Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This directory is a resource for consumers and for health professionals and social services providers in Maine to help them assist clients who do not have a regular dentist with getting oral health care. The directory describes clinics and agencies in Maine that either provide oral health care or can help these individuals access care. Information is provided on services the clinic or agency provides, eligibility guidelines, and where to get more information. State-funded assistance programs, tribal health programs, rural community health centers, and other potential sources of care are included. Clinics and agencies are organized by county.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinics, Eligibility, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Public agencies, State information

Annotation: This brief describes closed-loop referrals in California (defined as referring Medi-Cal managed care plan participants to available community resources, coordinating the referral, and following up to help ensure that care, including oral health care, was provided). The brief offers recommendations for successful closed-loop referrals for children and families who are Medi-Cal participants. It also discusses considerations for closed-loop referrals for infants and young children, school-age children, and adolescents, including those in foster care. Opportunities for building an infrastructure and partnerships foundational to closed-loop referrals are presented.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Followup, Foster care, Health insurance programs', Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Referrals, School-age children, State program, Young children

Annotation: This report presents information about the Iowa Department of Health's School-Based Dental Sealant Program for school year 2021–2022. Information is presented, by agency, on the number and percentage of children in the state with a history of tooth decay and with untreated decay relative to the child's payment source for oral health care (private insurance, self-pay, Medicaid, or Hawk-i [a state program that provides health coverage for uninsured children in working families in Iowa]). The report also presents information about children who participated in the National School Lunch Program who received an oral health screening and who received dental sealants. Also presented is information about children who received an oral health screening, received sealants, had a history of decay, had untreated decay, had a dental visit within the last 12 months, and who received fluoride, by payment source, age, sex, and race.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Iowa, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, School age children, School lunch programs, Screening tests, Fluoride, Dental sealants, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This report is intended to help advocates capitalize on information presented in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report discusses why the bulletin is important and presents opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children', State agencies, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document presents ideas that emerged from the School-Based Health Alliance initiative, Strengthening School Oral Health Services and Growing the School Oral Health Learning Community, and that resulted in an increase in the number of positive parental consents for school oral health services. The initiative encompassed the 10 largest U.S. school districts, which serve more than 4 million students, including a significant number of students with high needs. The document discusses school engagement, family engagement, community engagement, oral health education, and data collection and use.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Data collection, Health education, Informed consent, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, School age children, School health services

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of school leaders about how service delivery and student health would be impacted by a decline in Medicaid reimbursement. The report outlines the survey questions and findings, highlights how students with disabilities and students with low incomes will be impacted by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant, describes how communities will be economically affected by a per-capita cap or Medicaid block grant for school districts, details the potential of districts to lose critical mental health supports for students that are reimbursable by Medicaid, and notes how district efforts to expand Medicaid coverage to students and their families will be undermined by a block grant or per-capita cap.

Contact: AASA, The School Superintendents' Association, 1615 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 578-0700 Fax: (703)-841-1543 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aasa.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• 2018 Addemdum

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Block grants, Child health, Children, Financing, Low income groups, Medicaid, National surveys, Policy development, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Service delivery, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This newsletter describes the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program and opportunities for school districts to significantly expand the range of health care services, including oral health services, available to students from families with low incomes. Topics include the importance of having sufficient numbers and types of health professionals participating in Medicaid programs in their area, how providing Medicaid services in schools can help to address children's and adolescents' unmet health care needs, and federal guidance on Medicaid reimbursement for services that are provided at no charge (previously known as the Free Care Rule).

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, EPSDT, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Reimbursement, School age children, School districts, Work force

Annotation: This report highlights five demographic trends that illustrate challenges and opportunities for children. Topics include a declining federal investment in children, a growing difference between the share of the population younger than 18 that is a racial or ethnic minority compared to those who are 65 and older, a growing child population in geographic regions with the poorest outcomes in child well-being, growth in minority voters who are highly supportive of children's programs, and changing gender roles and growing support among younger men for children's issues.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Barriers, Child health, Children, Equal opportunities, Federal aid, Geographic factors, Health disparities, Minority groups, Population growth, Racial factors, Role, Trends

Annotation: This report presents recommendations for the use of school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). The report explains what sealants are, how they are applied, and what SBSPs do. Also addressed are the basis for the recommendations, applicability and generalizability issues, data-quality issues, other benefits and harms, economic evidence, and evidence gaps. Summary evidence tables on the effectiveness of sealants and the effectiveness of SBSPs are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Evidence, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Research, School age children, School health programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources on assessing the feasibility of initiating school- linked oral health services and designing and building a sustainable school oral health pro- gram. Contents include resources for generating ideas, assessing community needs, creating a budget, developing a business plan, providing a rationale for activities, framing an idea, build- ing a program, and maintaining and sustaining a successful school oral health program. The toolkit also includes a data application (a targeted and focused electronic health record) that can be used to monitor children’s oral health status over time.

Contact: Oral Health Colorado, P.O. Box 1335, Nederland, CO 80466, Telephone: (303) 258-3339 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oralhealthcolorado.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Low income groups, Minority groups, Oral health, Preventive health services, Relationships, Rural population, School age children, School linked programs, State programs, Sustainability

Annotation: This map provides data from SEAL RI!, a partnership between the Rhode Island Department of Health and community organizations to provide free oral health services, such as dental sealants, to children in school. Contents are presented by school district. Selected topics include the percentage of schools served by SEAL RI!, the percentage of schools with 50 percent or more students eligible for the National School Lunch Program and served by SEAL RI!, the percentage of students in first through third grades screened by SEAL RI!, and the percentage of students in first through third grades who received at least one first molar sealant.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Low income groups, Oral health, Rhode Island, School age children, School districts, School health programs, Screening, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief presents key findings on patterns of oral-health-care use among children and adolescents ages 2–18, adults ages 19–64, and adults ages 65 and older for the period 2000–2013. Contents include data and methods, results, and discussion. Topics include the percentage of the population with a dental visit by year, age, income, and dental insurance status.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Age factors, Children, Dental care, Dental insurance, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Older adults, Oral health, Statistical data, Trends, Utilization review

Annotation: This report provides information on the status of the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Service's (DHHS's) efforts to improve the quality of care provided to children eligible for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Topics include DHHS's efforts to improve the quality of care as well as the direction and stability of the health care coverage provided to children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP, the status of voluntary reporting by states utilizing the initial core quality measurement set, a summary of findings from public comment and stakeholder reviews, and the secretary's recommendations for improving the quality of care for children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children', Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Low income groups, Medicaid, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief addresses the likelihood of individuals purchasing dental benefits (plans) in the health insurance marketplaces for specific age groups. It describes the number of individuals in each age group that selected a medical plan and a dental plan in the 36 states operating through the Federally Facilitated Marketplace, as well as the number of individuals under age 18 in California that selected a dental plan. The brief summarizes findings on the number of individuals that selected dental benefits within the health insurance marketplaces by age group and the total number of medical plans and dental plans selected in the health insurance marketplaces by age group.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Age groups, Consumers, Dental insurance, Enrollment, Health insurance programs, Individualized health plans, Market research, Oral health

Annotation: This report presents findings on the oral health status of children in third grade in Delaware, as well as on oral health disparities. Topics include decay experience, untreated tooth decay, needing oral health care, dental sealants, and dental visits. Findings are stratified by the child's eligibility for the National School Lunch Program and compared to Healthy People 2020 objectives. The report also contains information about resources and strategies to improve the oral health of children in Delaware. The appendices contain information about survey methods, data tables, the consent form, the screening form, and the parent questionnaire. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Delaware, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Healthy People 2020, Low income groups, Oral health, School age children, Screening, State surveys