Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This advisory warns of the e-cigarette epidemic among youth. The document explains the different types of e-cigarettes and offers information for parents, teachers, health professionals, and states, communities, tribes, and territories. There are links to relevant studies and publications.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Disease prevention, Drug administration routes, Federal agencies, Nicotine, Prevention, Regulations, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behaviors, Tobacco, Young adults

Annotation: This document presents the results of a comprehensive evaluation of the physical activity levels and the indicators influencing physical activity of children and youth in the United States. Contents include the methodology, abbreviations and definitions, benefits and guidelines for routine physical activity, and a summary of indicators and grades. Topics include overall physical activity, sedentary behaviors, active transportation, organized sport participation, active play, health-related fitness, family and peers, school, community and the built environment, and government strategies and investments. Data sources and references are included.

Contact: National Physical Activity Plan Alliance, 921 Assembly Street, Suite 212, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (866) 365-5122 Fax: (803) 777-2504 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.physicalactivityplan.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Health behaviors, Health policy, Physical activity, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about programs that work and do not work to improve outcomes for adolescent parents with low incomes and their children. The fact sheet reviews 20 parenting programs that are geared toward enhancing parents' development, educating them about effective parenting methods, or both. The fact sheet introduces the issue and reports findings for programs in six outcome areas: child outcomes: health; child outcomes: behaviors and development; parent outcomes: reproductive health; parent outcomes: mental health and behaviors; parent outcomes: education, employment, and income; and parenting outcomes. Promising approaches and future research needs are also discussed.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child development Parent support programs, Child health, Education, Employment, Family income, High risk groups, Low income groups, Mental health, Parent support services, Parenting skills, Reproductive health, Research

Annotation: This book for parents provides practical advice for helping their adolescent children adjust to the changes of adolescence and make good decisions about drugs, alcohol, tobacco, premature sexual activity and other threats to their physical and emotional well-being. The book is divided into four parts: an overview of the changes common to adolescence; the environments of home, school, and the world; safeguarding against the hurdles of adolescence; and setting good health patterns for a lifetime. Topics also include safety and injury prevention, common medical conditions in adolescence, sport and physical activity, and chronic illness or disability. Highlighted information and statistics are presented in tables and boxes throughout the book, and an index is provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-533-37996-8.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent health, Adolescent morbidity, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Psychosocial development, Self esteem, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: This primer discusses the problem of substance use, including alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs, in women and girls in Minnesota, especially during pregnancy; and describes how community education can address this problem, with information about specific groups including African Americans, American Indians, Latinos, and college students. The majority of the primer lists and describes resources in a wide variety of formats tohelp understand and educate others about these problems. Formats include printed materials, videos, Internet resources, resource centers, and services. Addresses of vendors are included. The primer includes eight appendices covering topics such as selecting information, community prevention strategies, recognizing and treating alcohol abuse and addiction, and a calendar of health observances.

Contact: Minnesota Prevention Resource Center, 38460 Lincoln Trail, Box 549, North Branch, MN 55056, Telephone: (651) 674-4085 Secondary Telephone: (877) 935-4426 Fax: (651) 277-4085 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emprc.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Addiction, Adolescent females, Alcohol consumption behaviors, Bibliographies, Cigarette smoking, Communities, Depression, Directories, Domestic violence, Mental health, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents key findings from a national survey that asked adolescents and adults about a core set of questions about adolescent pregnancy and related issues. It offers information about factors that might influence adolescents' decisions about relationships, sex, contraception, and pregnancy as well as information for parents, program leaders, funders, and policymakers. The report describes the survey methodology, provides the specific wording of each survey question, and charts responses from adults and adolescents; comparable data from prior surveys are shown when available.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• Most Recent Survey

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Prevention programs, Public opinion, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This manual is intended as a reference for those who have agreed to serve as county contacts for the administration of the Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) in Oklahoma. The first packet contains forms and information for planning for the YRBS; a description of how the YRBS activities are divided between state and local agencies, and sample letters for requesting basic information for the YRBS. The second packet includes the memorandum of understanding, request forms for booklets and answer sheets, parental permission forms, and a potential methodology option for survey administration. The third packet includes forms and instructions for the survey administrator including information, instructions, confidentiality forms, and scripts. The training manual also includes reference and contact information for counties; handouts; and information about the data sought in the YRBS.

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Service, 1000 Northeast 10th Street, Room 809, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299, Telephone: (405) 271-4480 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ok.gov/health/Child_and_Family_Health/Maternal_and_Child_Health_Service Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behaviors, Children, High schools, Middle schools, Oklahoma, Risk taking, School surveys, State surveys, Surveys, Training materials

Annotation: This book focuses on clinical application of current knowledge on adolescent pregnancy emphasizing assessment, management, counseling approaches, and strategies to promote dietary change and adequate weight gain. It is written for health professionals and educators involved in the care of pregnant adolescents. Topics covered include adolescent development, nutritional needs and eating behavior, nutrition assessment, interviewing, counseling, prenatal education, and postpartum care.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM035.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Eating behaviors, Feeding disorders, Interviews, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal education

Annotation: The purpose of this monograph is to enable clinicians to assist adolescents living with HIV to adhere to the complex regimens of highly active antiretroviral therapies (HAART). It outlines a series of strategies and techniques with which clinicians can tailor antiretroviral regimens to adolescents' individual requirements, address the obstacles to adherence in their lives, provide them with opportunities to practice medicine-taking behaviors, and give them continuing support when they finally initiate HAART. Chapter topics include: creating the context for adherence; the five stages of behavioral change -- precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action and maintenance, and relapse; and recommendations for assisting with adherence to HAART. A list of references as well as a selected bibliography are included. The appendices provide a summary of the principles of HAART; medical treatment with HAART; sample HAART regimens; and contacts for the Adolescent Medicine HIV/AIDS Research Network. The monograph was written for the Adolescent Medicine HIV/AIDS Research Network.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent health programs, Adolescents, HIV, Patient care management, Therapeutics