Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (633 total).

Louisiana Oral Health Coalition. n.d.. Louisiana oral health state action plan 2018-2023. [no place]: Louisiana Oral Health Coalition, 12 pp.

Annotation: This action plan focuses on the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition’s goals related to improving the oral health of all Louisianans. It provides direction for achieving priorities set forth by stakeholders representing individual oral health champions and multiple organizations across the state. The plan describes three oral-health-promotion interventions across the state: Well Ahead Louisiana (a chronic-disease-prevention and health-care-access initiative of the Louisiana Department of Health), school dental sealant programs, and community water fluoridation. Information about the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition is provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health promotion, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State planning

Le C, Gabra M. n.d.. LGBTQ+ oral health: Disparities and opportunities for change. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on barriers that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, intersex, asexual, and more (LGBTQ+) people face in accessing oral health care. Topics include discrimination and mistreatment, prevalence of this population who have chronic health conditions and other risk factors, and lack of coverage of LGBTQ+-specific topics in oral health professional training programs. The fact sheet also discusses what oral health advocates can do to improve access to oral health care for the population and lists talking points and sample tweets.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Discrimination, Homosexuality, Oral health, Sexuality

Illinois Department of Public Health. n.d.. Maternal oral health practices: PRAM 2017-2019. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Tennessee Department of Health. n.d.. Tennessee state oral health plan: 2022-2027 plan. Nashville, TN: Tennessee Department of Health, 48 pp.

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

n.d.. Healthy Hawai'i 2020: A community health plan. No place: No publisher, 2 pp.

Annotation: This community health plan provides information about how to improve Hawai'ians' oral health. It discusses goals for improving oral health indicators such as the proportion of adults who had a dental visit in the past year, the proportion of pregnant women who have their teeth cleaned during pregnancy, ands the proportion of third graders with untreated tooth decay. The plan also presents strategies for achieving these goals, for example, developing and implementing an oral-health-surveillance plan to improve data collection, analysis, and use; developing effective, evidence-based community- and school-based oral-disease-prevention programs for all age groups; and continuing to support and expand the provision of affordable and accessible preventive oral care for Hawai'ians' with low incomes.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Community health, Hawaii, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, State information, State programs

Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program. n.d.. Montana oral health strategic framework: 2018–2023. Helena, MT: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 19 pp.

Annotation: This strategic framework for Montana presents the vision statement and core values and beliefs of the Montana Oral Health Network. Also discussed are strategic directions for the network; goals and objectives; prioritizing and sequencing implementation of strategies; monitoring progress and setbacks; and evaluation. Goals include achieving a cohesive and active oral health network of stakeholders, ensuring that oral health professionals and other health professionals understand and employ innovative and integrated care approaches, ensuring that Montanans understand the importance of oral health and use their knowledge to improve their oral health; and improving the provision of oral health care to those who are underserved.

Contact: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 111 North Sanders Street, Helena, MT 59620, Telephone: (406) 444-5622 Web Site: https://dphhs.mt.gov/ecfsd/oralhealth/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health education, Health education, Low income groups, Montana, Oral health, Prevention, Program evaluation, Service integration, State information

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition. n.d.. Wisconsin's roadmap to improving oral health 2020–2025. West Allis, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition, 13 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this oral health roadmap for Wisconsin is to reduce the prevalence of oral disease and disparities in oral health status among state residents. It is intended to be used as a guide for promoting access to high-quality oral health care. The plan discusses four strategic areas: infrastructure, prevention and health promotion, access to oral health care, and workforce.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to oral health care, Health promotion, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State information, Wisconsin, Work force

Community Catalyst, Carequest Institute for Oral Health, and Families USA. [2025]. Federal Medicaid cuts threaten state dental benefits: Lessons from 6 states. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief offers lessons from six states on how federal Medicaid cuts result in reductions in access to oral health care for people with low incomes. Examples are provided about how cuts have restricted access to care, shifted costs from one part of the health care system to others (e.g, hospital emergency departments), and led oral health professionals to leave the Medicaid network. Information is presented on how cuts have affected California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Oregon, and Pennsylvania.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Costs, Low income groups, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Missouri, Oral health, Oregon, Pennsylvania, State information

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2025. Best practice approach: Perinatal oral health (upd. ed.). Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors; Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 20 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report provides a description of perinatal oral health, including its significance and background, barriers to accessing oral health care for this population, and a strategic framework for improving perinatal oral health. It also includes guidelines and recommendations, research evidence, and state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Infant health, Initiatives, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women

National Rural Health Association. 2025. Compendium of rural oral health best practices. Kansas City, MO: National Rural Health Association, 39 pp.

Annotation: This compendium presents programs designed to improve access to oral health care in rural communities and shares best practices on providing oral health care in these communities. Selected topic areas include integrating oral health into rural prenatal health to improve neontal and maternal outcomes, integrating oral health care to improve health, school-based oral health, and teledentistry. Each topic area highlights specific programs and provides information on the program purpose, a program summary, and information on the program’s efficacy and impact.

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealth.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Health care utilizatoin, Oral health, Programs, Rural population, Teledentistry, Training

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, Dental Public Health Policy Committee. 2025. Policy statement: Perinatal oral health (rev. ed.). Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors; Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Policy Center, 7 pp.

Annotation: This updated report offers information about oral health for women during the perinatal period and discusses problems related to women's oral health and their ability to access oral health care during this period. A strategic framework for improving perinatal oral health, based on core public health activities, is presented, and a policy statement is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Infant health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention, Public policy , Treatment

New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute. 2025. Looking at NJ Medicaid oral health quality performance for children through a secret shopper market survey of the MCO network directories for children ages 0 to 6. Princeton, NJ: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2025. From barriers to bridges: Redesigning New York's oral health workforce for equity and access. Albany, NY: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 51 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the Future Oral Health Workforce project, which launched in 2024 with the goal of improving oral health equity and access to oral health care in the state. The project synthesized insights from statewide studies, expert consultations, and community convenings to develop recommendations for building a more equitable and effective oral health care system in New York. This report highlights challenges related to oral health care in the state and offers strategies for improving access to care and addressing the state’s persistent workforce shortages.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Initiatives, New York, Oral health, Oral health equity, State information, State programs, Work force

Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2025. Bridging the gap: Expanding the role of dental hygienists. Albany, NY: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on expanding the role of dental hygienists in New York to improve access to oral health care in the state. Topics include the role of dental hygienists in providing oral health care, expanding the types of care that dental hygienists can provide, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental hygienists, New York, Oral health, Policy development, State information

Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy. 2025. Expanding access to oral health care. Albany, NY: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on expanding access to oral health care in New York. It discusses challenges to accessing oral health care among young children, uninsured children, children living in poverty, non-Hispanic black children, children from non-English-speaking households, and children with special health care needs. It addresses structural inequities that create barriers to achieving good oral health and pregnant women’s difficulties with accessing oral health care, in spite of the fact that they are at high risk for oral health problems. Policy recommendations are included.

Contact: Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy, 150 State Street, Fourth Floor, Albany, NY 12207, Telephone: (518) 463-1896 Fax: (518) 463-3364 Web Site: http://www.scaany.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Children with special health care needs, High risk groups, New York, Oral health, Poverty, Pregnant women, Racial factors, State information, Uninsured persons, Young children

Oral Health Workforce Research Center. 2025. Dental hygiene: Why does scope of practice matter?. Renssalear, NY: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the importance of dental hygiene scope of practice (SOP). It explains what professional and legal dental hygiene SOP are and describes the benefits of a broad state dental hygiene SOP, including (1) dental hygienists being able to practice to the full extent of their training and (2) the enhancement of oral health care, especially in underserved areas.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, College of Integrated Health Sciences, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to care, Dental hygienists, Low income groups, Oral health, State legislation, Underserved communities

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2025. Advancing oral health access across the lifespan: Proceedings of a workshop--In brief. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 13 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings present information from a workshop convened to explore innovative practices and models for advancing oral health across the lifespan. Topics include a global perspective on improving oral health, an overview of U.S. federal oral health policies and programs, an overview of U.S. state-level oral health policies, supporting all people to improve their oral health, increasing access to oral health care, the role of public and private payers in improving access to and affordability of oral health care, oral health care for varying populations, dentistry in 2035, enhancing oral health research and innovation, and the potential for systems transformation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dentistry, Health systems, Oral health, Policy, Research, World health

Honsberger K, Kotz J, Fernancez B, Dembo R. 2025. Oral health and dental care for children with special health care needs: Summary of an expert panel convening. Chicago, IL: NORC at the University of Chicago, 9 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This report summarizes discussions and takeaways from an expert panel conducted by NOHC of the University of Chicago to discuss challenges related to, opportunities for, and promising approaches to providing equitable oral health care for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Topics include accessibility and accommodations, health professional training and education, dental insurance coverage policies, supporting families with oral health care guidance at home, innovative models and approaches, and future research needs.

Contact: NORC at the University of Chicago, 1155 East 60th Street, 2nd Floor, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 256-6000 Web Site: http://www.norc.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Family support, Health education, Health insurance, Health services accessibility, Oral health, Research, Special health care needs, Training

Culler C. 2025. School dental services and medical billing in Pennsylvania. Wynnewood, PA: Pennsylvania Coalition for Oral Health, 52 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from the Expanding School Dental Services and Medicaid Billing in Pennsylvania project. The project aims to assess the scope of oral health care provided in public schools in the state, identify barriers to implementation and sustainability, support schools in serving as access points for preventive oral health care, and advocate for policy changes that would allow Medicaid reimbursement for oral health care delivered in schools.

Contact: Pennsylvania Coalition for Oral Health, P.O. Box 50, Wynnewood, PA 19096, Telephone: (610) 247-3360 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.PAOralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Medicaid, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Prevention, Public policy, Reimbursement, School health programs, State information

Healthy Teeth, Healthy Children. 2025. School professionals oral health toolkit. King of Prussia, PA: Healthy Teeth, Healthy Children, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This toolkit for school oral health professionals offers resources to help improve children’s oral health. It includes materials about incorporating oral health into daily activities with students, resources to display, and content for newsletters or e-mails sent home to parents and other caregivers. Also included is information about finding oral health care for students, how to incorporate oral health in school activities, and where to source free toothbrushes and toothpaste. A selection of oral-health-related books for children is included.

Contact: Healthy Teeth, Healthy Children, 661 Moore Road, Suite 200, King of Prussia, PA 19406, Telephone: (484) 446-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://healthyteethhealthychildren.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Resources, School health, School health services