, Racial factors, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This website for Alaskan Native pregnant women and Tribal Partner organizations has information on the harm that can be done to a fetus when the mother smokes, hotlines for help to stop smoking for mothers, and printable rack cards for healthcare providers. It also has links to reports on research that was conducted with the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC), Southcentral Foundation (SCF), and Mayo Clinic researchers and Alaska Native women who received care at the Anchorage Primary Care Center on levels of tobacco exposure between a mother and her baby. (The study was funded by the National Cancer Institute: U54 CA153605.)

Contact: Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, 4000 Ambassador Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508, Telephone: (907) 563-2662 E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, Information resources, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This research brief provides information on Indigenous Peoples in the United States and U.S. territories, including geographic distribution, overall demographics, and trends in education, health, and well-being. It discusses the impact that colonization and Federal Indian Law has had on Indigenous children, youth, and families and recommends strategies that can be implemented at the local, state, and federal levels to improve health outcomes. The brief is intended for those who engage with and/or conduct or fund research, evaluation, or technical assistance focusing on Indigenous populations..

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, History, Initiatives, Legislation, Litigation, Pacific islanders, Policy, Statutes, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information from the North Dakota Oral Health Program school-based dental sealant program indicating that American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) students had more untreated tooth decay and rampant tooth decay than their non-AIAN counterparts. The fact sheet also includes information on North Dakota’s school-based sealant program (SEALIND) and offers strategies to improve the oral health of AIAN students in the state.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Dental caries, Health status disparities, North Dakota, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, School health, State programs

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This fact sheet provide tips for indigenous adolescents about how to maintain or improve their oral health. Tips include avoiding tobacco, wearing a mouthguard when playing sports, brushing and flossing daily, visiting the dentist at least once a year, having wisdom teeth checked by an oral health professional, consuming healthy foods and drinks, drinking fluoridated water, and not getting tongue or lip piercings.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Mouth guards, Fluoride, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Smoking cessation, State information

Annotation: This report discusses how the Departments of Health of three states (Alaska, New Mexico, and Montana) are strengthening access to risk-appropriate care for American Indian / Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities. Initiatives and recommendations include increased data collection, promoting people-centered and culturally approtriate care, and collaborating with community organizations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, High risk pregnancy, Native Americans, Perinatal care, Racism, Reproductive health, Risk appropriate care, Social bias

Annotation: This data brief provides information from the Oregon Smiles Survey. Topic include trends in the percentage of children in the state with treated, untreated, or rampant tooth decay between 2012 and 2017; the percentage of children needing oral health care; cavity rates among children, by region; and percentages of American Indian and Alaska native and black children with tooth decay.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: African Americans, Alaska natives, American Indians, Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Oregon, School age children, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report highlights disparities in health care access faced by elders in the American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian communities. The report supplies results from a survey of Older Americans Act Title VI directors and staff; in addition, it provides evidence-based health promotion and disease prevention programs in the AI/AN/NH communities. This report is intended to educate and raise awareness among stake-holders interested in public health and aging in the public and private sectors.

Contact: National Indian Council on Aging, 8500 Menual Blvd. NE, Suite B-470, Albuquerque, NM 87112, Telephone: (505) 292-2001 Web Site: https://www.nicoa.org/

• Final Report

Keywords: Accessibility, Aging, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Elder care, Hawaiians, Health care disparities

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) parents, provides information about how to prevent sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), especially among AI/AN infants, among whom the incidence of death from SIDS is particularly high. The brochure offers tips on sleep position, sleep surfaces, and other factors that can affect the risk for SIDS, and explains the reasoning behind each recommendation.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2009 Edition

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Alaska Natives, American Indians, High risk infants, Infant health, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of 13–15-year-old American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) dental clinic patients, comparing results from the 2019–2020 survey with results from the 2013 survey. It presents a summary of what’s new in the report since the 2013 survey and key findings in three areas: (1) oral health of AI/AN adolescents over the past two decades, (2) oral health disparities in AI/AN adolescents compared with U.S. adolescents overall, and (3) percentage of AI/AN adolescents who had a dental visit in the past year compared with U.S. adolescents overall.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Alaska Natives, Medicaid, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Surveys, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report presents key perspectives, lessons learned, and policy recommendations for state- and federal-level initiatives that center around the work of doulas and midwives in addressing the nation’s maternal health crisis.The report discusses racial disparities in maternal and infant morbidity and mortality and describes how birth workers can help reduce health risks, particularly among black and indigenous individuals giving birth. Information and perspectives shared by doulas and midwives interviewed for the report fall into three major categories: 1) the role and importance of community-based birth workers and the re-centering of the community in pregnancy-related care; 2) guidelines for health care system integration and the role of government; and 3) the creation of a progressive vision for pregnancy-related care in the United States.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives , American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Childbirth, Community health services, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Midwives, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Racial factors, Racism, Risk factors, Social support

Annotation: This fact sheet from the CDC is geared to parents and caregivers in tribal communities. It alerts them to the problem of non-use or improper use of car seats, booster seats, and seatbelts. It provides illustrations on the proper placement of booster seats and statistics on the numbers of native children who are injured. It includes references and the 800 number and web link for further information from the CDC.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, Booster seats, Car seats, Child safety, Native Americans, Seat belts, Young children

Annotation: This guide discusses oral health issues in tribal communities and offers potential solutions to these communities’ oral health challenges. Topics include how Alaska has used dental therapists (instead of dentists) to provide needed oral health services, how tribes can evaluate the potential of using dental therapists to meet their oral health needs, complying with state statutes and regulations, implementing tribal licensing, developing the workforce, building financial stability, and integrating dental therapists into a tribe’s oral health team. Stories from individuals and a tribe are included.

Contact: National Indian Health Board, 926 Pennsylvania Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20003, Telephone: (202) 507-4070 Fax: (202) 507-4071 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nihb.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, Alaska natives, American Indians, Federal legislation, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This data brief focuses on the oral health of American Indian and Alaska Native children ages 1–5. The brief presents information on the prevalence of early childhood caries, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in the primary teeth of this population in 2018–2019 and assesses trends since the 2010 survey was conducted. The results of the 2018–2019 survey are presented as five key findings. For each finding, statistical data are included. Implications of the results are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Alaska natives, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Early Childhood caries, Native Americans, Oral health, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This document is intended to help parents keep their infant’s mouth healthy. It lists five steps that parents can take: Protect the infant’s teeth with fluoride, check and clean the infant’s teeth, feed the infant healthy food, don’t put the infant to bed with a bottle, and take the infant to the dentist before age 1. The text is accompanied with colorful illustrations. A conversation between two mothers in which one learns from the other about how to keep a baby’s teeth healthy is included. The document is available in English and in Spanish. A version in English and in Spanish geared toward Native American parents is also available.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Oral Health Information Clearinghouse, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD 20892-2190, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Consumer education materials, Oral health: Infant health, Prevention, Spanish language materials