Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief presents resources about health care for teens and websites for parents, caregivers, and teens about teen pregnancy prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Bibliographies, Contraception, Electronic publications, Families, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Birth rates, Curricula, Mississippi, Sexuality education, State initiatives, Statistics

Annotation: This brief summarizes state-level sex and HIV education policies, as well as specific content requirements, based on a review of state laws, regulations, and other legally binding policies. Topics include whether such education is mandated, parental involvement, contraception, marriage, negative outcomes, skills for healthy sexuality, and abstinence. Charts list requirements in each state.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence education, Contraception, Schools, Sexuality education, State legislation

Annotation: This document provides a compendium of research on the effectiveness of sexual risk avoidance (SRA) abstinence education. It discusses understanding public health models that address sexual risk, federal funding of programs addressing sexual activity of adolescents, and using research to inform public policy. The majority of the document describes programs that are considered to have demonstrated improved teen outcomes and promising programs from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services abstinence education evaluation conferences held in 2005, 2007, and 2010.

Contact: National Abstinence Education Association, 1701 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 248-5420 Web Site: http://www.thenaea.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence education, Model programs

Annotation: This consumer brochure for consumers provides information about choosing an appropriate birth control method. It describes various methods and tells how each method works, where to find it, when to use it, and its advantages and disadvantages. Information on taking charge of one's health in general is also included. It is also available in Spanish.

Contact: Health Education Resource Exchange, Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47833, Olympia, WA 98504-7833, Telephone: (360) 236-3736 Fax: (360) 664-4500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://doh.wa.gov/about-us/topics-a-z/Health%20Education%20Resource%20Exchange Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Abstinence, Condoms, Consumer education materials, Contraception, Contraceptive implants, Emergency contraception, Fertility, Intrauterine devices, Spanish language materials, Sterilization

Annotation: This paper discusses 22 studies of abstinence, including those primarily intended to teach abstinence and others on virginity pledges, and examines the extent to which the program had, or did not have, positive effects.

Contact: Heritage Foundation, 214 Massachusetts Avenue, N.E., Washington, DC 20002-4999, Telephone: (202) 546-4400 Fax: (202) 546-8328 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.heritage.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence education, Community programs, Program evaluation, Sexuality education

Annotation: This state plan describes the activities of Nebraska's State Abstinence Education Grant Program for 2010. The document discusses the problem and need associated with Nebraska adolescents and presents an implementation plan. Topics discussed in relation to the implementation plan include existing programs and gaps in services, challenges and barriers, mechanisms for implementation, monitoring, coordination, service recipient involvement, referrals, objective performance and efficiency measures, programmatic assurances, and budget.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Plan Report
• Program Site With Plan Report And Appendices

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Budgets, Education, High risk adolescents, High risk groups, Nebraska, Poverty, Program coordination, Referral, Service delivery, State grants, State programs

Annotation: This report contains the oral and written testimonies of members of Congress, and medical professionals about the effectiveness of abstinence-only sexual education. Debate concerns the facts of adolescent and youth sexual activity and whether abstinence-only, or comprehensive programs are more effective in serving the health needs of young people. It contains extensive studies from a variety of organizations and transcripts of an earlier hearing on the issue.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescents, Federal legislation, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Youth

Annotation: This report examines materials from sex education programs used in Texas school districts to describe the state of sexuality education in Texas schools. The mainly abstinence only programs of Texas receive evaluation on terms of accuracy of information, appropriateness of content and effectiveness. The report includes many examples from actual programs.

Contact: Texas Freedom Network, P.O. Box 1624, Austin, TX 78767, Telephone: (512) 322-0545 Fax: (512) 32-0550 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tfn.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Abstinence, Curriculum development, Educational materials, Program evaluation, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Texas

Annotation: This report on the oversight of federally funded abstinence-until-marriage education programs discusses efforts by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), states, and researchers (1) to assess the scientific accuracy of materials used in abstinence-until marriage education programs and (2) to assess the effectiveness of abstinence-until-marriage education programs. The report also provides background and discusses factors limiting the conclusions that can be drawn about the effectiveness of matierals, as well as the applicability to abstinence-until-marriage education programs of a federal statutory provision requiring that educational materials prepared by DHHS's grantees, among others, that are specifically designed to address sexually transmitted diseases, contain medically accurate information on the effectiveness or lack of effectiveness of condoms in preventing the diseases the materials are designed to address.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-08-664T.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Condoms, Contraception, Educational materials, Federal programs, Legislation, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report explores issues from a roundtable meeting of experts from a range of disciplines to discuss abstinence-only programs and their particular impact on women and girls. In addition, broader academic research and original research contributed to the report. Topics include reviews of abstinence-only funding and history; domestic abstinence-only programs in practice; specific harm to women and girls, such as reinforcing stereotypes, increasing health risks, and violating human rights; how exporting the abstinence-only agenda fails women and girls internationally; and issues in looking ahead.

Contact: Legal Momentum, 395 Hudson Street, New York, NY 10014, Telephone: (212) 925-6635 Web Site: http://www.legalmomentum.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Federal initiatives, Female children, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Women', Women', s health, s rights

Annotation: This report presents the behavioral impact findings of four selected programs that received funding through Title V, Section 510 abstinence education grants. The report examines the impacts of these programs on adolescents' sexual abstinence, their risks of pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, and other behavioral outcomes. The report, which includes an executive summary, is divided into the following chapters: (1) introduction, (2) focal programs, (3) design and methods for the final impact evaluation, (4) impacts on sexual abstinence and teen risk behaviors, (5) knowledge and perceptions of risks associated with teen sex, (6) predictors of sexual abstinence, and (7) conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the text. The report includes five appendices: (1) supporting tables, (2) outlines of curricula, (3) survey questions, (4) estimated impacts for selected subgroups, and (5) program mediators of teen sexual activity.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Federal programs, Financing, MCH research, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This document is a response to a member's information reequest. It provides a chart showing which states declined Section 510 Abstinence funds in 2007, whether they had received funding in 2006, which state applied for funding in 2007 but not in 2006, and the amounts these states were eligible to receive. It also provides links to media reports, organizational policy statements on sex education, state program evaluations, and other evaluations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Legislation, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, State programs

Annotation: This interim report focuses on the National Consensus Process (NCP) on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior, a process on sexual health in which leaders of major constituency organizations with interest in sexual health participated. The goal of the NCP is to improve sexual health and responsible sexual behaviors in America. The report includes a letter from the former U.S. Surgeon General; an executive summary; a call to action; background; and a statement of agreement covering the following topics: vision, goal, sexuality, sexual health, individual responsibility, community responsibility, outcomes, and normative differences. Also included is a discussion of NCP areas of agreement and non-agreement and supporting documents; areas for further discussion; participant observations; commentary; and NCP's future. The report includes eight appendices: (1) best practices; (2) research recommendations; (3) HIV, AIDS, STDs, and STIs; (4) education and discussion of sexual health and responsible sexual behavior for youth by parents or caregivers; (5) sexual abstinence; (6) responsible and irresponsible social behavior; (7) sexual orientation; (8) NCP ground rules and meeting dates and locations.

Contact: Morehouse School of Medicine, Center of Excellence for Sexual Health, National Center for Primary Care , 720 Westview Drive, S.W., Suite 233, Atlanta, GA 30310, Telephone: (404) 756-5044 Secondary Telephone: (404) 756-8800 Fax: (404) 756-5709 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.msm.edu/x769.xml Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Caregivers, HIV, Individual responsibility, Parents, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexuality, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social responsibility

Annotation: This report describes the oversight of federally funded abstinence-until-marriage education programs. The report provides information on (1) efforts by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) and states to assess the scientific accuracy of materials used in these programs and (2) efforts by DHHS, states, and researchers to assess the effectiveness of these programs. The report also includes results in brief, background, conclusions, and recommendations for executive action. The report includes four appendices: (1) the Health Resources and Services Administration's technical assistance contract for abstinence education, (2) method for identifying and reviewing research studies, (3) comments from DHHS, and (4) Government Accountability Office contact and staff acknowledgments. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Marriage, Abstinence, Federal programs, Financing, Program evaluation, Sexuality education

Annotation: This report is based on a review conducted by the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States of nine of the most widely available abstinence-only-until-marriage curricula designed for junior and senior high school students that emphasize the negative consequences of premarital sexual activity, portray sexual behavior as universally dangerous, and deny young people information about pregnancy and disease prevention. The report discusses the educational philosophy of these curricula and their scope and context. Topics covered include sexuality and abstinence, religion and morality, fear and shame, sexual pressure, sexual arousal, sexually transmitted diseases, HIV and AIDS, condoms and contraception, marriage and family structure, gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy options and abortion, teaching methods, curricula strong point, and the future of sexuality education. Brief reviews of the curricula are provided. A list of abstinence-education curricula that do not include messages of fear or shame is included. The report includes references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraception, Curricula, Families, HIV, Marriage, Moral values, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Sexual identity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This paper critiques a review article titled Abstinence and Abstinence-Only Education and a second article titled Abstinence-Only Education Policies and Programs: A Position Paper of the Society of Adolescent Medicine. Both were published by the Journal of Adolescent Health. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses the articles' methodologies, the way they define abstinence, their treatment of (1) the physical and psychological health outcomes of adolescent sexual behaviors and of public support for abstinence and comprehensive sexuality education; (2) currrent federal policy and local programs; (3) concepts of efficacy for abstinence in preventing pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections; (4) abstinence-only education and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender adolescents; (5) the human right to sexual health information; (and 6) ethical obligations of health professionals and health educators. References are incluced.

Contact: Medical Institute for Sexual Health, 1101 S. Capital of Texas Highway, Building B, Suite 100, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-6268 Secondary Telephone: (800) 892-9484 Fax: (512) 328-6269 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.medinstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Human rights, Local programs, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public policy, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report, prepared for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, presents first-year impact findings of four selected programs that have received Title V, Section 510 Abstinence Education Program Funds since 1998. The four programs are My Choice, My Future in Powhatan, Virginia; ReCapturing the Vision in Miami, Florida; Teens in Control in Clarksdale, Mississippi; and Families United to Prevent Teen Pregnancy (FUPTP) in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. This report examines the extent to which the programs affected the level and nature of health, family life, and sex education services youth received during the first year after enrolling in the program, and it provides estimates of the first-year impacts of the Title V, Section 510 programs on intermediate outcomes that may be related to teen sexual activity and other risk-taking behavior. These outcomes include measures of views on abstinence, adolescent sex, and marriage; peer influences and relations; self-concept, refusal skills, and communications with parents; perceived consequences of adolescent and nonmarital sex; and expectations to abstain from sexual intercourse. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures throughout the report. Information on the study design and methodology is provided in addition to a discussion section and references. Appendices include support figures and tables, outlines of curricula used by the study programs, and survey questions.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Case studies, Community programs, Family life education, Federal programs, Florida, Mississippi, Prevention, Program descriptions, Program evaluations, Risk taking, Sexuality education, Statistics, Surveys, Virginia, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report examines the possible effects of youth development and abstinence education programming on adolescent birth rates and sexual risk taking. It presents results of a literature review pertaining to abstinence or delay of sexual activity with special attention to how factors that are the target of youth development approaches have been shown to affect these outcomes. It next examines year-end and evaluation reports for Adolescent Family Life (AFL) demonstration projects through December 2004, and presents the results of seven site visits that looked at the degree to which youth development activities and abstinence-oriented activities are integrated and whether the two program components might be separated for evaluation. The report concludes with recommendations for how to improve evaluation designs. The report includes references and five appendices: (1) a table describing studies that looked at youth development impacts on adolescents' sexual behavior and antecedents of first sex, (2) the protocol used to review the AFL documents, (3) A table listing enrichment activities associated with specific youth development objectives, (4) a summary of program and youth development characteristics from the document reviews, and (5) a suggested annual report outline.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Demonstration programs, Federal programs, Final reports, Program evaluation, Research, Sexuality education, Youth development