Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (98 total).

Langley M. n.d.. Continuum's Minority Connection Project [Final report]. Atlanta, GA: CONTINUUM Alliance for Healthy Mothers and Children, 32 pp.

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce postneonatal mortality rates associated with inadequate parenting skills and poor utilization of prenatal and child health care services. Activities included establishment of a resource mothers program in which church women were trained to assist pregnant women in negotiating the health care and social services systems, and implementation of a teen peer counselor program. The project also established self-sustaining local coalitions to monitor and address problems that contribute to poor pregnancy outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196889.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Adolescents, Blacks, Clergy, Community-Based Health Services, High risk groups, High risk pregnancy, Infant Mortality, Low income groups, Postneonatal Mortality, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Religious organizations, Rural Populations

Poland M. n.d.. Increasing Access to Prenatal Care Through Problem Identification and Program Evaluation [Final report]. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University, 20 pp.

Annotation: This project addressed high infant mortality rates in Detroit and Wayne County as the general area of concern. The problems of high infant mortality rates and access to prenatal care were addressed over 3 years through a program of technical assistance to the Detroit/Wayne County Infant Health Promotion Coalition. The coalition, comprised of 36 public and private agencies, was established to address the high infant mortality rate through identification of contributing factors and development of programs to reduce these factors. Process objectives included: (1) identifing barriers to prenatal care through a review of relevant literature; (2) focus group discussions with health professionals and clients; (3) development of surveys of prenatal patients and new mothers with review of their medical charts; and (4) provide technical assistance in evaluating ongoing and proposed outreach efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196863.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care

Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center . 2023. Group prenatal care . Nashville, TN: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center ,

Annotation: This electronic resource (1) explains why group prenatal care is an effective state strategy to impact access to needed maternal and child health care; (2) explains how and why group prenatal care varies widely across states; and (3) describes how state leaders can promote financial support for group prenatal care, provide enhanced reimbursement rates for group prenatal care through Medicaid, and serve pregnant women in a large number of group prenatal care sites across the state.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

Link

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Peer groups, Policy development, Prenatal care, State initiatives

National Confereence of State Legislators . 2021. State approaches to ensuring healthy pregnancies through prenatal care . Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislators,

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of factors influencing prenatal care access and utilization, recommended models of care, and state-level solutions and policy options. Maternal depression, disparities in prenatal care, and federal policy are among the topics addressed. A description of federal resources is also provided.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prenatal care, Public policy , State initiatives

Laurore J, Baziyants G, Daily S. 2020. Health care access for infants and toddlers in rural areas . Bethesda, MD: Child Trends , 39 pp.

Annotation: This brief uses data from the State of Babies Yearbook: 2020 to examine state-level differences in how infants and toddlers living in rural areas are faring. It includes key findings on health care utilization among pregnant women and select infant/toddler outcome measures such as infant mortality, preterm birth, breastfeeding, vaccine uptake, and preventive checkups) Several recommendations for policy makers to help ensure equitable health care access for infants and toddlers living in rural areas are also provided.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Birthing centers, Data, Health insurance, Home births, Infant health, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Prenatal care, Rural health, Toddlers

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2016. Opportunities to optimize access to prenatal care through health transformation. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the importance of timely, quality, affordable, and adequate health care coverage during pregnancy and the role of Title V in improving coverage and access to care for pregnant women. Topics include covered preventive health services for pregnant women or women who may become pregnant under the Affordable Care Act; coverage options available for pregnant women through public, private, and safety net programs; issues and gaps in coverage; policy options and state strategies; and considerations for states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Role, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Maternal and Child Health Access. 2014. Educate and advocate: Oral health during pregnancy for low-income women in California. Los Angeles, CA: Maternal and Child Health Access, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the Oral Health Advocacy for Pregnant Women and Children project, a collaboration between Maternal and Child Health Access (MCHA) and the Community Clinics Association of Los Angeles County (CCALAC). Topics include the importance of and need for oral health care during pregnancy, changing dental coverage for women with pregnancy-only Medi-Cal, issues pregnant women face related to obtaining oral health care, issues health professionals face related to providing oral health care to pregnant women, the MCHA and CCALAC partnership, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Access, 1111 West Sixth Street, Fourth Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017-1800, Telephone: (212) 749-4261 Fax: (213) 745-1040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchaccess.org/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, California, Dental care, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health education, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration, Technical assistance, Young children

Guttmacher Institute. 2012. Minors' access to prenatal care. New York, NY: Guttmacher Institute, 3 pp. (State policies in brief)

Annotation: This brief summarizes policies on minors' access to prenatal care in states across the country. It describes how these policies have changed over the past 30 years and highlights the differences in state laws regarding a minor's ability to access prenatal care. A chart indicates which states have explicit policies; whether or not parental consent is required for treatment; and whether or not physicians are allowed to inform parents when providing prenatal care to minors.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Confidentiality, Parental consent, Policy, Prenatal care, State legislation

Williams K. 2012. Health Foundation for Western and Central New York's maternal and child health initiative. Washington, DC: Grantmakers in Health, 2 pp. (Views from the field)

Annotation: This document provides information about the Maternal and Child Health Initiative, which focuses on improving maternal and child health outcomes in western and central New York. The report discusses the initiative's five stages of evolution over the past 3 years, and environmental scan of service providers, a zip code analysis, promising models, community conversations, and next steps.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Communities, Depression, Economic factors, Families, Health services, High risk groups, Infant health, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Low income groups, Mental health, New York, Parents, Poverty, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Research, Service delivery, State initiatives, Stress, Women', s health

Johnson KA et al. on behalf of the PCHHC Steering Committee. 2012. An action plan for the National Initiative on Preconception Health and Health Care (PCHHC): A report of the PCHHC Steering Committee, 2012-2014. [Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention] Preconception Health and Health Care Steering Committee, 36 pp.

Annotation: This action plan to improve preconception health and the quality of preconception health care aims to advance the knowledge of women and their partners, increase the availability of evidence-based services, and improve the health of communities and of the nation as a whole. The plan outlines goals, objectives, strategies, and action steps that can help (1) move science into clinical practice; (2) market messages and images that will raise consumer awareness of preconception care; (3) inform policy development, implementation, and innovation; (4) guide public health and prevention programs in efforts to improve the health of women, infants, and families; and (5) monitor the progress and impact of preconception and interconception care at the local, state, tribal, territorial, and national levels. The report also sets forth a vision, goals, and strategies for achieving change in maternal and child health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Communities, Families, Health services, Infant health, MCH services, Marketing, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Programs, Public awareness materials, Public health, Public policy, Strategic planning, Women', s health

Losch ME, Hoekstra AB. 2011. Iowa's barriers to prenatal care project: 2010 data summary. [Des Moines, IA]: Iowa Department of Public Health, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report describes data collected statewide to learn about Iowa women's experiences getting prenatal or delivery care during their pregnancy. Data is collected from mothers by those staff or nurses responsible for obtaining birth certificate information from a questionnaire completed prior to dismissal from the hospital obstetrical unit . Contents include analyses of large Iowa cities, hospital sizes, new HIV/AIDS testing variables, and bed-sharing; and a trend analysis of the last six years.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Iowa, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, State surveys, Statistical data

Levi J, Kohn D, Johnson K. 2011. Healthy women, healthy babies: How health reform can improve the health of women and babies in America. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 6 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief provides information about the 2010 Affordable Care Act and its potential to improve the health of mothers and infants. The brief discusses trends in maternal and infant health; the promise of preconception care; and the potential of health care reform in the areas of prevention, public health, access to care.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care reform, Infant health, Legislation, Mothers, Prenatal care, Prevention, Public health, Reproductive health, Trends, Women', s health

Oh J, Leonard L, Fuller D, Miller K. 2011. Less than optimal oral health care during pregnancy in Rhode Island women: Oral health care as a part of prenatal care. Medicine and Health 94(5):141-143, (Health by numbers)

Annotation: This report provides an assessment of oral health care access and use among pregnant women in Rhode Island. Contents include the most recent estimates of women who received oral health care during their pregnancy, the prevalence of oral health care education provision for women in their prenatal care period, and how to ensure that all women obtain appropriate oral health care and education during their prenatal period.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Health care utilization, Health education, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevalence, Rhode Island, State surveys, Statistical data

Childbirth Connection. 2010. Transforming maternity care: Direction-setting vision and blueprint reports. New York, NY: Childbirth Connection,

Annotation: This electronic resource describes the Transforming Maternity Care project and provides a set of documents produced by the project, including a vision for maternity care, a blueprint for action, stakeholder workgroup reports, and a blueprint implementation document. The vision document describes the process of formulating the initiative's vision statement. The blueprint document discusses the process for coming up with the blueprint and its 11 focal areas. The workgroup document discusses the role of stakeholder workgroups in the initiative, developing the reports, and report topics. The blueprint implementation document presents opportunities to implement the initiative's vision.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to prenatal care. , Childbirth, Initiatives, Maternal health services, Mothers, Postnatal care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Perinatal care, Programs, Quality assurance, Women

White House Task Force on Childhood Obesity. 2010. Solving the problem of childhood obesity within a generation: Report to the president. [Washington, DC]: White House Task Force on Childhood Obesity, 120 pp.

Annotation: This report provides 70 specific recommendations for reducing childhood obesity. The recommendations fall into the following categories: (1) giving children a healthy start in life, (2) empowering parents and caregivers, (3) providing healthy food in schools, (4) improving access to healthy, affordable food, (5) helping children become more physically active.

Contact: Let's Move, Web Site: http://www.letsmove.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Child health, Communities, Costs, Early childhood education, Hunger, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prenatal care, Programs, Schools, Young children

Guttmacher Institute. 2010. An overview of minors' consent laws. New York, NY: Guttmacher Institute, 2 pp. (State policies in brief)

Annotation: This document consists primary of a table that contains seven categories of state law that affect minors' right to receive medical care without parental consent. Highlights of the table are also presented in the following areas: contraceptive services, sexually transmitted infection services, prenatal care, adoption, medical care for a child, and abortion.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adoption, Child health, Contraceptive use, Health services, Informed consent, Parental consent, Prenatal care, Sexually transmitted diseases, State legislation

Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium. 2010. The birth of change: Healthy mothers. Healthy infants. [Dover, DE]: Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium, 37 pp. (Annual progress report)

Annotation: This annual progress report of the Delaware Healthy Mother & Infant Consortium provides information about the organization's efforts to reduce infant mortality in Delaware and improve the health of infants and of women of childbearing age. The report provides infant mortality background and discusses what the consortium has accomplished, its plans for the future, the family practice team model, preconception care, access to care, the statewide education campaign, cultural competence, fetal and infant mortality review, the pregnancy risk assessment monitoring system, the registry for improved birth outcomes, and information on the Center for Family Health Research and Epidemiology.

Contact: Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium, Dover, DE Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/chca/imdhmichome.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural competence, Delaware, Education, Families, Infant health, Infant mortality, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, State initiatives, Women', s health

Dave DM, Decker S, Kaestner R, Simon KT. 2008. Re-examining the effects of Medicaid expansions for pregnant women. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 41 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 14591)

Annotation: This paper analyzes the effect of Medicaid eligibility expansions on the health insurance coverage of women giving birth and on the use of prenatal care and infant health, controlling for year and state effects and state-specific trends that may be correlated with expansions in Medicaid eligibility. The effects of Medicaid coverage to mothers is also discussed with respect to infant health.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Infant health, Medicaid, Access to health care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Women', s health

Contra Costa Health Services, Family, Maternal and Child Health Programs, Life Course Initiative. 2008. A 12-point plan to close the black-white gap in birth outcomes. [Martinez, CA]: Contra Costa Health Services, Family, Maternal and Child Health Programs, Life Course Initiative, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about a plan that aims to improve health care services for at-risk populations, strengthen families and communities, and address social and economic inequities over the life course. The fact sheet discusses how the plan addresses these three topics.

Contact: Contra Costa Health Services, 50 Douglas Drive, Martinez, CA 94553, Telephone: (925) 957-5403 Fax: (925) 957-5409 Web Site: http://www.cchealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Communities, Education, Ethnic factors, Families, Fathers, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Service coordination, Working mothers

Southern Illinois Heathcare Foundation. 2006. Healthy Start Interconceptional Care for High-Risk Women and Infants: Impact report. East St. Louis, IL: Southern Illinois Healthcare Foundation, 35 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project in East St. Louis, Illinois from June 2001 - May 2005 to concentrate on reducing infant mortality, improving perinatal indicators associated with infant mortality, increasing access to care, and closing the gap in health disparities among African Americans in the project service area. Report sections provide descriptions of the project's racial and ethnic disparity, project implementation, management and governance, accomplishments, the impact of the project, and a local evaluation report. Appendices include project forms for reporting budget and services details and statistics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Final reports, Healthy Start, Illinois, Infant mortality, MCH research, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Prevention programs