Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (703 total).

Forsyth-Stokes Mental Health Center. n.d.. Substance abuse screening tool. [No place]: Forsyth-Stokes Mental Health Center, 1 p.

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Alcohol: Your child and drugs. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 1 p. (Teen health brochures)

Annotation: This brochure explains the developmental damage that can occur to adolescents from alcohol and emphasizes parent-child communication as one of the best ways of preventing this problem.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $15.00 for 100 copies, members; $20.00, nonmembers. Minimum order: 100 copies.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Communication

Teitelbaum M, Goplerud E, eds. n.d.. Pregnant and postpartum women and their infants. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights innovative efforts that are underway to address the treatment and prevention needs of substance using pregnant women, mothers, and their drug affected infants. It also presents a summary of the 1989 annual conference of the National Association for Perinatal Addiction Research and Education and lists information resources including organizations and publications.

Contact: U.S. Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, 1 Choke Cherry Road , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (800) 694-4747 ext. 4820 Fax: (240) 747-5453 Available from the website.

Keywords: Drug affected infants, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Treatment

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics. n.d.. Model program and curriculum in alcohol and other drug abuse for pediatric medical students, residents, and faculty: Instructor's guide. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine,, 193 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this Instructor's Manual is to assist individuals interested in conducting alcohol and other drug teaching sessions with pediatric medical students, residents, and/or faculty. The content are based on the work with medical students, residents, and faculty within The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The Instructor's Manual contains six major sections: (1) Introduction; (2) The John Hopkins Pediatric Substance Abuse Curriculum (PSAC); (3) Developing the Program at Your Institution; (4) Teaching Strategies; (5) Substance Abuse Education Modules; and (6) Substance Abuse Educational Resources. Also provided are educational resources that can provide materials or resources to assist in conducing alcohol and other drug teaching sessions.

Keywords: Curricula, Manuals, Substance abuse

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. n.d.. Quit to win. Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 1 poster (11 x 17 inches).

Human Relations Media. n.d.. Teenage crises: The fateful choices. Pleasantville, NY: Human Relations Media, 1 videotape (28 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape addresses many of problems encountered by adolescents including addiction, violence, pregnancy, AIDS, depression, and suicide. It discusses the importance of finding positive role models, setting goals, and defining a sense of purpose. Stories from a former gang member, an adolescent mother, a former substance abuser turned Olympic champion, and a young convict reveal how their difficulties began and trace the events that enabled them to turn their lives around.

Contact: Human Relations Media, 41 Kensico Drive, Mount Kisco, NY 10549, Telephone: (914) 666-9151 Fax: (914) 666-9506 E-mail: Letters@hrmvideo.com Web Site: http://www.hrmvideo.com/home.cfm $189.00 plus 5 percent shipping and handling.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Depression, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Suicide, Videotapes, Violence

Gay Rosenthal Productions, and Gabco Productions. n.d.. Rough love. Denver, CO: National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, 1 videotape (50 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape considers the dynamics and consequences of adolescent dating violence. It is hosted by Gabrielle Carteris in a studio setting with adolescents, families, and professionals. The videotape includes interviews and real life stories. It focuses on verbal, emotional, physical, and sexual abuse; and it discusses topics such as jealousy and disrespect, generational patterns in violent behavior, and danger signs of abuse. It also describes the elements of a healthy relationship, indicates strategies for breaking the cycle of violence, and suggests ways that adults can help.

Contact: National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, 1120 Lincoln Street, Suite 1603 , Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 839-1852 Fax: (303) 831-9251 E-mail: mainoffice@ncadv.org Web Site: http://www.ncadv.org $25.00 plus 10 percent shipping; prepayment required.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Emotional abuse, Interpersonal relations, Materials for adolescents, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Videotapes, Violence

Saenz T. n.d.. Family curriculum. Honolulu, HI: Baby S.A.F.E. Hawaii, and Big Island Substance Abuse Council, 16 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines a curriculum for families that includes information on self-knowledge, awareness of the effects of alcohol and other drugs, and developing more effective behavior. The materials used in classes are not included with the document. Baby S.A.F.E. is funded by the Hawaii State Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, and emphasizes prevention, early intervention, and treatment of substance-abusing women who use alcohol, tobacco, and legal or illegal drugs.

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, Baby S.A.F.E. Program, 741-A Sunset Avenue, Room 208, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9022 Fax: (808) 733-9032 Web Site: http://health.hawaii.gov/mchb/home/baby-s-a-f-e-program Price unknown.

Keywords: Curricula, Families, Prevention programs, Substance abuse, Treatment, Women

Boston Healthy Start Initiative. n.d.. Support materials for substance abuse workshop: Women for Sobriety acceptance program work book. Boston, MA: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 158 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed for women with alcohol dependency who are participating in a substance abuse workshop. The manual explains recovery, the roots of addiction, relapses and slips, and recovery programs (including holistic recovery). It also includes exercises and a bibliography for the educator, and handouts and a glossary for participants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Healthy Start Initiative, 1010 Massachusetts Avenue, Second Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 534-5395 Secondary Telephone: (617) 534-9799 Contact Phone: (617) 534-7828 Fax: (617) 534-5358 E-mail: healthystart@bphc.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol dependence, Alcohol education, Alcohol rehabilitation, Alcoholism, Boston Healthy Start, Educational materials, Risk prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment, Substance dependence, Training materials

Breakey G. n.d.. Facilitation of Primary Care Physician Participation in Preventive Health Care of Children Age 0-5 from Underserved, Diverse Cultural Populations: [Final report]. Honolulu, HI: Hawaii Family Stress Center, 30 pp.

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce the incidence of poor health characteristics among low-income, culturally diverse populations by promoting the involvement of primary care physicians (pediatricians) in early screening and intervention. Project goals included increasing the level of preventive health care for underserved children, reducing the severity of psychosocial problems, increasing physicians' sense of involvement as part of a team in providing services to project children and their families, and demonstrating a practical process for accomplishing these goals which can be replicated across the nation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152833.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Child Abuse and Neglect Preventive, Continuing Education, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPSDT, Hawaiians, Health Care, Health Supervision Guidelines, High risk children, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary Care, Psychological Problems, Well Child Care

Stuemky J. n.d.. Developing and Improving the Capacity of Existing Pediatric Emergency Medical Services in Oklahoma [Final report]. Oklahoma City, OK: University of Oklahoma,

Annotation: The State of Oklahoma has a limited and fragmented EMS system that has not adequately addressed the needs of its pediatric population. To decrease the negative outcomes of pediatric emergency care, this project: (1) Established a prehospital- and hospital-based data collection system to provide definition of emergency medical services for children (EMSC) and identify negative outcome factors; (2) developed and assisted a statewide consortium in support of EMSC issues; (3) provided pediatric prehospital and hospital care training to emergency medical technicians, nurses, and physicians; and (4) worked with Native Americas and Hispanic populations to prevent child abuse and related injuries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child Abuse, Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Shaken Infant Syndrome

Strahs B. n.d.. Family Shelter Project [Final report]. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 66 pp.

Annotation: This project addressed the dramatic rise in homelessness and substance abuse, the relationship between the two problems, and the increasing number of homeless families. The Family Shelter Project provided leadership and coordination for a broad range of health, social, and educational services to be provided to pregnant women, mothers, and children in a therapeutic community which has been established within a city shelter for homeless families. In addition, the project established a professional development collaborative to enhance the capacity of health professionals and those in related professions to serve the homeless, particularly the substance-abusing maternity services population. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-216208.

Keywords: Child Abuse and Neglect, Collaboration of Care, Education of Health Professionals, Families, High risk groups, Homeless, Low income groups, Mothers, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Substance Abuse, Urban Populations

Partnership for Drug-Free Kids. n.d.. Pregnancy and opioids: What families need to know about opioid misuse and treatment during pregnancy. New York, NY: Partnershp for Drug-Free Kids, 20 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information for a pregnant woman’s family about opioid misuse and treatment during pregnancy. The guide explains what an opioid use disorder is and discusses the importance of comprehensive prenatal care and treatment for pregnant women with the disorder, delivery, newborn health, breastfeeding, social supports, and what to expect in the weeks and months after delivery.

Contact: Partnership for Drug-Free Kids, 352 Park Avenue South, 9th Floor, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (855) 378-4373 Secondary Telephone: (212) 922-1560 Fax: (212) 922-1570 E-mail: webmail@drugfree.org Web Site: http://www.drugfree.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Narcotics, Perinatal addiction, Pregnant women, Substance abuse treatment

Barzel R, Holt K. 2019. Opioids and children and adolescents: Information for oral health professionals. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on opioids for oral health professionals. It includes information about assessing children and adolescents, drugs to recommend before prescribing opioids, prescribing opioids with caution and being aware of the potential for misuse or abuse, and understanding laws, policies, and recommendations. The document also discusses providing post-operative instructions and creating a safe, friendly environment. Information about prescription-drug-monitoring programs and managing acute oral pain are included, along with tips for dentists to share with parents and an overview of research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Prescription drugs, Prevention

Seabury, H. 2019. In her words: Opioid use disorder and pregnancy. Fort Wayne, IN: McMillen Health, 23 pp. (Community report)

Annotation: This report presents information about opioid use during pregancy. The report provides definitions of terms used, an overview of the problem, the impact of opioid use disorder during pregnancy on infants, interviews with mothers being treated for opioid use disorder, interviews with professionals, and results. The development of an educational intervention is also discussed.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Intervention, Neonatal addiction, Opiates, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2019. Intensive care coordination for children and youth with complex mental and substance use disorders: State and community profiles. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 435 pp.

Annotation: This document updates a 2014 profiles report, by (1) categorizing states' intensive care coordination (ICC) efforts into sustainability, implementation or pre-implementation groups; (2) identifying key informants; and (3) expanding the questionnaire template used in surveying the states. This updated profiles report is intended to assist states interested in improving outcomes for children and youth with complex mental and substance use disorders by developing or revamping ICC. includes lessons learned from 40 states and a small number of local jurisdictions that have implemented ICC, with and without high quality Wraparound, and is intended to support innovation around state efforts.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: PEP19-04-01-001..

Keywords: Access to care, Children, Mental disorders, Mental health services, Service coordination, State programs, Substance abuse, Youth

Oregon Pregnancy and Opioids Workgroup. 2018. Oregon Pregnancy and Opioids Workgroup recommendations. Salem, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, 27 pp.

Annotation: This document provides recommendations for the management of opioid use for pregnant women, including pregnant women with opioid-use disorder, and for care of the opioid-exposed newborn. Topics include clinical recommendations, health-systems and policy recommendations, definitions, and resources and collaborative approaches.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, 500 Summer Street, N.E., E-20, Salem, OR 97301-1097, Telephone: (503) 947-2340 Secondary Telephone: (877) 398-9238 Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: OHPBinfo@state.or.us Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/oha Available from the website.

Keywords: Narcotics, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs, State programs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2018. Medicaid coverage of medication-assisted treatment for alcohol and opioid use disorders and of medication for the reversal of opioid overdose. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 113 pp.

Annotation: This report presents summary information on Medicaid coverage and financing of medications to treat alcohol and opioid use disorders (MAT). It discusses issues including prior authorization, innovative approaches to financing and delivering MAT, state considerations for covering MAT (including efficacy, costs, regulations, and policies), and innovative models and best practices.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS SMA-18-5093 .

Keywords: Alcohol dependence, Drugs, Health care financing, Medicaid, Opiates, Substance abuse treatment

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2017. Focus on prevention: Strategies and programs to prevent substance use. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 59 pp.

Annotation: This guide aims to help groups and communities move from concerns about abuse of alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drugs to practical ways to get the word out about prevention. It provides a brief discussion and starting points for these focus topics: the strategic prevention framework, prevention theory, risk and protection, community needs, strategies that work, issues and audiences, community partners, connecting with your audience, social marketing, media and social media, and evaluation. A suggested event timeline and sample materials are provided to help develop a successful news conference, and a list of substance abuse prevention resources is included. A Spanish language version is also available from the publisher.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov Single copies available at no charge. Document Number: DHHS Pub. no. (SMA) 10-4120.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Communities, Drug abuse, Evaluation, Media campaigns, Prevention, Protective factors, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials

Child Welfare Information Gateway. 2016. Mandatory reporters of child abuse and neglect. Washington, DC: Child Welfare Information Gateway, 61 pp.

Annotation: This document provides the statutory basis for identifying persons who are required to report child maltreatment under certain circumstances for all of the United States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. Lists include a description of the person required to report maltreatment, standards for making a report, privileged communications, and inclusion or other disclosure of the reporter’s identity.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protective services, Child welfare, Children, Legal definitions, Legal responsibility, Legislation, Maltreated children, Oral health, Standards

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.