Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet gives recommendations for supporting children and families about sexuality, discusses sexual abuse and assault and reproductive health, and gives resources in the District of Columbia.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Sexuality education

Annotation: This fact sheet lists resources on sexuality education, education curricula, health conditions and disabilities, online learning, educators and counselors, and national resources related to sexuality and children and adults with disabilities. Resources also cover parenting with a disability, reproductive health, sexual violence, and screening for abuse or violence.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Sexuality education

Annotation: This kit of 10 manuals provides lesson plans on sexuality topics for students in grades 3–12. Contents include the following titles: Changes, Changes, Changes: Great Methods for Puberty Education; Game On! The Ultimate Sexuality Education Gaming Guide; Great Mentoring: Positive Conversations with Young People about Sexual Decisions; Let's Erase Bullying; Making Sense of Abstinence; Positive Images: Teaching About Contraception and Sexual Health; Sex Ed 101; Sex Ed in the Digital Age; Teaching Safer Sex; and Unequal Partners: Teaching about Power, Consent, and Healthy Relationships.

Contact: Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education, 196 Speedwell Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960, Telephone: (973) 387-5161 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sexedcenter.org $499 (full set); manuals also available individually.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Curricula, Elementary education, Elementary schools, High schools, Middle schools, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Teaching

Annotation: This brief presents resources about health care for teens and websites for parents, caregivers, and teens about teen pregnancy prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Bibliographies, Contraception, Electronic publications, Families, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Birth rates, Curricula, Mississippi, Sexuality education, State initiatives, Statistics

Annotation: This resource provides general information for service providers, educators, allies, and community members who seek to support the health and well-being of children and youth who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex, and/or two-spirit (LGBTQI2-S) and their families.

Contact: Technical Assistance Partnership for Child and Family Mental Health, American Institutes for Research, 1000 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 403-6827 Fax: (202) 403-5007 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tapartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Children, Cultural competence, Educational materials, Families, Homosexuality, Sexuality, Social support, Systems of care, Youth

Annotation: These standards provide guidance to programs within institutions of higher education in order to better prepare undergraduate pre-service students to deliver sexuality education to children and adolescents in middle and high schools, focusing on programs that train health and physical education teachers. Contents include seven standards, along with a rationale, set of indicators, and examples. Topics include professional disposition, diversity and equity, content knowledge, legal and professional ethics, planning, implementation, and assessment.

Contact: Future of Sex Education, Web Site: http://www.futureofsexed.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Preservice training, Professional education, Sexuality education, Standards, Teachers

Annotation: This brief describes websites about sexuality education for health professionals and families. The brief also provides links to bibliographies, knowledge paths, organizations lists, and other resource briefs on topics such as abstinence education; adolescent pregnancy and parents; adolescent pregnant prevention; adolescent prenatal care; and lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Resources for professionals, Sexuality education

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research on effective sex education, laws and policies that shape it, and how it can impact young people's lives.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Community participation, Health promotion, Research, School age children, School health education, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Youth

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on opportunities for children and adolescents enrolled in Medicaid and some Children's Health Insurance Programs to receive periodic comprehensive screenings that include sexual health education. Contents include information about the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit for individuals under age 21, key components of the required medical screen including health education and anticipatory guidance, the need for sexual health education, and the challenges to ensuring its provision. Descriptions of key resources are included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Children, Children', EPSDT, Federal programs, Health education, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Prevention services, Screening, Sexual health, Sexuality education, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief summarizes state-level sex and HIV education policies, as well as specific content requirements, based on a review of state laws, regulations, and other legally binding policies. Topics include whether such education is mandated, parental involvement, contraception, marriage, negative outcomes, skills for healthy sexuality, and abstinence. Charts list requirements in each state.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence education, Contraception, Schools, Sexuality education, State legislation

Annotation: This toolkit includes data and research, as well as Bible studies and suggested activities and ideas on how faith leaders can openly discuss topics such as sex, dating, and relationships with teens and parents from a religious perspective. Available in both English and Spanish, the toolkit includes action steps for faith leaders, a video for youth leaders and senior pastors, assessment tools, and recommended sermon topics for pastors and youth leaders.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention services, Religion, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This report presents the results of a baseline survey completed by 241 girls, primarily African American, in grade 9 through 11 who are participating in a federally funded evaluation of the Demoiselle-2-Femme signature after-school program in Chicago, Illinois. The purpose of the evaluation is to estimate the effects of program participation on a number of key behavioral outcomes, including sexual activity, unprotected sex, and adolescent pregnancy. The report presents background; describes the program; and discusses study design and methods; student characteristics; relationships with adults; attitudes, feelings, and knowledge about sexual behavior; sexual behavior and prior pregnancy; dating violence; tobacco, alcohol, and marijuana use; and educational expectations.

Contact: Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago, 1313 East 60th Street, Chicago, IL 60637, Telephone: (773) 753-5900 Fax: (773) 753-5940 Web Site: http://www.chapinhall.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent females, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption behavior, Blacks, Community programs, Dating, Educational attainment, Illinois, Interpersonal violence, Marijuana, Prevention, Relationships, Smoking, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation of the Gender Matters (Gen.M) sex education program implemented in Travis County, Texas to help reduce the rate of teen pregnancy. The report describes the program’s design, facilitators’ training and delivery of the program, and youth engagement and understanding of the material after the first year of implementation. It concludes with lessons learned that could improve future Gen M. program outcomes.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This website presents the Circle of Life multimedia program, a curriculum intended for American Indian/Alaska Native middle school students that is based on the medicine wheel, a teaching symbol about mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional wellness. This holistic health promotion model is meant to help students learn about making healthy choices to prevent disease such as HIV/AIDS. The curriculum is divided into seven chapter sessions that are 20-25 minutes each and is presented in a modular form that can be broken up or used in sequence either in or outside the classroom. Teacher notes and an accessible version of the curriculum are also available on the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• User's Guide

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alaska natives, American Indians, Child health, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Middle school students, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This report focuses on instances in which children and adolescents under age 15 engage in sexual relationships with someone at least 3 years older (statutory rape). Topics include importance; trends; differences by race and by Hispanic origin; by parental education; and by age at first sex; state, local, and international estimates; national goals; and related indicators. Statistical data are presented throughout the report. A definition of statutory rape is provided.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Age factors, Educational factors, High risk adolescents, Racial factors, Rape, Risk factors, Sexual behavior, Sexual intercourse, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides research and best practices on policies that address adolescent sexual health in schools. It discusses the rationale for sexual health education and access to sexual and reproductive health services; explains why policy is important and describes policy parameters and the local policy process; and presents an overview of policy considerations related to sexual and reproductive health education and services. The report is intended to help guide educators, administrators, and advocates to assess the sexual health policies and practices in their states, school districts, and schools.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Policy development, Reproductive health, School health, School health education, School linked programs, School services, Sexuality education

Annotation: This fact sheet provides data on American adolescents (ages 13 to 18) from 1990 to 2002 who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or questioning (LGBTQ). It includes statistics on the percentage of adolescents who identify as LGBTQ; describes the sexual and risk-taking behavior of this population; discusses the increased risk of sexuality transmitted infection (STIs), HIV, and pregnancy; points to the absence of sex education courses and materials that address sexual orientation; describes the difficulties that LGBTQ adolescents face in obtaining information, services, and support; and provides tips to help individuals, educators, and organizations successfully include LGBTQ youth. A resource list provides links to related websites.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Homosexuality, Psychosocial development, Sexuality education, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This Let's Talk Month planning guidebook focuses on the importance of communication between adults and young people to help young people develop responsible behavior about sexuality. It includes information on planning and implementing Let's Talk Month; involving youth and youth-adult partnerships to promote parent-child communication; and working with media. It also includes sample forms and materials, work sheets and handouts for facilitators, and other resources.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Communication skills, Guidelines, Parent education programs, Sexuality education, Youth development