Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

Brandt R, Phillips R. 2013. Improving supports for youth of color traumatized by violence. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the most effective ways to support male children and adolescents traumatized by exposure to violence. The report introduces the problem and then discusses theoretical models and approaches, including school-based employment-based, and care-coordination strategies, improved implementation of service systems; and action steps.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent males, Behavior modification, Behavior problems, Child behavior, Child development, Communities, Families, Health care systems, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Low income groups, Male children, Poverty, Prevention, Programs, Racial factors, Schools, Service delivery, Trauma, Violence, Violence prevention

Minino AM. 2010. Mortality among teenagers aged 12-19 years: United States, 1999-2006. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 7 pp. (NCHS data brief, no. 37)

Annotation: This data brief presents information about deaths to adolescents (ages 12-19) in the United States from 1999 to 2006. The brief discusses the risk of dying for this population, leading causes of death, and the cause of death accounting for high death rates among non-Hispanic black male adolescents.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent death, Adolescent males, Adolescent mortality, Blacks, High risk adolescents, Hispanics, Prevention, Racial factors, Sex factors

Marsiglio W, Ries AV, Sonenstein FL, Troccoli K, Whitehead M. 2006. It's a guy thing: Boys, young men, and teen pregnancy prevention. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 162 pp. (Putting what works to work)

Annotation: This report includes three papers that address, from different perspectives, how boys and young men factor into adolescent pregnancy trends. The first paper reviews research on the attitudes and behaviors of adolescent boys and young men regarding sex, contraception, pregnancy, and related issues. The second paper reviews evaluation research on the effectiveness of school-based, co-educational programs in reducing risky sexual behavior among adolescent boys. The third paper offers a qualitative look at the challenges in engaging adolescent boys and young men in adolescent pregnancy prevention and some strategies for addressing these challenges. The report also includes a summary of all three papers.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58671-060-5.

Full Report

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents males, Contraception, High risk adolescents, Prevention, Schools, Trends

National Adolescent Health Information Center. 2006. 2006 fact sheet on suicide: Adolescents and young adults. San Francisco, CA: National Adolescent Health Information Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about suicide among adolescents and young adults (ages 10-24). The fact sheet includes highlights; a pie chart showing suicide's ranking among the leading causes of death in this population; and information about the suicide rates among young adults vs. younger adolescents; suicide rates among young males, young females, and American Indian and Alaska Native males; rates of attempted suicide among female adolescents and female Hispanic adolescents; and trends in suicide rates. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. Data and figure sources and notes are included.

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent males, Adolescents, Alaska natives, American Indians, Attempted suicide, Hispanic Americans, Suicide, Trends, Young adults

Family Life Council. [2005]. Wise Guys: Male responsibility curriculum. Greensboro, NC: Family Life Council,

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to prevent adolescent pregnancy and sexually-transmitted diseases by communicating with adolescent males about issues concerning self, values, future goals, and sexuality; it focuses on both abstinence and contraception. The curriculum is a guide for instructors with all of the educational materials, handouts, and activities needed. Additional information on the Web site includes a customizable television spot about the program, a list of training sites, a description of variations in the Wise Guy program that are available, and materials for adolescents, parents, and professionals. Some of the material is in Spanish.

Contact: Wise Guys, Family Life Council, 301 East Washington Street, Suite 204, Greensboro, NC 27401, Telephone: (336) 333-6890 Fax: (336) 333-6891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wiseguysnc.org/

Keywords: Adolescent males, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Prevention programs, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Vandivere S, Zaslow M, Brooks J, Redd Z . 2004. Do child characteristics affect how children fare in families receiving and leaving welfare? . Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 42 pp. (Assessing the new federalism; discussion papers)

Annotation: This paper reports on the use of data from the National Survey of America's Families (NSAF) in analyses revealing a pattern in which male adolescents in the families of former welfare recipients (leavers) may be faring worse than their counterparts in the families of current recipients. The paper looks at how developmental risk compares for children in current recipient and leaver families by gender, age, race, and ethnicity; why adolescent boys in leaver families might fare worse than those in current recipient families; and further evidence on why adolescent boys in former recipient families seem at elevated risk. The paper includes a conclusion and discussion, references, and appendix tables.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Age factors, Child development, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, High risk adolescents, Low income groups, Males, Racial factors, Sex characteristics, Welfare programs

Flanigan C. 2003. Science says: The sexual attitudes and behavior of male teens. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 6 pp. (Putting what works to work; no. 6)

Annotation: This brief provide information on adolescent boys' sexual activity and contraceptive use, their attitudes toward both, and advice for parents and program leaders. Topics include sexual experience, frequency of sexual activity, number of partners, attitudes toward abstinence and sexual activity, condom use, contraception, pregnancy, and fatherhood. Implications for parents and professionals are also covered. Statistics are presented in figures throughout the brief. Endnotes are provided.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent fatherhood, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Condoms, Contraception, Males, Statistics

Alan Guttmacher Institute. 2002. In their own right: Addressing the sexual and reproductive health needs of American men. New York, NY: Alan Guttmacher Institute, 88 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of some fundamental patterns in men's sexual and reproductive lives, from ages 15 to 49, and their implications for policy and programs. It is divided into topics by age groups, 15-19, 20-29, 30-49, and includes topics likely to be associated with these age groups such as initiating sexual relationships, settling down, and forming families. Additional chapter topics include sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) and condom use; sexual reproductive health information and services for men; and a summary chapter. Statistics are provided in each chapter through the use of charts, tables, and graphs. The report includes extensive references and notes; an appendix listing socioeconomic and demographic characteristics of U.S. men and rates of STDs by various years and by state; and additional tables of statistics.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-939253-57-7.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age groups, Condoms, Family characteristics, Males, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual development, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Surveys

Leigh WA, Andrews JL. 2002. Contraceptive use. Washington, DC: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 6 pp. (Fact sheets on the reproductive health of African American adolescents)

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines information about contraceptive use by African-American males, including types of contraceptives used, comparison with other racial groups, and effectiveness of education and intervention on contraceptive use. Four tables present statistical data for female contraceptive use as well as male condom use. This fact sheet is a summary from the full report: The Reproductive Health of African American Adolescents: What We Know and What We Don't Know.

Contact: Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, 805 15th Street, 2nd Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-3500 Fax: (202) 789-6390 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jointcenter.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Contraception, Contraceptive devices, Contraceptive use, Males, Sexual behavior, Statistical data, Surveys

Deife J. 1996. Man to man. Santa Fe, NM: New Mexico Department of Health and Human Services, New Mexico Outreach, 1 video (30 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch), 1 discussion guide (6 pp.).

Annotation: This is a 30 minute documentary videorecording about manhood in New Mexico which centers around role models. It seeks to redefine certain words that have been identified with manhood. The videorecording comes with a brief discussion guide that describes the video, its intended audiences, and its uses. It also presents a list of possible discussion questions for each part of the video.

Contact: New Mexico Outreach, P.O. Box 26110, Santa Fe, NM 87502-6110, Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Life skills, Males, Role models, Sex role, Videotapes

Ager J. 1995. Predicting Teenage Pregnancy [Final report]. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University, 31 pp.

Annotation: To develop preventive intervention strategies to address the serious social problem of adolescent pregnancy in the United States, it is important that its antecedents be understood and that those adolescents at risk for early childbearing be identified. There is a great deal of research on the correlates of adolescent pregnancy, but the conclusions that can be drawn are limited because of methodological shortcomings. This research specified an explanatory model of adolescent pregnancy risk. Six hypothesized profiles, based upon the model, were tested. A comprehensive assessment of demographic, social, and psychological variables shown in past research to be associated with adolescent pregnancy were conducted. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-183439.

Keywords: Adolescents, Data Analysis, Data Collection, MCH Research, Males, Pregnant Adolescents, Research

Jaros KJ, St. Denis GC, eds. [1991]. Use of public health social work leadership tools and strategies: Addressing health issues of black male adolescents and children. Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh, Public Health Social Work Training Program, 130 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings present papers from the 1991 Public Health Social Work Institute, which was funded with support from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The papers defined and discussed the problems of minority male children and identified community programs that were using creative strategies to reach high-risk populations. Particular emphasis was placed on program models to mobilize community resources and build innovative collaborative arrangements. Specific topics include outreach and health education, drug treatment, violence prevention, culturally specific AIDS intervention, involvement of professional organizations, strategies for working effectively with community coalitions, funding priorities of government and private foundations, recruitment and training of minority health professionals, and changing organizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Blacks, Child health, Children, Interagency cooperation, Males, Social work

Dryfoos JG. 1988. Putting boys in the picture: A review of programs to promote sexual responsibility among young males. Santa Cruz, CA: ETR Associates/Network Publications, 108 pp.

Annotation: This book is a revision of the 1984 report Review of Programs and Services to Foster Responsible Sexual Behavior on the Part of Adolescent Boys. It reviews current and relevant research on the role of males in adolescent sexual activity, their use of contraceptives, attitudes toward pregnancy, and experiences of fatherhood. Programs directed toward males are discussed including strategies for promoting male involvement and sources of financial support. The final section presents preliminary recommendations and priorities for action to enhance the capacity and motivation for adolescent males to become more sexually responsible.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Males, Prevention programs

Barbarin OA, ed. Emotional development of African American children. Journal of Black Psychology. 19(4):381-504. November 1993,

Annotation: This special issue contains articles written by individual authors or groups of authors who focus on various issues related to treating the emotional development of African American children and adolescents. Following an introduction to the scope of the problem, the articles focus on the following topics: culture and social outcomes among inner-city children; self-esteem, cultural identify, and psychosocial adjustment; behavioral, emotional, and academic adjustment relating to age, gender, and family structure; clinical issues relating to the diagnosis of patients using the "Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, " 3rd edition; the social context of adolescent childbearing; coping and resilience among African American children, and understanding black adolescent male violence.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: Order no. 302080.

Keywords: Adolescent males, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Blacks, Children, Coping, Cultural factors, Demographics, Education, Emotional development, Mental health, Psychosocial factors, Resilience, Self esteem, Sociocultural factors, Statistics, Treatment, Urban population, Violence