Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This bibliography is a revision and updating of comment series no. 7-9 (4) with the addition new sources and annotations for all sources. This publication supersedes the previous non-annotated bibliography, "Bibliography on Evaluation of Health Programs." This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Bibliographies, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This paper is an analogy defining comprehensive health care and how it differs from other types of care. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Bibliographies, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce postneonatal mortality rates associated with inadequate parenting skills and poor utilization of prenatal and child health care services. Activities included establishment of a resource mothers program in which church women were trained to assist pregnant women in negotiating the health care and social services systems, and implementation of a teen peer counselor program. The project also established self-sustaining local coalitions to monitor and address problems that contribute to poor pregnancy outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196889.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Adolescents, Blacks, Clergy, Community-Based Health Services, High risk groups, High risk pregnancy, Infant Mortality, Low income groups, Postneonatal Mortality, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Religious organizations, Rural Populations

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and demonstrate effective intervention strategies for the 10–15 year age group that can be carried out within a school-based comprehensive health care system to reduce the occurrence of premature and unprotected sexual intercourse in adolescents. More than 300 10-year-old children and their parents enrolled to receive annual health maintenance evaluations and a series of activities to enhance parent-child communication, parental knowledge of adolescent social and sexual development, and problem-solving and decision-making skills. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133977.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Decision Making Skills, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Hispanics, Minority Groups, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Child Relationship, Preventive Health Care Education, School Dropouts, School Health Programs, School Health Services, Sexual Activity, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Annotation: This resource serves as a tool to help states develop and implement impactful policy solutions that strengthen youth mental health. It provides states with actionable solutions that can reduce the risk of mental health conditions, help youth build resistance, increase awareness and reduce mental health stigma, ensure access and affordability of quality treatment and care, and train and support caregivers and educators.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Health promotion, Interventions, Mental health services, Policy development, State initiatives

Annotation: This paper provides recommendations for health professionals that represent a consensus by the American Academy of Pediatrics and Bright Futures about the periodicity of health services for infants, children, and adolescents. The recommendations emphasize the importance of continuity of care in comprehensive health supervision, including oral health supervision, and the need to avoid fragmentation of care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comprehensive health care, Health supervision, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Young adults

Annotation: This World Health Organization and UNICEF guidance document outlines a comprehensive framework for delivering scheduled well-care visits for children and adolescents from birth through age 19. It details minimum recommended schedules and content for 17 routine visits aligned with developmental transitions, providing health providers and program managers with specific guidance on assessment, monitoring, counseling, and preventive interventions at each age. The document includes detailed age-specific priorities and activities for health promotion, disease prevention, and early identification of children and families needing additional support, while emphasizing linkages across health, education and other sectors to maximize opportunities for promoting child and adolescent wellbeing. [Funded by the United States Agency for International Development]

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, International programs, Preventive health services, Well child care

Annotation: This report presents information on methods for conducting cost-outcome analysis for a number of child, adolescent, and adult injury prevention and intervention programs, followed by data and analysis for specific program types. Topics include motor vehicle and pedestrian safety intervention, impaired driving and pedestrian intervention, open-flame and burn prevention, violence prevention, substance abuse intervention, and health services and miscellaneous injury prevention. Data tables, a glossary, and references are provided.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2014

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Burn prevention, Children, Cost benefit analysis, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Pedestrians, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Statistics, Substance abuse treatment, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2021

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children', Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This electronic resources examines ways to promote resilience among all young people and connect those who need help with mental health treatment and other supports. The web feature explores care models tailored to the unique needs of young people, including clinics and youth centers that offer a range of clinical and social supports, and therapeutic tools that can be used by non-specialists or young people themselves. All of the models presented seek to lower barriers to getting help, teach young people about mental health, and empower them to become part of the solution.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Mental health, Mental health services, Young adults

Annotation: These guidelines offer best practices, implementation strategies, and practical guidance for the design and development of services that meet the needs of children, youth, and their families experiencing a mental health crisis. The document provides strategies for different populations,, including young children, transition-age youth and young adults, youth with intellectual and developmental disabilities, LGBTQI+ youth, and rural and frontier communities. Each section includes a summary of implementation strategies, as well as links to programs and additional information. An appendix provides a table of core crisis principles.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Substance abuse treatment, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This paper reviews the need for and components of crisis stabilization services for children, youth, young adults, and their families. Crisis stabilization services focus on de-escalation and stabilization within the home and community. The paper provides recommendations for policy makers, practitioners, and thought leaders. This document can be used in conjunction with the National Guidelines for Child and Youth Behavioral Health Crisis.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Crisis intervention, Families, Mental health, Mental health agencies, Mental health services

Annotation: This tip sheet describes 10 principles developed to form bridges between pediatric primary care and behavioral health care with a focus on adolescent social/emotional well-being. Each of the "Shared Plan of Care" (SPoC) principles apply to Bright Futures health supervision visits for adolescents who have mental health concerns. Relevant considerations, resources, and tools for health professionals are included. The principles were developed by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs in partnership with the Bright Futures National Center.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Guidelines , Health supervision, Preventive health services

Annotation: This issue brief presents five ways in which state policymakers can support equitable school-based telemental health (TMH), with recommendations based on relevant policy context, existing research, and feedback from interviews with five TMH providers who testified to on-the-ground experience with these interventions. The brief expands on the following recommendations: (1) Use Medicaid as a funding source for TMH; (2) maintain COVID-era telehealth flexiblities to increase access to TMH; (3) allow flexibility in TMH program implementation so programs can tailor their offerings for different communities; (4) Make it easier for TMH programs to obtain parental consent; and (5) help schools establish multi-tiered systems of support to best leverage investments in TMH.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Mental health services, Policy development, School age children, School health services, State initiatives, Telemedicine

Annotation: This Advisory offers recommendations for supporting the mental health of children, adolescents, and young adults. It describes the various factors that can shape the mental health of young people and explains how action can be taken at various levels to improve health outcomes. Separate sections explain how individuals, families and caregivers, educators, health professionals and health organizations, social media, community organizations, funders and foundations, employers, and goverrnments (federal, state, and local) can each address the mental health needs of young people. Included is a discussion of youth mental health before the pandemic, and the ways in which COVID-19 increased risk factors for children and young adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Health promotion, Intervention, Mental health, Mental health services, Risk factors, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This resource guide describes how organizations are using remote services in creative and promising ways to deliver education, training, employment, and mental health services to all young people — regardless of their race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic status. The guide presents six core strategies and identifies key issues, challenges, promising practices and tips for each approach. The strategies are: (1) creating the foundation for success by meeting basic needs first; (2) strengthening organizational and staff capacity to meet new demands; (3) providing services that support mental and emotional health; (4) building community; (5) ensuring instruction is engaging; and (6) adapting experiential and work-based learning to the virtual environment.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent Mental health, Adolescent health, Distance learning, Initiatives, Model programs, Technology, Telecommunications, Telemedicine, Youth services