Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

National Child Traumatic Stress Network and Center for Resilient Families. n.d.. A guide to forming advisory boards for family-serving organizations. Minneapolis, MN: Center for Resilient Families, 12 pp.

Annotation: This document presents things to think about as an organization considers how an advisory board might enhance the values it provides. Topics include goals, types of boards (families only, families and providers), size of the board, board terms, member recruitment, preparing and orienting board members, structuring meetings, and empowering family partners.

Contact: Center for Resilient Families, Institute for Translation Research, University of Minnesota, 1100 Washington Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55415, Web Site: https://itr.umn.edu/crf/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Community participation, Family relations

U.S. Administration for Children and Families. 2015. Early childhood state advisory councils final report. Washington, DC: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 276 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the State Advisory Councils on Early Childhood Education and Care grant to states and territories to develop high-quality early childhood education systems. Contents include general themes across the states, each state's accomplishments in meeting grant requirements, and implications for future work.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Child care, Councils, Early childhood education, Federal grants, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, Systems development

Discretionary Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children. 2013. Resources planning and management meeting. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 1 v.

Annotation: This notebook contains materials related to the second meeting of the Discretionalry Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, held September 21, 2013. It includes subcommittee agendas and draft reports; draft summary of the first meeting of the committee, held May 16-17, 2013; updated recommendations by the committee; information on whole genome sequencing in newborn screening and other newborn screening tests; committee legislation, by-laws, and charter; and a list of committee members.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Federal initiatives, Neonatal screening

Alliance for a Healthier Generation. 2013. School wellness committee toolkit. New York, NY: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, 23 pp.

Annotation: This guide was created as a resource for school wellness committees (SWCs) to convene, plan, and implement their action plans. Contents include information on how to use the toolkit, what a SWC is, frequently asked questions, roles and responsibilities, talking points for schools (why health?), and a framework of best practices criteria. Additional contents include guidance on who should join the SWC, considerations for SWC members, involving students and families, talking points about the Healthy Schools Program, a sample invitation letter, making decisions, how to keep SWCs active and effective, support and matrix for success, role of the facilitator, managing difficult behavior in groups, creating group norms, and communication strategies.

Contact: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, c/o The Clinton Foundation, 1271 Avenue of the Americas, 42nd Floor, New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (888) KID-HLTH E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.healthiergeneration.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Decision making, Facilitated communication, Policy development, Program development, Program planning, Role, School health, School health programs, Schools

Illinois Department of Public Health, Perinatal Advisory Committee. 2012. Preterm birth in Illinois: Understanding the problem, forging a solution—House Joint Resolution 111. Chicago, IL: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of preterm birth and its consequences in the state of Illinois and provides recommendations on proven strategies that could move Illinois towards the reduction of premature births. The report describes the extent and costs of preterm births; identifies the medical and social risk factors associated with preterm birth; and provides recommendations for evidence-based medical and public health strategies, as well as state system and policy changes. The report was prepared by the Perinatal Advisory Committee, Illinois Department of Public Health in response to Illinois General Assembly House Joint Resolution 111, which stipulated that the Committee submit findings and recommendations on reducing preterm births in the state.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Illinois, Perinatal care, Preterm birth, Risk reduction, State initiatives, State legislation

Family-to-Family Health Information Center at the Federation for Children with Special Needs, Mass Family Voices, National Institute for Children's Health Quality. 2012. Creating a patient and family advisory council: A toolkit for pediatric practices. Boston, MA: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 42 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist pediatric practices in building a system for listening to feedback by creating a Patient and Family Advisory Council (PFAC). It provides step-by-step guidance on how to effectively engage family perspectives in the design of pediatric services and to improve overall quality in the delivery of those services. Topics include assessing practice readiness for a PFAC; recruiting diverse patient and family representatives as council members; supporting the process of authentic family engagement and involvement; and sustaining and evaluating a PFAC. An index of resources and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Family centered care, Health services delivery, Multimedia, Patient care, Pediatric care, Quality improvement

Health Resources and Services Administration. [2011]. Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality [web site]. [Rockville,MD]: Health Resources and Services Administration,

Annotation: This website describes the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM) and its roles and actions in advising the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on HHS programs that are directed at reducing infant mortality and improving the health status of pregnant women and infants. The site also contains advice from the SACIM on how best to coordinate federal, state, local and private efforts that address the health and social problems that have an impact on infant mortality. Site contents include the latest (2009-2011) charter and a list of current members, information about the SACIM, and an archive of correspondence to the HHS Secretary. In addition an archive of Committee meetings (from 2004-2011) is provided with agenda, minutes, and presentations.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Child health, Infant death, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prevention

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2010. The redesign of primary care and implications for training: 8th annual report to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and to the U.S. Congress. Rockville, MD: U.S. Bureau of Health Professions, Division of Medicine and Dentistry, 36 pp.

Annotation: This annual report to the secretary describes activities of the Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry, including findings and recommendations made by the advisory committee concerning the activities under Title VII, section 747. Recommendations are presented in two groups: (1) those designed to bring about direct improvement in Title VII, section 747, programs and (2) those addressing federal policies necessary to support primary care as the backbone of the health care system. Topics include the crisis in primary care, Title VII and related health care work force programs, problems, opportunities for improvement, and the benefits of adopting the recommendations.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Health Workforce, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Parklawn Building, Room 8-05, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-5794 Fax: (301) 443-2111 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bhw/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Annual reports, Dentistry, Oral health, Primary care, Professional education, Professional training, Work force

Family Voices of Wisconsin. 2010. Shared participation: Strategies to increase the voice of families from diverse backgrounds as partners and advisors. Madison, WI: Family Voices of Wisconsin, 17 pp.

Annotation: This report documents Family Voices' conversations with parents of children and youth with special health care needs and/or disabilities from diverse cultural groups (Hispanic, African American, and Native American). The report describes parents' concerns about and perceived barriers to (1) being partners in decision-making about supports and services and (2) being advisors to committees and councils. The report also shares parents' recommendations for how to improve their capacity to be effective decision-makers for their own children, and provides parents' suggestions for improving organizational recruitment and support for participation on advisory committees and for other leadership roles. The report discusses engaging Hispanic parents, African-American parents, and Native American parents and presents common themes across groups for recruiting and supporting parents new to advisory roles.

Contact: Family Voices of Wisconsin, P.O. Box 55029, Madison, WI 53705, Telephone: (608) 220-9598 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FVofWI.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent with special health care needs, Advisory committees, American Indians, Blacks, Children with special health care needs, Cultural factors, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Leadership, Minority groups, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parents, Recruitment

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Dental Action Committee. 2007. Access to dental services for Medicaid children in Maryland: Report of the Dental Action Committee. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Dental Action Committee, 134 pp.

Annotation: This report presents recommendations developed by the Maryland Dental Action Committee to help guide the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene in increasing access to oral health services for children enrolled in Medicaid. Contents include an executive summary, a purpose statement, topic area summaries, an evaluation and oversight section, and a conclusion. Topics include Medicaid rates and alternate models; public health strategies; education and outreach for parents and other caregivers; and provider participation, capacity, and scope of practice. Committee recommendations, subcommittee reports, Medicaid data, and background materials are included as appendices.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advisory committees, Children, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

U.S. Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality. 2001. Low birth weight report and recommendations: Final report to Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. [Bethesda, MD]: Health Resources and Services Administration, 32 pp.

Annotation: This final report presents the recommendations provided by the Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (ACIM) which are intended to serve as a guide for future research and policymaking efforts to reduce health disparities and lower the nation's infant mortality rate. The recommendations are based on the committee's review and synthesis of knowledge on the subject of preterm delivery, The report includes a statement of the problem along with details on four key recommendations. A complete list of advisory committee members is included, along with statistics on low birth weight, infant mortality, and maternal mortality rates for years ranging from 1975 to 1999. A glossary of definitions, abbreviations, and acronyms is also provided.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Advisory committees, Federal initiatives, Guidelines, Health care disparities, Infant mortality

Jeppson ES, Thomas J. [1994]. Essential allies: Families as advisors. Bethesda, MD: Institute for Family-Centered Care, 76 pp.

Annotation: This publication was developed to facilitate collaboration and partnerships between health service providers and families. The information and tools presented equip professionals to work more effectively with family members at the program and policy level. The benefits and barriers to family participation in advisory activities are briefly reviewed in the opening sections; the remainder of the publication presents guidelines for promoting family participation. Specific strategies for identifying families to serve in advisory capacities and approaches for supporting and maintaining their involvement are offered. Examples of family/professional collaboration are included throughout the publication. The appendixes contain sample job descriptions, letters, questionnaires, guidelines, and family advisory council bylaws. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Advisory committees, Collaboration, Families, Family centered services, Guidelines

Baxley R. 1989 (ca.). Davidson Project [Final report]. Lexington, NC: Davidson County Health Department, 46 pp.

Annotation: This project's primary goal was to reduce the number of low birthweight babies born to women in Davidson County by reducing both preterm births and intrauterine growth retardation. The focus of the support services was on psychosocial risk factors of preterm labor, such as low self-esteem, poor problem-solving abilities, and financial difficulty. Volunteers were recruited, trained, and matched with pregnant women in need of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103357.

Keywords: Advisory Committees, Blacks, Childbirth Classes, Databases, Fetal growth retardation, Financial Difficulty, Growth Retardation, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Minorities, Premature Labor, Substance Abuse, WIC Program

Food and Nutrition Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture . 1981. Guidelines for organizing a state or local agency advisory council . Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Agriculture , 11

Annotation: This guide describes general factors that should be considered in the formation of an advisory council and the development of operating procedures to meet the needs of a state or local agency operating a Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) or a Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). The guide discusses the objectives of an advisory council, relevant issues to address, the purpose and responsibilities of the council, membership, officers, meetings, and administration. Appendices include a sample letter requesting membership nominations, biographical information form for nominees, and a sample notice of a council meeting.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Food services, Local initiatives, Nutrition programs, Program management, Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children, State initiatives, WIC program