Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

Adamsen C, Bendixen B, Woodrich-Fernando M, Goins T, Joe JR. [2021]. Evidence-based health promotion programs among American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian communities: A call to action to improve cultural relevance and accessibility. Arlington, VA: National Council on Aging; Albuquerque, NM: National Indian Council on Aging, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights disparities in health care access faced by elders in the American Indian, Alaska Native, and Native Hawaiian communities. The report supplies results from a survey of Older Americans Act Title VI directors and staff; in addition, it provides evidence-based health promotion and disease prevention programs in the AI/AN/NH communities. This report is intended to educate and raise awareness among stake-holders interested in public health and aging in the public and private sectors.

Contact: National Indian Council on Aging, 8500 Menual Blvd. NE, Suite B-470, Albuquerque, NM 87112, Telephone: (505) 292-2001 Web Site: https://www.nicoa.org/

Keywords: Accessibility, Aging, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Elder care, Hawaiians, Health care disparities

Administration for Community Living and Office of Women's Health. 2016. The community guide to adult oral health program implementation. Washington, DC: Administration for Community Living, 60 pp.

Annotation: This document provides step-by-step guidance for groups working at state and local levels to launch or enhance an oral health program for older adults and people with disabilities. Contents include tips, case studies, interactive tools, and other sources of support for creating cost-effective, sustainable programs. Topics include replicating and expanding an existing program, designing and implementing a new program, recognizing the connection between oral health and overall health, and interprofessional collaboration to serve adults’ oral health needs. A corresponding database of community-based oral health programs is also available.

Contact: Administration for Community Living, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 330 C Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 401-4634 Secondary Telephone: (800) 677-1116 E-mail: https://www.acl.gov/contact Web Site: https://www.acl.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Aging, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community based services, Financing, Independent living, Interdisciplinary approach, Life course, Needs assessment, Older adults, Online databases, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Sustainability

AARP, Ageline Database. 2005. Thesaurus of aging terminology. (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: AARP, 147 pp.

Annotation: This thesaurus provides a controlled vocabulary for terms used to index documents in the Ageline Database. It includes an introduction, a guide to using the thesaurus, the terms themselves showing the hierarchical relationships, a rotated listing of the terms, and a list of geographical terms.

Contact: AARP, 601 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20049, Telephone: (888) 687-2277 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aarp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Aging, Middle aged adults, Older adults, Thesauri

Brody JE, Grady D. 2000. The New York Times book of women's health: The latest on feeling fit, eating right, and staying well. New York, NY: Lebhar-Friedman Books, 370 pp.

Annotation: This book is a compilation of articles from the New York Times that analyze the major health issues facing women. The book is divided into 13 sections that cover the following subjects: (1) nutrition; (2) exercise; (3) women and weight; (4) emotional health; (5) violence; (6) sexuality; (7) pregnancy, childbirth, and matters of the womb; (8) the teenage years: raising healthy daughters; (9) menopause and aging; (10) breast cancer; (11) heart disease; (12) image and self-image; and (13) herbs, supplements, and alternative medicine. Each article shows the name of the reporter wrote the article and the date it was published.

Contact: Lebhar-Friedman Books, 425 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Web Site: http://www.lfbooks.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-86730-806-0.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Breast cancer, Childbirth, Menopause, Nutrition, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Violence prevention, Women', s health

Marti J, with Hine A. 1998. The alternative health and medicine encyclopedia. (2nd ed.). Detroit, MI: Visible Ink Press, 462 pp.

Annotation: This book presents information on a wide range of alternative or complementary methods for providing health care. It provides an introductory chapter on alternative medicine which covers approaches such as acupuncture and acupressure, biofeedback, homeopathy, massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, and visualization therapy, among others. It includes chapters on the following topics: natural nutrition; vitamins; minerals and trace elements; botanical medicines; coping with stress; stress-related disorders; drug abuse and addiction; mental health disorders; common male and female health problems; pregnancy, childbirth, and infant care; dental care; eye, ear, nose, and throat problems; cancer; heart disorders; and aging. Each chapter presents alternative treatments for specific conditions, includes sidebars which summarize certain strategies, and provides bibliographical references. A glossary, a general bibliography, and an index are included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8303-9.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Childbirth, Dental care, Drug abuse, Encyclopedias, Exercise, Health services, Heart diseases, Holistic health, Infant care, Men, Mental disorders, Minerals, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Stress, Stress management, Vitamins, Women

Falik MM, Collins KS, eds. 1996. Women's health: The Commonwealth Fund survey. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 361 pp.

Annotation: This book, based on in-depth analysis of experiences reported in a 1993 Commonwealth Fund survey, provides baseline information on the psychobehavioral factors that have an impact on women's health. Topics addressed include socioeconomic factors that influence health (insurance, employment, poverty) care-seeking behaviors, psychological factors, and aging. Each chapter analyzes the appropriate survey data, presents findings and integrates the relevant literature, draws implications for policy and health care delivery, and identifies issues for further research.

Keywords: Aging, Behavior, Data analysis, Employment, Health insurance, Health surveys, Poverty, Psychosocial factors, Research, Women', Women', s health, s health services

Costello C, Stone AJ, eds. 1994. The American woman 1994-95: Where we stand. New York, NY: W. W. Norton , biennial.

Annotation: This annual publication presents a mixture of essays and statistics on a wide range of issues that affect women's lives, including demographics, health, education, employment, earnings and benefits, economic security, and elected officials. Published every other year, this status report analyzes the most up-to-date data available. The 1994-95 edition spotlights women's health and access to health care. It includes special chapters prepared by policy and women's health experts on the politics of women's health, assessing and improving women's health, the health status of women of color, securing American women's reproductive health, and women and long-term care

Contact: Women's Research and Education Institute, 3300 North Fairfax Drive, Suite 218 , Arlington , VA 20001, Telephone: (703) 812-7990 Contact Phone: (202) 328-7070 Fax: (703) 812-0687 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wrei.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to health care, Aging, Cultural barriers, Culturally competent services, Data, Women

Social Security Board. 1937. Social security in America: The factual background of the Social Security Act as summarized from staff reports to the Committee on Economic Security. Washington, DC: Social Security Board; for sale by the U.S. Government Printing Office, 592 pp. (Social Security Board publication no. 20)

Annotation: This report is a summary of the most important information gleaned from studies on economic security conducted by the Committee on Economic Security, created by presidential order in 1934. The report is divided into the following parts: (1) unemployment compensation, (2) old-age security, (3) security for children, (4) provisions for the blind, (5) the extension of public health services, and (6) the need for federal support of social security programs. The book includes extensive appendices, tables, and figures.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov

Keywords: Aging, Blindness, Children, Federal programs, Financing, Low income groups, Public health, Social security, Unemployment
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.