Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Jablonski S, ed. 2005. Dictionary of medical acronyms and abbreviations. (5th ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Hanley and Belfus, 523 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary lists the most frequently used acronyms and abbreviations in medicine and the health care professions.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (215) 546-7293 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-264-5.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Medicine

Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute. 2002. Glossary of terms and acronyms. Birmingham, AL: Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute, 65 pp.

Annotation: This resource covers terminology related to maternal and child health in these categories: administration, finance, planning; agencies, organizations; health conditions, fields, providers, treatment; evaluation, measurement, research; legislation, regulations, publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Training Institute, University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Public Health, Department of Maternal and Child Health, Ryals Public Health Building, 1665 University Boulevard, Birmingham, AL 35294, Telephone: (205) 934-6426 Fax: (206) 934-8248 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.soph.uab.edu/mch-leadership/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Acronyms, Child health, Maternal health

2001. MediLexicon. East Sussex, United Kingdom: MediLexicon International,

Jackson D. 1998. The acronymonary. Santa Clara, CA: Parents Helping Parents, Inc., 62 pp.

Annotation: This list of acronyms is designed to assist parents, educators, and health care professionals understand the terminology related to care of special needs children. The list is organized in two ways, alphabetical order by acronym or word and by subject. Subject categories are: developmental delay; education; health; legislative; mental health; neonatal; and transition. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Parents Helping Parents, Sobrato Center For Nonprofits-San Jose, 1400 Parkmoor Avenue Suite 100, San Jose, CA 95126, Telephone: (408) 727-5775 Fax: (408) 727-0182 Web Site: http://www.php.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Acronyms, Child development disorders, Children with special health care needs, Education, Government agencies, Health, Legislation, Mental health, Neonatology, Transitions

Campbell JB, Campbell JM, Sennett CO, ed. 1995. Mosby's survival guide to medical abbreviations and acronyms, prefixes and suffixes, symbols, Greek alphabet. St. Louis, MO: Mosby , 590 pp.

Annotation: This dictionary provides definitions for medical abbreviations and symbols and the full version of acronyms. They are listed alphabetically in three sections: abbreviations and acronyms, prefixes and suffixes, and symbols. It ends with a section on the Greek alphabet and an appendix with an addendum including abbreviations and acronyms discovered after the book went to press, many related to managed health care. A section on amino acid notation and a list of Roman numerals are included.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Medical terminology

Health Resources and Services Administration. 1992. Health Resources and Services Administration goals and objectives for the year 2000: Helping to build a healthier nation. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, 22 pp.

Annotation: This plan provides the focus and strategy for the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) leadership in working toward HRSA's goals and objectives between 1992 and the year 2000. The sections address access to primary care and preventive health services, primary care health professions, public health practice, mothers and children, minority health, HIV and AIDS, special populations, international health, clinical quality assurance, equal employment opportunity, total quality management, information resources management, and communications. A list of related acronyms is provided.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: AIDS, Acronyms, Children, Communication, Equal opportunities, Goals, HIV, Health Resources and Services Administration, Information services, International health, Minority health, Mothers, Planning, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public health services, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Total Quality Management

U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Subcommittee on Health and the Environment. 1976. A discursive dictionary of health care. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 182 pp. (Committee print; 94th Congress, 2nd session)

Annotation: This dictionary gives unofficial definitions of the most common terms used in the debate on national health insurance. Entries highlight variations in definitions used by various sources, and compares and contrasts usage of related terms. It is illustrated by occasional line drawings and includes a list of abbreviations and acronyms and a brief biography of Andreas Vesalius of Brussels from whose anatomical drawings of 1543 the line drawings are taken.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Health care, Health insurance
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.