Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Annotation: This document delineates the standards that dental education programs leading to the D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree must meet to achieve and maintain accreditation. Contents include minimum acceptable requirements for programs and guidance on alternative and preferred methods of meeting standards. The document also provides program-development guidance for institutions that wish to establish new programs or improve existing ones.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accreditation, Dental education, Dental schools, Dentists, Oral health, Program development, Standards

Annotation: This evaluation is the first to examine the impacts of the national public health accreditation program on quality improvement, management processes, and accountability. Contents include what is already known about this topic, what is added by the report, and what are the implications for public health practice.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Accreditation, Employee performance appraisal, Management, Measures, National initiatives, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This document describes how health impact assessment (HIA) can be used as a tool for local health departments to promote community health improvement while contributing to documentation that demonstrates conformity to the Public Health Accreditation Board's (PHAB) Standards and Measures. Contents include background on HIA and accreditation and a crosswalk between PHAB standards and measures and HIA projects by domain. Examples of health data summaries, committee minutes, dated distribution lists, attendance logs, brochures, flyers, website screen prints, news releases, posters, and policies that can be used during the accreditation process are included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Log In

Keywords: Accreditation, Assessment, City health agencies, County health agencies, Data collection, Health promotion, Measures, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Public health programs, Standards

Annotation: This booklet states the requirements for accreditation of a Master's degree program in library and information studies by the American Library Association.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433, ext. 7 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accreditation, Libraries, Standards

Annotation: This fact sheet for accreditation coordinators and local health department (LHD) practitioners outlines steps to advance public health ethics at LHDs. Topics include why it's important to understand and promote public health ethics, considerations for establishing an ethics committee, and Public Health Accreditation Board ethics requirements.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Accreditation, City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Annotation: This report provides guidance to schools and programs of public health on meeting governmental public health agency work force training needs for improving employee's job performance in support of the population's health. Contents include key considerations, design elements, and content considerations related to providing training and support for the governmental health agency work force including those without formal training in public health or a related field.

Contact: Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 1900 M Street, NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-1099 Fax: (202) 296-1252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aspph.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Accreditation, Employee performance appraisal, Professional education, Public health, Public health agencies, Training, Work force

Annotation: This guide presents the process for seeking and obtaining initial public health accreditation through the Public Health Accreditation Board. Topics include preparation, registration and application, documentation selection and submission, site visit, evaluation, and suspensions. Additional contents include background and information about the benefits of public health accreditation, standards and measures, eligibility for accreditation, accreditation decisions, appeals and complaints, annual reports, reaccreditation, and technical assistance.

Contact: Public Health Accreditation Board, 1600 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 778-4549 Fax: (703) 778-4556 Web Site: http://www.phaboard.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accreditation, City health agencies, County health agencies, Public health agencies, State health agencies

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist state and territorial health agencies in developing an agency-wide workforce development (WFD) plan and to facilitate preparation for accreditation through the Public Health Accreditation Board. Topics include key steps in the WFD plan process, competencies, needs assessment, communication and tracking implementation, evaluation and monitoring, WFD plan elements, and sample WFD plans and template. Related tools and resources are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name And Email Address

Keywords: Accreditation, Planning, Public health agencies, Staff development, Work force

Annotation: This report explains how hospitals and maternity facilities can implement the core measure on exclusive breast milk feeding which is one of the Perinatal Care core measures that replaced The Joint Commission's Pregnancy and Related Conditions core measures set beginning in April 2010. The report provides guidelines to help health professionals achieve compliance with the new measure by collecting data that supports exclusive breast milk feeding, defined by The Joint Commission as "a newborn receiving only breast milk and no other liquids or solids except for drops or syrups." It explains how compliance may require facilities to modify their paper charts and/or electronic medical records and includes examples from exemplary hospitals that already collect data on exclusive breast milk feeding.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Guidelines, Hospital accreditation, Measures, Standards

Annotation: This document presents a model of six functions for which a public health governing entity is responsible. Topics include policy development, resource stewardship, legal authority, partner engagement, continuous improvement, and oversight.

Contact: National Association of Local Boards of Health, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 560-5644 Fax: (920) 882-3655 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nalboh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accreditation, Governing boards, Government programs, Government role, Health policy, Legal responsibility, Local government, Policy development, Program improvement, Public health, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This guide is designed to help states and communities explore key issues and decision points during the planning and implementation of a quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) for child care and early childhood education programs. Topics include the initial design process, approaches to implementation, standards and criteria, quality assurance and monitoring, providing incentives and support, data collection and evaluation, cost projections and financing, and consumer education. A tool containing national early childhood program standards is also available for searching, comparing, developing, and aligning program standards for QRIS.

Contact: National Center on Child Care Quality Improvement, 9300 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22031-6050, Telephone: (877) 296-2250 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.qrisnetwork.org/category/author/national-center-child-care-quality-improvement Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Accreditation, Child care, Community programs, Early childhood education, Licensing, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards, State programs, Systems development

Annotation: This report summarizes key findings and recommendations from the evaluation of a beta test to pilot the main processes of public health department accreditation and the draft standards and measures from the perspective of the health department applicant (beta site), site visitor, and Public Health Accreditation Board staff. Major revisions to the accreditation process and standards and measures are described at the end of the summary.

Contact: NORC at the University of Chicago, 4350 East West Highway, Eighth Floor, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 634-9300 Fax: (301) 634-9301 Web Site: http://www.norc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accreditation, Management, Measures, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Pilot projects, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This manual provides an overview of the current state of language barriers to health care and of the array of federal and state legal provisions affecting the delivery of linguistically appropriate services to non-English speaking patients. The manual is divided into five sections which examine the following subject areas: the need for linguistically appropriate health care services, language access responsibilities under Federal laws, state law requirements, managed care and private accreditation organizations, and recommendations and conclusions. Ten appendices include a bibliography, minutes of a technical advisory group meeting, a structured interview guide, information and guidance from the Office of Civil Rights, a summary of state laws on linguistic and cultural needs, a section of California government code, and Medicaid managed care contract provisions.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Accreditation, California, Civil rights, Cultural factors, Federal legislation, Language barriers, Legal responsibility, Limited English speakers, Managed care, Manuals, Medicaid, State legislation

Annotation: This book includes papers presented by runaway center workers and administrators at a conference organized by the National Youth Work Alliance and the National Institute of Mental Health. The conference suggested that runaway centers which serve adolescents fill the role of community mental health centers. The papers provide an overview of runaways and runaway centers and discuss innovative mental health services, peer counseling, long-term care, prevention, training, relationships to mental health facilities, and accreditation and licensure.

Keywords: Accreditation, Adolescents, Community mental health centers, Licensing, Mental health, Peer counseling, Prevention, Runaways, Shelters, Training