Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (269 total).

March of Dimes. n.d.. Healthy babies: Chance or choice? A peer education approach. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 48 pp.

Annotation: This volume presents a joint project of the March of Dimes and the Future Homemakers of America, which trains adolescent to provide peer education to other adolescents on the subject of preventing birth defects. It discusses reports from peer educators, the problem of birth defects, facts about preventable problems and project possibilities, suggestions for getting started, communication techniques, and a list of do's and don'ts. The volume is illustrated with photographs and drawings.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Communication, Congenital abnormalities, Peer education

Great Expectations. n.d.. Parenting manual. New Orleans, LA: Healthy Start/Great Expectations, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This training manual is a curriculum in parenting for Great Expectation clients. The first section of the document includes a description of the eight week course; a parenting training schedule; guidelines for group leader or coordinator; ground rules for the participants; a parent pledge; and recruiting suggestions. The remainder of the manual provides resource material and handouts on these topics: orientation; health education; safety; nurturing and self esteem; communication and play; child reporting (types of abuse, types of neglect, mandated reporters, and factors that sometimes lead to abuse or neglect); and discipline. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Contact Phone: (504 ) 565-7601 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child care, Child development, Communication, Curricula, Discipline, Education, Family planning, Health education, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Nutrition, Outreach, Parenting, Play, Prenatal care, Prevention, Safety, Self-esteem

Great Expectations. n.d.. Great Expectations adolescent services. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations, 7 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes the adolescent center services of Great Expectations. It includes the center policy, purpose, goals and a description of the services offered for pregnant adolescents, adolescents at risk, and parenting adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Contact Phone: (504) 897-1049 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health services, Adolescent mothers, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Healthy Start, Louisiana, adolescent center services

Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. n.d.. Helping children cope during deployment. Bethesda, MD: Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 2 pp. (Courage to care)

Annotation: This fact sheet, which is geared toward parents and family caregivers, contains information to help children cope during a parent's deployment. The fact sheet presents commonly asked questions and their responses. General tips for communicating with children of all ages, as well as advice for communicating with children from age 3 through adolescents according to their ages, are also included.

Contact: Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, 4301 Jones Bridge Road, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (800) 515-5257 E-mail: webmaster@usuhs.gov Web Site: http://www.usuhs.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Child mental health, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Coping, Families, Military, Parent child relations, Parents

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2016. Friends of Children Healthy People 2020 Grant Program for Chapters: Poverty and child health–Goals, outcomes, and future plans. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: American Academy of Pediatrics, 21 pp.

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2015–. Parent engagement. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist parents and school staff in working together to support and improve the learning, development, and health of children and adolescents. Contents include fact sheets for school districts and school administrators, teachers and other school staff, and parents and families. A strategy guide for state and local education agencies on selecting and implementing parent engagement strategies specific to HIV/STD prevention and a facilitator's guide for staff development are also included.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Family support, Health behavior, Learning, Parents, Protective factors, School age children, School districts, School personnel, Schools, Social support, Students, Teachers

Partnership for Drug-Free Kids. 2015. Marijuana talk kit: What you need to know to talk with your teen about marijuana . New York, NY: Partnership for Drug-Free Kids, 20 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents talk to adolescents about marijuana. Contents include facts about marijuana and why it is risky for adolescents, ways to talk with adolescents about marijuana including what to say and what not to say, how to respond to adolescents' questions and arguments, and resources to help.

Contact: Partnership for Drug-Free Kids, 352 Park Avenue South, 9th Floor, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (855) 378-4373 Secondary Telephone: (212) 922-1560 Fax: (212) 922-1570 E-mail: webmail@drugfree.org Web Site: http://www.drugfree.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Communication, Drug use behavior, Marijuana, Parents, Risk factors

Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, Pfizer, Unity Consortium. 2015. THRIVE (Teen Health Resources, Information and Vaccine Education). Deerfield, IL: Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine,

Annotation: This app is designed to empower parents to begin a dialogue with their adolescent or young adult on important health topics, and help manage their own health. Features include a library of health and wellness topics to help parents have discussions with their teen or young adult. The app also provides parents with conversation starters for difficult or sensitive topics; health exams and preventive health information including vaccinations and well-visits; risk-oriented behavior, such as drinking, smoking, or sexual health; social media; and more.

Contact: Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, 111 Deer Lake Road, Suite 100, Deerfield, IL 60015, Telephone: (847) 753-5226 Fax: (847) 480-9282 E-mail: sam@adolescenthealth.org Web Site: http://www.adolescenthealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Communication, Mobile applications, Parents, Self care, Transition planning, Young adults

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 2014-. SaferCar (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1 v.

Annotation: This mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Kost K, Hemshaw S. 2014. U.S. teenage pregnancies, births and abortions, 2010: National and state trends by age, race and ethnicity. New York, NY: Guttmacher Institute, 28 pp.

Annotation: This report contains statistics on the incidence of adolescent pregnancy, birth, and abortion for the United States as a whole and for individual states. Contents include national level trends since 1972 and state trends since 1988. Statistics are also presented by race and ethnicity. The report concludes with a discussion of the methodology and sources used to obtain the estimates.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: guttmacher@guttmacher.org Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Trends, Abortion, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Childbirth, Miscarriage, Statistical data

Visiting Nurse Association. 2014. Love and Learn Teen and Young Parent Program: Final report. Omaha, NE: Visiting Nurse Association, 23 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes the The Love and Learn Teen and Young Parent program (Love and Learn), created as a home visitation project to serve pregnant and parenting teenagers living in the Omaha, Nebraska metropolitan area. The report describes the purpose of the project and its relationship to Title V maternal and child health programs, the program's goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and outcomes. It describes the products produced to promote the project and enhance the performance of the home visitors; the dissemination of the project results; and future plans for sustainability. An abstract of the report is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Contact E-mail: pmennenga@thevnacares.org Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Final reports, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Home visiting, Initiatives, Local programs, MCH programs

Lorenzo SB. 2014. Adolescent pregnancy and parenting: Resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau] [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Health promotion, Parenting, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Resources for professionals

Center for the Study of Social Policy. 2014. Expectant and parenting youth in foster care: A resource guide. Washington, DC; New York, NY: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 95 pp.

Annotation: This compendium lists programs, interventions, and initiatives that are evidence-informed and those that hold promise for serving expectant and parenting youth and their children within foster care systems. The contents are organized into three major categories: parenting supports, developmental supports for children and parents, and preparation for adulthood. Each entry includes the name of the program, initiative, intervention, or training curriculum; results that the program, intervention, initiative, or training curriculum attempts to achieve; the target population; a description; the source of the evidence-informed clearinghouse; evidence of effectiveness; a location; and the website source or key contact for more information. Related resources such as fact sheets, reports, toolkits, and guides are also included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: info@cssp.org Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Curricula, Foster care, Intervention, Model programs, Pregnant adolescents, Program evaluation, Resources for professionals, Training

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute. 2013-. teendriversource. Philadelphia, PA: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, multiple items.

Annotation: This website for adolescents, parents and guardians, educators, policymakers, and resarchers provides evidence-based information and resources to reduce adolescent driver crashes and improve adolescent driver safety. Contents include a driving plan parent guide, goal guide, and logging and rating tool; resources to raise awareness; a training program for work, school, and community educators; and fact sheets to restart a conversation with state policymakers about graduated driver licensing provisions.

Contact: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399, Telephone: (215) 590-1000 Web Site: http://www.chop.edu/consumer/index.jsp Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Driver education, Goals, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Parents, Planning, Policy development, Resources for professionals, State legislation, Training materials

Colman S, Dee TS, Joyce TJ. 2013. Do parental involvement laws deter risky teen sex?. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 43 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 18810)

Annotation: This paper addresses the question of whether laws requiring that physicians notify or obtain consent from a parent of a minor seeking an abortion before performing the procedure deter risky adolescent sexual behavior. Drawing on multiple data sources, the paper seeks to reconcile the disparate findings in the existing literature and to provide new and comprehensive evidence on the association between parental involvement (PI) laws and rates of sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in adolescents. Topics include abortion access and risky sexual activity among adolescents, data and samples, methods, and estimated impacts of PI laws on STIs.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Consent, Health services, Parents, Legislation, Prevention, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. Reducing teen pregnancy in the United States. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 video (60 min.). (Public health grand rounds)

Annotation: This webcast focuses on reducing adolescent pregnancy in the United States. The speakers discuss ramifications of adolescent pregnancy and ways of preventing it and the roles of public health programs, parents, and health professionals in the effort. Progress in reducing adolescent pregnancy rates worldwide as well as the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention's efforts are discussed. The speakers also provide statistics related to adolescent pregnancy in the United States.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Communication, Contraception, Costs, Education, High risk adolescents, Low income groups, Parent child relations, Prevention, Programs, Public health, Statistical data

Ng AS, Kaye K. 2013. Science says: Teen childbearing in rural America. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, 6 pp. (No. 47)

Annotation: This research brief provides data comparing teen childbearing in rural, suburban, and urban areas nationwide and examining how this has changed over time. Topic include the rural teen population, characteristics and prevalence of teen childbearing across the rural-urban continuum, changes between 1990 and 2010, and synthesizing the information. A description of the methodology is also included.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: campaign@teenpregnancy.org Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Research, Rural population, Statistical data, Suburban population, Trends, Urban population

Isaacs J. 2013. Unemployment from a child's perspective. Washington, DC: First Focus and Urban Institute, 20 pp.

Annotation: This brief, which is part of a series of issue briefs examining he impact of the recession on children, examines unemployment from a child's perspective. It addresses the following questions: How many children are affected by parental unemployment? How does parental job loss affect children? Who are the children of the unemployed? Where do the children of the unemployed live? To what extent are families with children covered by unemployment insurance? The brief also reviews policies affecting the safety net for children of the unemployed.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent attitudes, Child attitudes, Child development, Child health, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Geographic factors, Health insurance, Low income groups, Parents, Poverty, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Statistical data, Unemployment

National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments. 2013. Schools and the Affordable Care Act. Washington, DC: American Institutes for Research, 11 pp. (In brief)

Annotation: This brief provides school leaders, staff, and other stakeholders who seek to support the health and wellness of elementary and secondary school students with information on three school-related health strategies supported by the Affordable Care Act (ACA): school-based health centers, community-school health partnerships, and supports for pregnant and parenting adolescents. For each strategy, the brief provides background information, evidence-based recommendations, and information about how the ACA can support implementation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-5000 Fax: (202) 403-5001 Web Site: http://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Communities, Dental sealants, Health care reform, Health insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pregnant adolescents, Public private partnerships, School age children, School based clinics

Child Welfare Information Gateway. 2013. Supporting your LGBTQ youth: A guide for foster parents. Washington, DC: Child Welfare Information Gateway, 11 pp. (Factsheet for families)

Annotation: This fact sheet for families provides information about how foster parents can support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. The fact sheet provides background information about LGBTQ youth and discusses LGBTQ youth and the child welfare system, creating a welcoming home for youth, and supporting youth in the community.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Bullying, Child welfare agencies, Community programs, Foster children, Foster parents, Homosexuality, Parent support services, Prevention, Schools, Social services, Youth, Youth development

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.