Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (64 total).

De Geyndt W. n.d.. Control of organizational behavior: The use of power—influence—authority. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 27 pp. (Comment series no.: 7-9 (5))

Annotation: This paper discusses the concept of power, the concept of influence, and the concept of authority in the context of management. The balance between individual behavior, the goals of the organization, and power are addressed.

Keywords: .Administration, Management, Organizations

De Geyndt W. n.d.. Evaluation of health programs: An annotated bibliography. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 107 pp. (Comment series no.: 8-9 (9))

Annotation: This bibliography is a revision and updating of comment series no. 7-9 (4) with the addition new sources and annotations for all sources. This publication supersedes the previous non-annotated bibliography, "Bibliography on Evaluation of Health Programs." This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Bibliographies, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Health services, Program evaluation, Title V programs

Weckwerth VE. n.d.. The comprehensive hardware store: An analogy prepared in response to a request for the difference between comprehensive health care and other care. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 6 pp. (Comment series no.: 8-9 (10))

Ertel PY, Ambuel JP, Graham BD. n.d.. What is a C and Y Project?. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 6 pp. (Comment series no.: 8-10 (11))

Annotation: This paper is a comparative description of the Columbus, Ohio Children and Youth Program project. The differences between this and other projects in operational definitions, approaches to problems, and the kinds of innovations developed to enhance their delivery of services is discussed. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs

Appleby C, Neher WR, Sprague L, Appleby M. n.d.. The marathon encounter: Toward a philosophy of care. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 55 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-1 (12))

Annotation: This paper is a report of a marathon encounter group studying physician patient relations and its implications for a philosophy of care. Both health personnel and patients were participants. This paper will include the background and philosophy of the marathon, the theoretical assumptions, methodology, findings from the marathon, suggestions for future marathon projects, suggestions for future evaluations of marathons, and implications for interdisciplinary attempts at comprehensive care in in low-income areas. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Physician patient relations, Title V programs

Hallstrom BJ, Osterman KE. n.d.. Independent, dependent, and collaborative functioning and the nursing role. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 13 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-2 (13))

Annotation: This paper develops a conceptual model of the process by which health care is delivered by health care practitioners. Independent, dependent, and collaborative functioning are identified. Nursing literature regarding nursing roles and functioning is reviewed and related to the process of providing care. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Nursing

Osterman KE. n.d.. On assessing nursing functioning and services: A selected annotated bibliography. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 12 pp. (Comment series no.: 9-2 (14))

Annotation: This selected annotated bibliography resulted from a review the literature in preparation for writing the paper "Independent, Dependent, and Collaborative Functioning and the Nursing Role." The focus is on the role of nursing in the health care team. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Nursing

Hostler S. n.d.. Family Autonomy Project [Final report]. Charlottesville, VA: University of Virginia, 50 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to ensure the successful transition to adulthood of adolescents with physical disabilities or chronic illnesses by means of interventions with families, the health care team, and the adolescents themselves. The project sought to encourage the involvement of families in planning for the health care of their children, to modify staff behaviors and institutional practices to promote family autonomy, and to broaden treatment goals so that they included health maintenance and future planning for adolescents with special needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196962.

Keywords: ., Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Family-Centered Health Care Transition, Support Groups

Iowa Department of Public Health, Sudden Infant Death Program. n.d.. Face up to SIDS. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, Sudden Infant Death Program, 3 items.

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2020. Request for Information (RFI): Inviting comments and suggestions to inform the Maternal and Child Health Bureau Strategic Plan . Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 3 pp.

Annotation: This request for information lists the 11 areas of legislative authority for the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and gives questions inviting public comment.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Strategic plans, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2020. Coronavirus disease and oral health: Information for parents about promoting good oral health at home. Itasca, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 1 p.

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about promoting good oral health at home during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of and provides tips for serving healthy foods and drinks and promoting good oral hygiene habits to keep children’s mouths healthy during the pandemic and always. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials., Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

Holt K, Lowe B. 2019. Checklist for child care staff: Best practices for good oral health . Itasca, IL: National Center for Early Childhood Health and Wellness,

Annotation: This checklist provides items that child care program staff can check to reflect what they are doing to promote good oral health for infants, toddlers, and young children. Items not checked can serve as goals to help staff work toward improving their practices related to food and drinks and oral hygiene. The checklist is divided into three main categories: infants from birth to age 1, toddlers ages 1–3, and young children ages 3–5. Within each category, items to check are listed in two subcategories: foods and drinks and oral hygiene. The checklist is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Spanish language materials., Young children

National MCH Workforce Development Center and MCH Navigator. 2019. Strategies for promoting health equity in your state. Washington, DC: MCH Navigator,

Annotation: This resource presents learning opportunities to assist MCH professionals in developing strategic steps to advance health equity in their health departments. It includes an introduction, 10 individual strategies, and a wrap up. Strategies include (1) expand understanding of diversity; (2) reflect on your organization; (3) explore within the community (4) partner with communities; (5) foster agency and collective action; (6) develop a holistic understanding; (7) identify and collect data; (8) work with stakeholders; )9) be accountable to outcomes; and (10) celebrate success. Examples from the field are included.

Contact: MCH Navigator, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchnavigator.org/

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity. MCH training, Health status disparities, Training materials

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2018. HHS strategic plan and Secretary's strategic initiatives: Strategic plan FY 2018–2022. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, multiple items.

Annotation: This strategic plan provides priorities, accomplishments, and next steps that are tracked and updated frequently, reinforcing the strategic plan’s function as a living, vital document that serves a genuine management purpose. The plan addresses 5 strategic goals: (1) reform, strengthen, and modernize the nation's healthcare system; (2) protect the health of Americans where they live, learn, work, and play; (3) strengthen the economic and social well-being of Americans across the lifespan; (4) foster sound, sustained advances in the sciences; and (5) promote effective and efficient management and stewardship.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Strategic plans, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2018. Oral health toolkit. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics,

Annotation: This toolkit provides oral health resources that health professionals can share with pregnant women and new mothers. The print resources, which include the complete toolkit, brochures, posters, and infographics, are available in Arabic, Cambodian, English, French, Korean, Spanish, and Taiwanese. Videos are available in English and in Spanish. The resources offer information about where to obtain oral health care by state and about how to care for gums and teeth during pregnancy and infancy.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Asian language materials. Non English language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videos

Center for Global Policy Solutions. 2016. Overlooked but not forgotten: Social Security lifts millions more children out of poverty. Washington, DC: Center for Global Policy Solutions, 33 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to expand existing research about Social Security's indirect role in lifting children out of poverty by examining the effect on those living in extended households. It documents how the multi-generational impact of Social Security has grown and how it has provided an important and increasing income source across different racial and ethnic groups. Policy implications are included.

Contact: Center for Global Policy Solutions, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5111 Fax: (202) 265-5118 E-mail: info@globalpolicysolutions.org Web Site: http://globalpolicysolutions.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Family income, Federal programs, Intergenerational programs, Policy development. , Poverty, Racial factors, Social Security, Trends

Glanz K, Rimer BK, Viswanath K, eds. 2015. Health behavior: Theory, research, and practice. (5th ed.). San Francisco, CA: Josey-Bass, 485 pp.

Annotation: This book's major emphasis is on the analysis and application of health behavior theories to public health and health promotion practice. It discusses models of individual behavior (such as health belief, reasoned action, and stages of change); models of interpersonal behavior (such as social support, stress and coping, and interpersonal communication); and community and group models (such as community engagement, diffusion of public health interventions, and the changing media environment). It also discusses planning models, behavioral economics, and social marketing.

Keywords: Health behavior, Health promotion. Textbooks, Public health, Theories

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of MCH Workforce Development. [2014]. Division of MCH Workforce Development: 2012–2020 strategic plan. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, 8 pp.

Annotation: This strategic plan includes goals, strategies, activities and performance measures to support efforts of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Division of MCH Workforce Development to assure that all children, youth, and families will live and thrive in healthy communities served by a quality workforce that helps assure their health and well-being.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Maternal and Child Health Workforce Development, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2340 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/workforce-training Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Strategic plans, Training, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Work force

West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program. 2014. West Virginia Cavity Free by Three: Fluoride varnish manual for health care providers. Charleston, WV: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 32 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help primary care health professionals and others reduce the rate of dental caries in infants and young children ages 6 to 36 months in West Virginia. Contents include

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Oral Health Program, 350 Capitol Street, Room 427, Charleston, WV 25301, Telephone: (304) 558-5388 Web Site: https://dhhr.wv.gov/oralhealth/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, State programs, Training, West Virginia, Young children, and parent-education materials. , coding and billing, information about the implementation strategy (training and certification protocol) for caries risk assessment, fluoride-varnish application, and facilitation of the age 1 dental visit, training resources

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2014. Implementing our strategic plan: Activities and accomplishments in fiscal year 2013. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on many of the key actions taken and accomplishments realized during fiscal year (FY) 2013 as the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) worked toward achieving its strategic plan goals, including actions related to the implementation of the Affordable Care Act. The report also includes key achievements related to the agency’s operations that support attainment of HRSA’s goals.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Strategic plans, U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.