Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (692 total).

District of Columbia Healthy Start Project. n.d.. The D.C. Healthy Start Project's peer education/teen theater program: How to start your own peer educator/teen theater program manual. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Healthy Start Project, 34 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help peer educators start their own teen theater program. Through a series of 20–30 minute skits, peer educators are trained to help adolescents better understand a variety of health issues. The manual explains the philosophy of the teen theater program and how to establish such a program. The manual includes skits, activities, and exercises. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: District of Columbia Healthy Start Project, Office of Maternal and Child Health, St. Elizabeth's Campus, Cottage Seven, 2700 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20032, Telephone: (202) 645-4174 Contact Phone: (202) 645-5624 Fax: (202) 645-5084 Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent health promotion, Adolescents, District of Columbia Healthy Start, Manuals, Outreach, Peer education, Risk prevention, Theater, Training materials

Mile Square Health Center. n.d.. Healthy 2000: Educating our youth. Springfield, IL: Mile Square Health Center, 18 pp.

Annotation: This information packet is designed for adolescent health advocate trainees who work in the "Healthy 2000 : Educating Our Youth" program. The packet describes the goals and objectives of the program, lists the skills trainees are expected to develop, outlines the curriculum, and contains a skills checklist and an evaluation form to test participants' knowledge of adolescent health issues.

Contact: Chicago Healthy Start, 535 West Jefferson Street, First Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (312) 793-4662 Contact Phone: (217) 782-4890 Fax: (217) 782-4890 Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent programs, Community health centers, Community programs, Curricula, Healthy People 2000, Training materials

McIntire MS, Mitchell JR. n.d.. Comprehensive health care delivery for children and youth: A combined approach. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 7 pp. (Comment series no: 2-1 (41))

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Gedgoud JL, McIntire MS. n.d.. Progress report of a combined approach for children and youth services. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 11 pp. (Comment series no: 3-2 (45))

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Larsen B. n.d.. The role of theoretical research and model building in the health care sciences. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 18 pp. (Comment series no: 3-6 (46))

Davidson GB. n.d.. Toward the control of lead poisoning in children: A cost/benefit analysis. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 46 pp. (Study series no.: 1-6 (9a))

Annotation: This paper evaluates the general worth of a specified lead poisoning control program confined to the Children and Youth Projects' child population only. The sensitivity of the cost/benefit model to the assumptions of the paper as well as to the input data considered is considered. The expected benefit of the proposed lead poisoning control program is compared to the expected cost. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Cost effectiveness, Federal MCH programs, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Title V programs

Larsen B. n.d.. Activity analysis III: The duality aspect of linear programming. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 24 pp. (Study series no.: 0-3 (28))

Annotation: This paper is part of a series on activity analysis to give the conceptual and methodological framework necessary for the application of activity analysis to health care problems in general, and to the management of Children and Youth Program projects in particular. In this first paper in the series the general linear programming problem is formulated, and a number of possible applications in the health care field are suggested. The specific purpose of this paper is to serve as a supplement to the other expositions of the problem, focusing on the duality aspect of linear programming. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Federal MCH programs, Statistical analysis

De Geyndt W. n.d.. Evaluation of health programs: An annotated bibliography. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 107 pp. (Comment series no.: 8-9 (9))

Annotation: This bibliography is a revision and updating of comment series no. 7-9 (4) with the addition new sources and annotations for all sources. This publication supersedes the previous non-annotated bibliography, "Bibliography on Evaluation of Health Programs." This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Bibliographies, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Weckwerth VE. n.d.. The comprehensive hardware store: An analogy prepared in response to a request for the difference between comprehensive health care and other care. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 6 pp. (Comment series no.: 8-9 (10))

Ertel PY, Ambuel JP, Graham BD. n.d.. What is a C and Y Project?. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 6 pp. (Comment series no.: 8-10 (11))

Annotation: This paper is a comparative description of the Columbus, Ohio Children and Youth Program project. The differences between this and other projects in operational definitions, approaches to problems, and the kinds of innovations developed to enhance their delivery of services is discussed. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs

Appleby C, Neher WR, Sprague L, Appleby M. n.d.. The marathon encounter: Toward a philosophy of care. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 55 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-1 (12))

Annotation: This paper is a report of a marathon encounter group studying physician patient relations and its implications for a philosophy of care. Both health personnel and patients were participants. This paper will include the background and philosophy of the marathon, the theoretical assumptions, methodology, findings from the marathon, suggestions for future marathon projects, suggestions for future evaluations of marathons, and implications for interdisciplinary attempts at comprehensive care in in low-income areas. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Physician patient relations, Title V programs

Hallstrom BJ, Osterman KE. n.d.. Independent, dependent, and collaborative functioning and the nursing role. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 13 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-2 (13))

Annotation: This paper develops a conceptual model of the process by which health care is delivered by health care practitioners. Independent, dependent, and collaborative functioning are identified. Nursing literature regarding nursing roles and functioning is reviewed and related to the process of providing care. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Nursing

Osterman KE. n.d.. On assessing nursing functioning and services: A selected annotated bibliography. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 12 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-2 (14))

Annotation: This selected annotated bibliography resulted from a review the literature in preparation for writing the paper "Independent, Dependent, and Collaborative Functioning and the Nursing Role." The focus is on the role of nursing in the health care team. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Nursing

Dahl T. n.d.. Activity analysis I: The formulation of a linear programming problem. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 26 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-5 (16))

Annotation: This paper discusses the general formulation of a linear programming problem, the diet problem, the transportation problem, and other applications. These tools are applied to use as a simplified way for planners and administrators to describe a production process or addressee an input-output problem and attempt to solve it for known constraints. A list of related references is included. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Statistical analysis

Dahl T. n.d.. The systems development project accounting system: A framework for cost-effectiveness analysis. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 19 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-6 (17))

Annotation: This paper describes the output-oriented accounting system of the Systems Development Project used to perform economic analysis of the Children and Youth Program projects. This is part of a series to document and assess the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Accounting, Administration, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Economics, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Larsen B. n.d.. A generalization of the volume effect and its application in cost-effectiveness analysis. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 36 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-6 (18))

Annotation: This paper discusses the problems of the Children and Youth Program projects in obtaining cost reporting data to provide comparable data for inter-project comparisons and for comparisons of a specific project to an image of itself of theoretical perfection. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Cost effectiveness, Economics, Program evaluation

Ertel PY, Chase RC, Notestine JC, Ambuel JP. n.d.. A multi-purpose outpatient data system. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 10 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-6 (19))

Annotation: This paper shares the development of an outpatient data system by the Columbus [Ohio] Children's Hospital which was revised at the time their Children and Youth project was initiated in June, 1966. The data system describe complies with the Children and Youth Program reporting requirements but is of broader scope. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Data collection, Ohio, Outpatients

[University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project. n.d.. Performance profile. [Minneapolis, MN]: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, [26 v.?]

Annotation: These quarterly reports for the Children and Youth Program consist of selected performance variables preceded by a chart which displays the range and median for each variable together with the number of projects with usable data, project attributes, an analysis of the variables by two selected attributes–operating unit and region, and values for performance index for each project for the reported quarters. This is part of a series to document and asses the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Assessment, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Program evaluation, Reports, Title V programs

Larsen,B. n.d.. Symbolic logic: A promising decision making tool. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 25 pp. (Quantods series no.: 1-8 (5))

Larsen B. n.d.. An expanded model of registrant flow in comprehensive health care projects. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 16 pp. (Quantods series no.: 1-9 (4))

Annotation: This paper expands the model for the flow of registrants in a Children and Youth Program project as presented in a previous paper by classifying the group of registrants who have not yet reached health supervision into categories of those who are registered only and those who have already progressed to health assessment or treatment. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Federal MCH programs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.