Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This study examines the relationship between grade point average (GPA) and the experience of two primary depression symptoms -- feeling sad and losing interest in usual activities -- for at least two consecutive weeks among high school students during the years 2001-2009. The study discusses previous literature and draws upon data from the 2001, 2003, and 2009 Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBS), which monitors health risk behaviors and includes a national school-based survey conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Depression, Educational attainment, Educational psychology, High schools

Annotation: This book summarizes presentations and discussions from three workshops convened by the Committee on the Science of Adolescence, Board on Children, Youth, and Families of the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council to address threats to adolescents' health and well-being that inhere in their inclination to engage in risky and reckless behavior. The book is intended to introduce readers to a small portion of current theory and research on contributors to risk behavior in adolescence in order to stimulate further work on the subject. Topics include the risks that affect adolescents, the psychology of adolescence, the influence of the environment, and looking to the future.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-15853-2.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Environmental influences, High risk groups, Psychology, Research, Risk factors, Risk taking

Annotation: This book is intended to help parents understand and respond to the daily challenges of the teen years. It covers a range of practical issues, from physical changes of puberty to issues like popularity, peer pressure, and self esteem; from experiments with sex, alcohol, and drugs, to coping with emotional turmoil that follows a divorce or the death of a loved one. Part one, the life of an adolescent, presents the teenager's development, starting with early adolescence to the departure from home to lead an independent life. Part two, day to day problem behaviors, describes everyday behaviors, feelings, and reactions. Part three, serious problems and abnormalities, discusses concerns that represent serious obstacles to a teenager's development and family life. Part four, seeking help, offers practical advice and useful information when professional mental health intervention is required.

Contact: American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 3615 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20016-3007, Telephone: (202) 966-7300 Fax: (202) 966-2891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aacap.org Electronic copy available from the publisher. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-270182-7.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disorders

Annotation: This book focuses on the interactions between high risk adolescents and their environments rather than the traits of the troubled youths. There are three sections. The first focuses on destructive relationships; feelings of insecurity, inadequacy, and failure; powerlessness and learned irresponsibility, and the sense of lost purpose. The second section summarizes a Native American philosophy of child rearing. The final section outlines principles and approaches for working with high risk adolescents.

Contact: National Educational Service, 1610 West Third Street, P.O. Box 8, Bloomington, IN 47402, Telephone: (800) 733-6786 Secondary Telephone: (812) 336-7700 Fax: (812) 336-7790 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, American Indians, High risk populations, Philosophy, Psychological needs

Annotation: This document refines the goals and objectives of a strategic plan to better understand the developmental processes involved in forming cognitive, learning, emotional, social, and physical behaviors, and the biological and environmental factors that make infants, children, and adolescents more susceptible to behavioral disorders or to adopting risk-taking and violent behaviors. Chapter sections includes the strategic planning process, an outline of the scientific goals of the strategic plan, the importance of research technologies and resources, and the need for integrated training and education. The appendix includes a roster of working groups advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Behavioral medicine, Behavioral sciences, Child development, Developmental psychology, Research, Strategic plans

Annotation: This book is written for parents of adolescent daughters. The purpose is to help parents help their daughters maintain self-esteem through the adolescent years. Sections cover puberty, peer pressure, dating, sexuality, school performance, and self-destructive behaviors. Also covered are divorce and its effect on families, identifying adolescent girls at risk, and family dynamics.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 223-2336 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ $22.00 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, Families, Father child relations, High risk populations, Mother child relations, Parenting, Psychosocial development, Puberty, Self esteem, Sexuality

Annotation: This book describes the phases of emotional development which children experience from age 5 through 12 as they move away from emotional dependence on families. The author describes three phases. The first phase is when children's lives are centered on themselves and their families; the second phase is characterized as playground politics where other children play a role; and the third phase focuses on the development of an internal identity separate from family and friends.

Contact: Pearson Higher Education, Addison-Wesley , One Lake Street, Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458, Telephone: (201) 236-7000 Contact Phone: (800) 822-6339 Web Site: http://www.pearsonhighered.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Behavior, Child health, Child psychology, Emotional development, Personality development, Psychosocial development

Annotation: This book reports the findings of an expert panel established to develop a research agenda for future studies of child and adolescent maltreatment. The panel was to examine the quality of existing research, determine areas of strength and weakness, and offer guidance regarding ways in which current and future research resources might be directed to improve the development of the field. Topics include identification and definitions of child maltreatment, scope of the problem, etiology of maltreatment, prevention, consequences of abuse and neglect, intervention and treatment, human resources, instrumentation, and research infrastructure, ethical and legal issues in maltreatment research, and research priorities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG088.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Family violence, Injury prevention, Measurement tools, Population surveillance, Program development, Psychology, Research

Annotation: This manual is a guide for mentors to use in enriching mentoring relationships with adolescents. The manual provides an introduction to mentoring, adolescence and families under stress, and presents a series of activities in six areas ranging from academics and employment to physical and mental health. Each activity page provides information on planning for the activity, things to do during the activity, and follow-up activities.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent employment, Adolescent health promotion, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent parents, Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, Mental health, Mentors, Physical fitness, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This curriculum helps adolescents to develop positive mental health concepts through a series of exercises in rational-emotive therapy (RET). Deriving many of its concepts from cognitive psychology, RET is a skills-based approach to problem solving. Simulation games, role playing, stories, written activities, brainstorming, and art sessions are designed to foster a sense of responsibility for actions and feelings. The exercises are arranged by age level and skill group.

Contact: Research Press, Dept. 28W, PO Box 9177, Champaign, IL 61826, Telephone: (217) 352-3273 Secondary Telephone: (800) 519-2707 Contact Phone: (217) 352-3273 Fax: (217) 352-1221 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.researchpress.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Cognitive therapy, Communication, Curricula, Decision making, Mental health, Problem solving, Psychology, Self esteem

Annotation: This manual was designed for volunteers in the Davidson project of reducing risk factors associated with premature births. The manual includes program policy guidelines; volunteer forms and job description; coordinator forms pertaining to volunteers; patient forms; a section on communication including excerpts on reality therapy and perceptual psychology, and information on parenting disorders; Davidson County Health Department services; and inserts on infant mortality, a risk assessment scoring sheet, preterm labor instructions for the patient, a guide to raising children, and photocopied articles on adolescent pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Davidson County Health Department, 915 Greensboro Street, Lexington, NC 27292, Telephone: (336) 242-2000 Web Site: http://www.dchdnc.com/

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Health services, High risk populations, High risk pregnancy, Mothers, Pregnancy outcome, Preterm birth, Psychology, Risk assessment, Socioeconomic factors, Training, Volunteers, Women

Annotation: This report provides a comprehensive review of the literature to assist researchers, policy makers, and funding sources establish priorities and identify subject matter and standards on adolescent pregnancy. It identifies known social and psychological antecedents of this condition and suggests possible topics for further research. It summarizes the consensus of findings on factors associated with adolescents' initiation of coitus and with their use of contraception. The report identifies many methodological problems of previous research.

Contact: Elizabeth R. McAnarney, M.D., 601 Elmwood Avenue, Box 690, Rochester, NY 14642, Telephone: (716) 275-4673 Fax: (716) 256-2009 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent psychology, Adolescent sexuality, Contraception, Prevention programs

Annotation: This monograph is the second in a three part series written for health care professionals interested in human personality development from the prenatal phase through the aging processes. This volume discusses the aspects of normal, adaptive, and pathological developments during latency, adolescence, and young adulthood. Topics include peer and family relationships, physical and cognitive growth, personality assessment, coping strategies, and entry into adulthood.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent psychology, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Cognitive development, Development, Emotional development, Family relations, Peer groups, Social development

Annotation: This workshop summary addresses adolescent pregnancy in five subject areas: multi-health services, parents, peers, professional education, and schools and communities. A variety of disciplines, program experiences, and geographical regions were represented among the participants. The project upon which this publication is based was performed pursuant to Contract No. HSM 110-72-339, Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Health Services Administration.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent psychology, Adolescent sexuality, Communities, Conferences, Family planning, Health Resources and Services Administration, Parents, Peer groups, Professional education, Schools

Annotation: This report describes current progress in research on alcohol abuse and alcoholism. Topics covered include epidemiology, genetics and environment, neuroscience, medical consequences, fetal alcohol syndrome and other effects of alcohol on pregnancy outcome, adverse social consequences, diagnosis and assessment of alcohol use disorders, prevention, early and minimal intervention, and treatment.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available in libraries; some editions available from the web. Document Number: DHHS (ADM) 87-1579 (6th), DHHS (ADM) 90-1656 (7th), DHHS (ADM) 281-91-0003 (8th).

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age, Alaska natives, Alcohol use, American Indians, Attitudes, Blacks, Blood alcohol concentration, Brain injuries, Codes, College students, Community programs, Costs, Counseling, Crime, Demographics, Domestic violence, Drowning, Drug use, Education, Environment, Epidemiology, Ethnic groups, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Gender, Genetics, Hawaiians, Homeless persons, Industry, Injuries, Intervention, Legislation, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Motorcycles, Older adults, Pedestrians, Pregnant women, Prevention, Psychology, Questionnaires, Race, Railroads, Regulations, Seat belts, Social learning, Trauma