Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to ensure the successful transition to adulthood of adolescents with physical disabilities or chronic illnesses by means of interventions with families, the health care team, and the adolescents themselves. The project sought to encourage the involvement of families in planning for the health care of their children, to modify staff behaviors and institutional practices to promote family autonomy, and to broaden treatment goals so that they included health maintenance and future planning for adolescents with special needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196962.

Keywords: ., Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Family-Centered Health Care Transition, Support Groups

Annotation: This tool was designed to help stakeholders analyze policies and focus oral-health-agenda setting on the principles of equity and community engagement. The tool includes (1) questions, discussion prompts, and resources to inform policy-agenda setting; (2) questions focused on how populations and marginalized groups will be affected by a policy, how inequities might be addressed, and how advocacy efforts can follow the lead of impacted populations and groups; (3) links to additional policy analysis tools; and (4) a follow-up survey.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Advocacy, Ethnic factors, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Racial factors

Annotation: This report provides information about a research project to examine how to strengthen advocacy to more effectively promote equity and meet the oral health needs of communities that are underserved. The report presents project findings and offers recommendations for funders, advocates, and other key stakeholders to strengthen and expand oral health advocacy that is equity-informed and that includes community engagement as a core component.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health services, Health equity, Low income groups, Oral health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This toolkit for advocates provides information on the importance of maintaining or expanding state Medicaid adult dental benefits. Topics include being prepared for opportunities, key messages, and the status of adult coverage in the 50 states. Resources to review or share with policymakers are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, State materials

Annotation: This report is intended to help advocates capitalize on information presented in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report discusses why the bulletin is important and presents opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children', State agencies, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information about the importance of timely, quality, affordable, and adequate health care coverage during pregnancy and the role of Title V in improving coverage and access to care for pregnant women. Topics include covered preventive health services for pregnant women or women who may become pregnant under the Affordable Care Act; coverage options available for pregnant women through public, private, and safety net programs; issues and gaps in coverage; policy options and state strategies; and considerations for states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Role, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This paper discusses the importance of children drinking water. Topics include information about the importance of water consumption in preventing chronic disease; obstacles to ensuring that students have access to clean, safe drinking water in schools; drinking water challenges in communities; and opportunities for funders to increase children’s access to and consumption of free, safe drinking water. Improving access, prioritizing education, funding data collection and research, promoting multisectoral partnerships, and advocating for supportive policies are also discussed. In addition, the paper presents a policy framework to support healthy development in children by investing in accessible, safe drinking water.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Child safety, Community role, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Financing, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Low income groups, Minority groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public private partnerships, School role, Water

Annotation: This infographic presents information on the percentage of children enrolled in HUSKY A (Medicaid) in Connecticut who received preventive oral health care by race/ethnicity, factors that increased children’s likelihood of receiving preventive oral health care, the impact of each factor on the likelihood that children will receive preventive oral health care, and the impact of all three factors on the likelihood that children will receive such care. Topics include continuous coverage, receipt of well child care, and parents who received preventive oral health care. Steps to ensure that families have access to and use oral health care are also described.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This brief describes the barriers that people of color face disproportionately in gaining access to necessary health care, components of an adequate health care provider network, and policies to help achieve such networks in private insurance plans. Topics include health disparities; geographic distribution, numbers, and types of health care providers; transportation, language, and culturally-competent care; hours and timeliness of care; and consumer rights under the Affordable Care Act including access to community essential providers. The brief provides examples from states and information on advocating for provider network standards to protect diverse communities.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer protection, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Health insurance, Networking, Patient rights, Policy development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief provides information about the Oral Health Advocacy for Pregnant Women and Children project, a collaboration between Maternal and Child Health Access (MCHA) and the Community Clinics Association of Los Angeles County (CCALAC). Topics include the importance of and need for oral health care during pregnancy, changing dental coverage for women with pregnancy-only Medi-Cal, issues pregnant women face related to obtaining oral health care, issues health professionals face related to providing oral health care to pregnant women, the MCHA and CCALAC partnership, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Access, 1111 West Sixth Street, Fourth Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017-1800, Telephone: (212) 749-4261 Fax: (213) 745-1040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchaccess.org/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, California, Dental care, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health education, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about how advocacy organizations can mobilize around Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provisions to improve health outcomes for children most at risk for asthma. The report describes several ACA provisions and implementation activities that target stability and continuity of health insurance for children, including (1) heath insurance coverage of preventive health services, (2) development of an essential health benefit for all individuals securing insurance through state health insurance exchanges, (3) streamlining enrollment procedures under Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Program, and state exchanges, (4) expanding Medicaid to cover individuals with incomes up to 133 percent of the federal poverty line, and (5) enhanced Medicaid payments to primary care physicians.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Asthma, Child health, Children', Enrollment, Health insurance, Health services, High risk children, Legislation, Low income groups, Medicaid, Prevention, Reimbursement, State programs, Treatment, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This chart describes Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provisions and implementation activities that aim to reduce asthma triggers in home and community environments, including a grant program to help state improve early childhood home visitation services for families in at-risk communities; development of a uniform national prevention, health promotion, public health, and integrative health care strategy; an educational outreach campaign to raise public awareness about and encourage use of prevention services; and Medicaid covering of smoking-cessation services for pregnant women without cost-sharing. The chart describes potential areas for asthma stakeholder engagement; policy research and development; and advocacy at the national, state, and local levels.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Asthma, Child health, Cost sharing, Families, Grants, Health care, Health promotion, High risk groups, Home visiting, Initiatives, Legislation, Medicaid, Outreach, Pregnant women, Prevention, Programs, Public awareness campaigns, Public health, Public policy, Research, Smoking cessation, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This paper recognized the increasing prevalence of poverty for children in the United States, and reviews the short- and long-term effects on children's health and well-being. A road-map of strategies is presented involving public policy and advocacy, health care delivery, medical education, and research in a "war on childhood poverty."

Contact: Academic Pediatric Association, 6728 Old McLean Village, McLean, VA 22101, Telephone: (703) 556-9222 Fax: (703) 556-8729 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ambpeds.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Child welfare, Children, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medical education, Professional education, Public policy, Social policy, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This community action guide describes the experiences of a woman and her infant daughter to point out resources that service providers, advocates, and health professionals can use to better understand and respond to the needs of families and children with problems related to mental health, substance abuse, and trauma. The guide also presents information, resources, and tips to foster unified communities that are responsive to families' needs. Topics include the importance of the birth-to-age-5 developmental stage, threats to resilience, levels of stress in young children and families, protective factors, a strategic framework for action, and moving forward. Brief descriptions of successful programs are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SMA-12-4726.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Community programs, Domestic violence, Families, Family support services, High risk groups, Infants, Mental health, Parent support services, Resilience, Resource materials, Stress, Substance abuse, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of the federal law requiring states to ensure that homeless children have equal access to the same free, appropriate, public education, including a public preschool education, as provided to other children. The brief also discusses the law's limitations and barriers to pre-kindergarten (pre-k) attendance and describes policies that can help increase the number of homeless children included in pre-k programs. The brief is intended to serve as a resource for state policymakers and advocates seeking to maximize participation in pre-k programs.

Contact: Education Law Center, 60 Park Place, Suite 300, Newark, NJ 07102, Telephone: (973) 624-1815 Secondary Telephone: (973) 624-4618 Fax: (973) 624-7339 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edlawcenter.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Legislation, Advocacy, Children, Cultural barriers, Early childhood education, Financial barriers, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Language barriers, Low income groups, Poverty, Preschool children, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: This paper, addressed to advocates and policy-makers interested in ending child hunger, describes seven strategies for ending child hunger: (1) restore economic growth and create jobs with better wages for lower income workers; (2) raise the incomes of the lowest income families; (3) strengthen the supplemental nutrition assistance program /food stamp program; (4) strengthen the child nutrition programs; (5) engage the entire federal government in ending childhood hunger; (6) work with states, localities and nonprofits to expand and improve participation in federal nutrition programs; and (7) make sure all families have convenient access to reasonably priced, healthy food.

Contact: Food Research and Action Center, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 540, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2200 Fax: (202) 986-2525 Web Site: http://www.frac.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Federal programs, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Program coordination, Public policy, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report describes lessons learned at six federally funded demonstration sites selected as part of the Greenbook Initiative to implement policy recommendations outlined in the Greenbook -- short for Effective Intervention in Domestic Violence & Child Maltreatment Cases: Guidelines for Policy and Practice, published in 1999 by the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges. (The Greenbook policy recommendations were written with the goal of increasing safety for mothers and children experiencing the co-occurrence of domestic violence and child maltreatment by encouraging partnerships among system stakeholders to include not only child protective services and domestic violence advocacy programs, but also family or juvenile courts.) The report describes and discusses the multi-system, collaborative efforts of the Greenbook Initiative projects funded from 2000-2007 by the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services and Justice at the following sites: El Paso County, Colorado; Grafton County, New Hampshire; Lane County, Oregon; San Francisco County, California, Santa Clara County, California; and St. Louis County, Missouri. The purpose of the report is to provide a tool for collaborative leaders in systems change efforts that will (1) save leaders time, energy, and resources; (2) recognize and offer solutions to the complexities that arise when promoting cross-sytems change; and (3) inspire deeper reflection, bolder innovations, and more thoughtful leadership action.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Child protective services, Collaboration, Demonstration programs, Domestic violence, Evaluation, Guidelines, High risk groups, Judicial system, Maltreated children, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, Service delivery systems, Service integration

Annotation: This report analyzes the dominant modes of thinking on adolescent parenting as found in the media and in the materials of advocaty organizations. It offers reasons and ways to change certain dominant modes of thinking, and it makes suggestions for further research regarding adolescent parenting.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Advertising, Advocacy groups, Information dissemination, Mass media, Youth