Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (96 total).

Newacheck P. n.d.. Improving Health Insurance Coverage for Adolescents: Analysis, Dissemination, and Technical Assistance [Final report]. San Francisco, CA: Institute for Health Policy Studies, 12 pp.

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Heighten awareness of adolescent health insurance problems and potential solutions among policymakers, health care professionals, educators, business groups, and parents; (2) strengthen State-level capacity to plan and implement strategies for improving financing of health services for adolescents; and (3) update and expand our knowledge base concerning the financing of health services for adolescents. Activities included conducting workshops, providing technical assistance, and publishing reports and educational materials. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161536.

Keywords: Adolescents, Data Collection, Education of Health Professionals, Financing Health Care for Adolescents, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Minorities

Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics, Hematology/Oncology Department. n.d.. Educator’s guide to sickle cell and school. Kansas City, MO: Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics, Hematology/Oncology Department, 24 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides facts about sickle cell, including types of sickle cell disease and trait, common characteristics, less common complications, tips for the educator regarding meeting the needs of students with sickle cell and managing painful episodes. Tips are given for teachers, principals, guidance counselors, school nurses, physical education instructors and coaches,

Contact: Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics, 2401 Gillham Road, Kansas City, MO 64108, Telephone: (816) 234-3000 Secondary Telephone: (816) 234-3816 Web Site: http://www.childrensmercy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Resources for professionals, School health, Sickle cell disease

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2023. Physical activity guidelines for Americans (updated). Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion,

Annotation: This website provides science-based guidance to help Americans ages 6 and older improve their health through appropriate physical activity. Includes are tips on how to stay active, community resources, dietary guidelines, campaign materials, news updates. and guidelines on the types and amounts of physical activity that offer substantial health benefits to children, adolescents, and adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Contact E-mail: 2019 guidelines Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Child health, Guidelines, Health promotion, National initiatives, Older adults, Physical activity, Resources for professionals

Hampl SE, Hassink SG, Skinner AC, Armstrong SC, Barlow SE, Bolling CF, Avila Edwards KC, Eneli I, Hamre R, Joseph MM, Lunsford D, Mendonca E, Michalsky MP, Mirza N, Ochoa ER, Jr, Sharifi M, Staiano AE, Weedn AE, Flinn SK, Lindros J, Okechukwu K. 2023. Clinical practice guideline for the evaluation and treatment of children and adolescents with obesity. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 100 pp.; 9 pp.(exec summary)

Annotation: These clinical practice guidelines for pediatricians and other pediatric health care providers (PHCPs) present a standard of care for evaluating and treating children with overweight and obesity and related comorbidities. The recommendations address the child's health status, family system, community context, and resources for treatment.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, Obesity, Overweight, Resources for professionals , Therapeutics

Skinner AC, Staiano, AE, Armstrong SC, Barkin SL, Hassink SG, Moore JE, Savage JS, Vilme H, Weedn AE, Liebhart J, Lindros J, Reilly EM. 2023. Appraisal of Clinical Care Practices for Child Obesity Treatment. Part I: Interventions. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 80 pp.

Annotation: This is part I of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of comorbidities among children with obesity?” This part focuses on effective interventions for children and adolescents with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Intervention, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals

Skinner AC, Staiano, AE, Armstrong SC, Barkin SL, Hassink SG, Moore JE, Savage JS, Vilme H, Weedn AE, Liebhart J, Lindros J, Reilly EM. 2023. Appraisal of Clinical Care Practices for Child Obesity Treatment. Part II: Comorbidities. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 55 pp.

Annotation: This is part II of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of co-morbidities among children with obesity?” The second part contains research evidence to help clinicians screen for co-morbidities such as diabetes and dyslipidemia in children with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Part II

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Comorbidity, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals, Screening

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Primary Care and Health Access, Office of Oral Health. 2022. Fluoride varnish training manual for Massachusetts health care professionals. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Primary Care and Health Access, Office of Oral Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2022. Youth tobacco cessation: Considerations for clinicians . Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 14 pp.

Annotation: This resource for clinicians is intended to support youth cessation of all commercial tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, vaping devices, cigarettes, cigars, dissolvable tobacco, heated tobacco products, hookah, pipes, nicotine pouches, smokeless tobacco, roll-your-own, bidis, and snus. The resource explains why youth tobacco use is a critical health concern; describes the role pediatric clinicians play as a trusted resource for youth and families; outlines challenges and considerations; and calls on clinicians to address youth cessation using effective screening, counseling, and treatment strategies.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse, Tobacco, Youth

Clark M, ed. 2020-. Smiles for Life: A national oral health curriculum (4th ed.). Leawood, KS: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, multiple items.

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises nine courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; oral health for older adults; and silver diamine fluoride. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. 2020. Human papillomavirus vaccination . Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 7 pp. (Committee Opinion 809; replaces Committee Opinion 704 )

Annotation: This committee opinion for clinicians includes background information on the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine; statistics on HPV-associated cancers; recommendations on who should be vaccinated and when; guidelines on administering the vaccine; and information on safety, efficacy, and patient education. The 2020 committee opinion r(#809) replaces the earlier 2017 opinion (#704).

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cancer, Communication, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Women', s health services

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2019. Autism: Caring for children with autism spectrum disorders—A practical resource toolkit for clinicians, 3rd ed.. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics,

Annotation: This digital toolkit assists clinicians in the recognition, diagnosis, and management of children with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) across the life span. It contains American Academy of Pediatrics autism clinical reports and policy statements and expert ASD screening, surveillance, diagnosis, treatment, and referral guidelines. Fact sheets are provided along with coding and billing guidance, and a webinar with video and slides for additional clinician use. Family handouts, in English and Spanish, that discuss diagnosis, transition, financial assistance for families, school inclusion, medical home, adolescents and sexuality, teaching social skills, and child wandering are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-363-4.

Link

Keywords: , Clinical coding, Adolescent development, Adolescents, Autism, Child development disorders, Children, Communication disorders, Developmental disabilities, Diagnosis, Psychosexual development, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Screening, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Delta Dental of Michigan. 2019. Rethink your drink, choose water. Okemos, MI: Delta Dental Foundation, 2 items.

Annotation: This infographic provides information about sugar-sweetened beverages (SSBs) and tips on healthy alternatives. Topics include the potential impact of SSB consumption on oral health; the amount of sugar in different beverages; and recommended daily limits on sugar for infants, children, adolescents, and adults. Information about reading nutrition labels, limiting juice, and choosing water is provided.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Fluid intake, Health behavior, Infants, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Sugar, Water

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 10: Number of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, with a preventive medical visit in the past year. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 10: Number of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, with a preventive medical visit in the past year Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) improve access and uptake of preventive services;; (2) improve quality of preventive services; (3) improve statesystems-level policies and practices; and (4) positive youth development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Health supervision, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) youth and family education and leadership development; (2) health care professional workforce development; (3) care coordination; (4) communications and social media; and (5) measurement and assessment. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Model programs, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, State programs, Title V programs, Transition to adult services, Young adults

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2018. Bright Futures: An essential resource for advancing the Title V national performance measures. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 10 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Garcia S, Yarborough C, Pelaez D, Strobino D, Minkovitz C. 2018. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 10 adolescent well visit evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 37 pp. (brief 4 pp.).

Annotation: This evidence review looks at interventions designed to increase the percentage of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who received a preventive medical visit in the past year. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Health supervision, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Well child care

Jensen F. 2017. The power of the adolescent brain. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1 video (30 min.) (Think, Act, Grow (TAG) Talks)

Annotation: This video shares what researchers have learned about adolescent brain development, functioning, and capacity. It explains the strengths and potential of the adolescent brain; addresses learning, risk behavior, addiction, and mental health issues; and provides practical suggestions for families with adolescents. The video is available as a full-length (30 minute) program, as well as in short, individual segments, and is accompanied by citations, additional resources, a guide to technical terms, and discussion guides for professionals and family members.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Child development, Families, Health promotion, Mental health, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Risk taking

Lai YH, Garcia S, Strobino D, Minkovitz C. 2017. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 13b: Oral health in childhood. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percentage of infants and children ages 1–17 who had a preventive dental visit in the last year. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Review

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Dental care, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Oral health, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Mental Health America. 2016. Bullying: LGBT youth. Alexandria, VA: Mental Health America, 2

Annotation: This electronic resource provides information on bullying actions that target gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender youth and the affect on their mental health and education. Advice and resources are provided for mental health, school counseling, human rights, advocacy, and for families and friends of lesbians and gays.

Contact: Mental Health America, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor , Alexandria, VA 22311, Telephone: (703) 684-7722 Secondary Telephone: (800) 969-6MHA Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net Available from the website.

Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, High schools, Homosexuality, Mental health, Middle schools, Resources for professionals, School counseling, Students, Violence prevention

2016. youth.gov. , multiple items.

Annotation: This U.S. government website is designed to help communities create, maintain, and strengthen effective youth programs. Contents include youth facts, funding information, and tools for assessing community assets, generating maps of local and federal resources, searching for evidence-based youth programs, and keeping up-to-date on the latest, youth-related news.

Link

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent health promotion, Adolescent services, Assessment, Collaboration, Financial support, Model programs, Resources for professionals