Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

Annotation: This document is intended for use by policy makers and advocates of women's health issues. It addresses issues of minority women's health, covering Native Americans, Hispanics, African Americans, Asian Americans, with special attention to adolescent and elderly women. Information is presented about life expectancy, major causes of death, behavior and lifestyles, risk factors, prenatal health care services, access to health insurance and services, and morbidity and mortality. The document includes numerous graphs, and a list of references. It concludes with recommendations to improve the health of women of color.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH 98-4247.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Morbidity, Older adults, Risk factors, Statistics, Women', s health

Annotation: This report chronicles the consequences of 50 years of tobacco use in the United States. Topics include the relationship between smoking and health outcomes; smoking-attributable morbidity, mortality, and economic costs; patterns of tobacco use among children, adolescents, and adults; status of and future directions in tobacco control; and a vision for ending tobacco-caused death and disease.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This consumer guide details the effects of smoking including nicotine addiction and serious disease. It also contains facts on the benefits of quitting smoking and free resources that are available to smokers who want to quit. The guide is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Cause of death, Children, Consumer education materials, Costs, Disease prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Progress reports, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report provides information about the incidence of fatal and nonfatal firearm injuries to children and adolescents. Text provides general information, and several tables provide statistical information about firearm deaths to children and adolescents.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent mortality, Child morbidity, Child mortality, Firearm injuries, Firearms, Safety

Annotation: This paper assesses the effects of mandatory seatbelt laws on self-reported seatbelt use, highway fatalities, and crash-related injuries among high-school-age adolescents using data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's national, state, and local Youth Risk Behavior Surveys and Fatality Analysis Reporting Systems from 1991 to 2005, a period spanning over 20 changes in seatbelt laws. The authors use quasi-experimental approaches that isolate the independent effects of seatbelt laws net of demographic characteristics, area and year fixed effects, and smooth area-specific trends. The paper, which includes an abstract, introduces the problem, discusses previous literature, provides a data description and research design, and offers results and a discussion and conclusion. Footnotes and a bibliography are included. Statistical data are presented in figures and tables grouped together at the end of the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent mortality, High school students, Legislation, Motor vehicle crashes, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Research, Seat belts, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This book for parents provides practical advice for helping their adolescent children adjust to the changes of adolescence and make good decisions about drugs, alcohol, tobacco, premature sexual activity and other threats to their physical and emotional well-being. The book is divided into four parts: an overview of the changes common to adolescence; the environments of home, school, and the world; safeguarding against the hurdles of adolescence; and setting good health patterns for a lifetime. Topics also include safety and injury prevention, common medical conditions in adolescence, sport and physical activity, and chronic illness or disability. Highlighted information and statistics are presented in tables and boxes throughout the book, and an index is provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-533-37996-8.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent health, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Psychosocial development, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report primarily comprises tables and figures that present information from national surveys and studies on morbidity and mortality due to tobacco use in the United States. The report focuses primarily on cigarettes, but statistical information on other tobacco products is also included, and environmental tobacco smoke is discussed. The report begins with text discussing the following topics: mortality, consumption, prevalence of cigarette use among adults, prevalence of other tobacco products among adults, marijuana, prevalence of cigarette use among adolescents, smoking during pregnancy, prevalence of smoking cessation among adults, prevalence of smoking cessation among adolescents, tobacco advertising and promotion, state laws on smoking, environmental tobacco smoke, and international cigarette smoking prevalence. Footnotes are included. The text is followed by tables and figures.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Charts And Map

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adults, Advertising, Marijuana, Morbidity, Mortality, Passive smoking, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State legislation, Statistical data, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This fact book presents an overview of children and adolescents in U.S. hospitals, providing insight into the types of conditions for which they are hospitalized, the types of procedures they receive, who is billed for the stays, the resources associated with their hospital stays, and where they are discharged to when they leave the hospital. The fact book begins with an overview of hospital care for children and adolescents overall and compares information about children and adolescents to information about adults. It then provides more detailed information about three major subgroups of pediatric hospital stays: (1) neonatal stays, (2) stays for other pediatric illness, and (3) stays for adolescent pregnancy and delivery. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the fact book.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58763-137-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Child health: Adolescent health, Children, Costs, Hospitalization, Hospitals, Infant health, Infants, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal morbidity

Annotation: This report on the 2003 Vermont Youth Risk Behavior Survey -- a survey conducted every two years to measure the prevalence of behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death, disease, and injury among youth -- provides information about Vermont students. The information is designed to (1) monitor trends, (2) compare Vermont students with a national sample of students, and (3) plan, evaluate, and improve community and school programs that prevent health problems and promote healthy behaviors. The report includes the following sections: (1) basic information, (2) injuries, violence, and safety, (3) alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs (ATOD), (4) attitudes and perceptions about ATOD, (5) sexual behavior, (6) body weight and nutrition, (7) physical activity, and (8) measures of youth assets. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7606 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7701 Web Site: http://www.healthvermont.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent mortality, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol use, Body weight, Community programs, Injuries, Injury, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention, Safety, Schools, Smoking, Students, Substance abuse, Surveys, Tobacco use, Trends, Vermont, Violence

Annotation: This report discusses the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development's (NICHD's) efforts to bridge the health disparities gap. The report discusses NICHD's health disparities plan as well as NICHD's unique perspectives in health disparities for the following areas: infant and maternal mortality and morbidity; reproductive health; HIV/AIDS -- targeting women and teens; early antecedents of disparities in disease and growth; early antecedents of child well-being and adverse behaviors; school readiness; cognitive and behavioral development; restoring function and preventing disability; training and career development; and outreach to communities and their institutions. For each area, the report presents facts, information on current outreach, and future goals/objectives. The report includes a roster of advisors.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Careers, Child behavior, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Communities, Early childhood development, Early intervention, HIV infection, Infant health, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Minority groups, Outreach, Reproductive health, School readiness, Training

Annotation: This report on the health needs of children in Allegheny County includes the physical, environmental, social, and mental aspects of health. New morbidity is a prime focus of this report. Demographics for distribution of household income, overall population distribution and distribution by race are featured. Statistics are reported for chronic conditions, immunization rates, infectious diseases, tuberculosis, nutrition and psychical activity/fitness, and dental conditions. Maps designate the areas of high risk for natality, mortality, and behavior.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Crime, Demographics, Juvenile delinquents, Morbidity, Mortality, Needs assessment, Pennsylvania, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics

Annotation: This data book and a related set of slides present information on the nature and incidence of unintentional and intentional injuries among U.S. children and adolescents ages 1–19. The book is divided into five sections: (1) Overview—comparisons between injury and diseases, international comparisons; (2) mortality—major causes of injury by developmental stage, mortality data compared to morbidity data; (3) unintentional injury—motor vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles, drowning and near drowning, fires and burns, unintentional firearms, poisoning, falls, occupational injuries, farm injuries, sports, toys and recreational equipment; (4) violence—homicide, assault, suicide, child abuse and neglect, rape; and (5) interventions—chart by age group, the cost of injury, suggestions for ways to prevent child and adolescent injury. An appendix presents 1988 injury mortality rates for children ages 1–4, 5–9, 10–14, and 15–19, for 11 major injury categories. Federal agencies contributing data include the National Center for Health Statistics, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Consumer Product Safety Commission, Department of Justice, and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE049; MCHF098 (slides), MCHF108 (brochure); book ERIC ED 342 152.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Child development, Child health, Children, Costs, Data, Firearm injuries, Infants, Injuries, Integration, Morbidity, Mortality, Occupational injuries, Planning, Preschool children, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Safety equipment, Schools, Slides, Suicide, Toddlers, Transportation injuries, Violence

Annotation: This project expanded childhood injury surveillance efforts and childhood injury prevention activities within local community health services. Project activities included compiling data on childhood-specific injury morbidity and mortality, creating a coalition of agencies with an interest in childhood injuries, providing assistance in developing local prevention programs, developing a comprehensive approach to reduce scald injuries in children ages birth to five years, and making long-range plans to address other types of injuries and other age groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-146009.

Keywords: Adolescents, American Academy of Pediatrics, Burns, Centers for Disease Control (CDC), Child, Data Collection, Education of Health Professionals, Emergency Medical Services, Injury Prevention Injuries, Morbidity, Mortality, Preschoolers, Rural Population, Scalds, School-Age Children

Annotation: This review presents articles on at-risk adolescents and on risk behavior among adolescents. Articles discuss adolescent health, assessment and management of health risk behaviors, family violence, the gang phenomenon, adolescent depression and suicide, preventing adolescent pregnancy, substance abuse, television and adolescents, and injuries, the leading cause of morbidity and morality in adolescents. Articles are illustrated with graphs and tables; each article ends with a list of references.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-026-X.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent mortality, Adolescent sexuality, Family violence, Gangs, High risk adolescents, Injuries, Risk taking, Substance abuse, Suicide, Television

Annotation: The goal of this project was to reduce the morbidity and mortality rates among infants born to primagravida adolescents and to improve the parenting skills of these adolescents. The Resource Mothers Project utilized paraprofessional women to provide social support to supplement and reinforce prenatal and infant clinical services and to assist adolescents with problems related to pregnancy, childbirth, infant care, and parenting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103290.

Keywords: Adolescents, Breastfeeding, Data Evaluation, Home Visiting, Immunization, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Adolescents, Prenatal Care

Annotation: This project aimed to improve the availability of appropriate prenatal care and postnatal clinical care for low-income, high-risk women and their newborns in Utah's Southeastern, Southwestern, and Uintah Basin Health Districts. Activities included incorporating improvements into the existing health services, developing new programs in rural and frontier counties, and collecting data for better evaluation of the needs and services in the target areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB91-236406.

Keywords: Adolescents, Birthweight, Continuing Education, Development, Education of Health Professionals, High risk pregnancy, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low, Low income groups, Mothers, Neonatal Intensive Care, Rural Population

Annotation: These proceedings discuss the status of maternal health and care; problems in neonatal mortality and morbidity; pregnancy wastage programs; primary prevention from the viewpoint of the obstetrician; public health applications of primary prevention; changes in recommended standards for hospital care of newborn infants; etiology and prevention of congenital malformations; identification and early treatment of handicapping conditions; adolescence as an opportunity for primary prevention; education and preparation for parenthood and family life; services for family planning; application of genetics to primary prevention and public health; and how to change behavioral patterns.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Children with developmental disabilities, Congenital abnormalities, Family planning, Genetics, Hospital services, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Morbidity, Neonatal mortality, Newborn infants, Parent education, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Public health