Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on oral health among children and adolescents ages 1–17 in Texas in 2020–2021. The information is based on results of the 2021–2022 National Survey of Children's Health. Topics include the likelihood of children from high-income vs. lower-income households having excellent or very good teeth; the likelihood of Hispanic children vs. non-Hispanic children having excellent or very good teeth, differences in having had one or more preventive oral health visit, by age; and the overall condition of children's and adolescents' teeth, as reported by parents.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-107.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral hygiene home care practices in the United States. It presents the results of a survey of adults conducted to learn about oral hygiene habits, lifestyle choices, and socioeconomic factors that may affect oral health. The brief discusses brushing and flossing frequency; influences of food- and beverage-related behaviors and tobacco use on oral hygiene practices at home; and the influence of dental insurance type on brushing and flossing behaviors. Statistical information is presented according to age group, gender, and race and ethnicity.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Age factors, Dental insurance, Ethnic factors, Gender, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides data for Rhode Island public middle and high school students (grades 6–12) on self-reported oral health concerns and receipt of dental care. Data is from the 2021 Rhode Island Youth Risk Behavior Survey. Survey questions are presented. Topics include students who teeth or mouth has been sore once or more during the past 12 months, students who were self-conscious or embarrassed because of their teeth or mouth during the past 12 months, and students who visited a dentist during the past 12 months. Results are stratified by sex, age group, race/ethnicity, and current tobacco use.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Data, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State information, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information on the oral health of children in Rhode Island. Data and analysis are based on results fromf a 2021–2022 statewide oral health basic screening survey and from 2019–2020 and 2022–2022 statewide oral health surveys of children in kindergarten and third grade enrolled in Rhode Island’s public elementary schools, both conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health’s Oral Health Program. The report describes survey methods and presents results. Other topics include oral health outcomes (tooth decay, untreated decay, dental sealants among children in third grade, rampant decay, and early or urgent oral health care), the impact of race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status on oral health, and a comparison of results to results from a 2013–2014 survey on children in third grade.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This evidence report emphasizes the importance of having a usual source of primary care and lays out strategies for public and private payers to support such patient/provider relationships. In its review of the literature, the report summarizes the types of usual source of care and trends over time across ages, races/ethnicities, income level, region, and insurance type. Potential solutions to increase the percent of children and adults who have a usual source of primary care include payment reform, changes in benefit design, and workforce diversity.

Contact: Primary Care Collaborative, 601 Thirteenth Street, NW, Suite 430 North, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 417-2074 Fax: (202) 417-2082 E-mail: Web Site: https://thepcc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Geographic regions, Health insurance, Literature reviews, Primary care, Racial factors, Statistics, Trends.

Annotation: This report presents ways that the COVID-19 pandemic has affected primary care. It discusses how well countries’ efforts to overcome the pandemic have worked, how primary care has been impacted by the pandemic, and how the field has innovated to adapt. Ways in which marginalized and vulnerable populations been disproportionally impacted by the pandemic are also addressed, along with how social determinants of ideologies including racism, ableism, and ageism have intersected and coalesced in the health inequities observed among communities and primary care patients. Lessons learned and how those lessons can be leveraged to catalyze systemic and structural change are also discussed.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Disease transmission, Global health, Infectious diseases, Primary care, Racial factors, Virus diseases

Annotation: This brief provides information on the number and percentage of people with dental and medical visits using 2003–2018 data from the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey-Household Component (MEPS-HC). It includes findings in the following areas: medical and dental visits, medical and dental visits by race and ethnicity, and medical and dental visits by age. Data sources and definitions of terms are included. The brief also provides information about MEPS-HC.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Racial factors, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This report highlights the significantly higher rates of child welfare involvement among inadequately-housed families and children, often resulting in foster care placement. It describes how homelessness and housing instability impact children; outlines national efforts to address the housing crisis; and describes ways in which child protection agencies can work with system partners to keep families together whenever possible.

Contact: Casey Family Programs, 2001 Eighth Avenue, Suite 2700, Seattle, WA 98121, Telephone: (206) 282-7300 Fax: (202) 282-3555 E-mail: http://www.casey.org/ContactUs/EmailUs/[email protected]&officename=Casey%20Family%20%20Programs Web Site: http://www.casey.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Child protection agencies, Child welfare, Families, Foster care, Homelessness, Housing, Initiatives, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This report presents data on and an analysis of access to dental care, tooth loss, and associated risk factors for adults ages 18 and older in Rhode Island. Data is from the 2018 Rhode Island Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, an annual state-level survey of health, health behaviors, and access to health care. The report provides background information and discusses survey methods. Topics include the percentage of adults in the state with dental insurance, percentage who visited a dental clinic in the past 12 months, and percentage with tooth loss. For each topic, results are stratified according to race/ethnicity, educational attainment, age, insurance status, special health care needs status, smoking status, and diabetes status.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Age factors, Special health care needs, Data, Diabetes, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Older adults, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, Risk factors, Smoking, State information, Surveys, Young adults

Annotation: This curriculum, designed for use with students in kindergarten through grade 2, grades 3-5, and grades 6–10, is intended to help students learn how to take care of their mouths and practice healthy habits that promote oral health. The curriculum, which consists of animated videos, discusses consuming healthy foods and drinks, the importance of healthy teeth, preventing tooth decay, toothbrushing, flossing, tobacco use, and lowering risk for oral disease. The curriculum is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: North Carolina Dental Society, c/o Faye Marley, Executive Director, 1600 Evans Rd., Cary, NC 27513, Telephone: (919) 677-1396 Fax: (919) 677-1397 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncdental.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Curricula, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Risk factors, School age children, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This oral health risk assessment is intended for use by community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net. The risk assessment helps assess the risk of children ages 6–11 for oral disease by posing questions about risk factors, protective factors, and clinical findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, Risk assessment, Risk factors, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This document is designed to support public health organizations in assessing their capacity, translating theory into action, and transforming their practices to address social determinants of health and advance health equity. It also offers a method for measuring progress as public health organizations transform practice to achieve health equity. It is intentionally designed to support a dynamic process of learning and continuous improvement.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Learning, Public health, Social factors, State agencies

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Annotation: This advisory warns of the e-cigarette epidemic among youth. The document explains the different types of e-cigarettes and offers information for parents, teachers, health professionals, and states, communities, tribes, and territories. There are links to relevant studies and publications.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Disease prevention, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behaviors, Tobacco, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources on indoor environmental quality and children's health and ways to improve the school environment. Contents include a sample op-ed, information on buying healthy products, an indoor air quality and pest management checklist, a green cleaning checklist, a guide for parents on lead in school drinking water, and a guide on disinfecting wipes. Additional contents include research, federal resources, a position statement, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, School health, Schools

Annotation: This report highlights five demographic trends that illustrate challenges and opportunities for children. Topics include a declining federal investment in children, a growing difference between the share of the population younger than 18 that is a racial or ethnic minority compared to those who are 65 and older, a growing child population in geographic regions with the poorest outcomes in child well-being, growth in minority voters who are highly supportive of children's programs, and changing gender roles and growing support among younger men for children's issues.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Barriers, Child health, Children, Equal opportunities, Federal aid, Geographic factors, Health disparities, Minority groups, Population growth, Racial factors, Role, Trends