Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a Children and Youth Project conducted by combining the forces of a medical school and a health department, by maintaining role differentiation in respect to education and service, and by developing a Central Health Record and communication system to develop and increase comprehensive health services for children and youth residing in the target areas of poverty. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Comprehensive health services, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This report demonstrates graphically how a combination of a health department and a medical school compress to the national average of all Children and Youth projects. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs Comprehensive health services, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Interagency cooperation, Medical records, Medical schools, Poverty, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Title V programs

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the number and the impact of childhood injuries, especially those due to fire and violence. Two broad objectiveswere written for year 3 activities, involving methods of training emergency providers (training objective), and public/student education, smoke detector battery distribution, and school injury reporting (injury prevention objective). Materials developed include a 1993 injury prevention calendar, a statewide curriculum for pediatric emergencies, and data reports on prehospital and inpatient studies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121917.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Medical Technicians, Injury Prevention, Professional Education in EMSC, School Age Children

Annotation: This document provides tips on ways to include fitness breaks in school and resources available to help schools get started. Contents include ideas for classroom activity breaks, using music, suggestions for middle and high school students, tips on involving physical education teachers, and asking students to share their physical activity break ideas.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Advocacy, Learning, Participation, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: These tools, which are designed for teachers and caregivers, can be used to teach children about good oral health. Tools include lessons plans for grades 2–4, activity sheets, posters and flyers about choosing healthy drinks, science activity cards from grades K–4, and oral health brochures. A list of other resources is included. Some of the tools are available in Spanish.

Contact: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Web Site: https://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Teaching

Annotation: This program for grades K–2 is designed to improve students’ oral health by teaching them about the causes of tooth decay, how to choose healthy foods and beverages, and the importance of regular dental visits. It also helps them develop brushing and flossing skills and personal oral health care goals.

Contact: CATCH Global Foundation, P.O. Box 28282, Austin, TX 78755, Telephone: (855) 500-0050 Web Site: https://catch.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: The goal of this training for school nurses and non-oral-health professionals is to equip participants with the knowledge and tools they need to perform oral health screenings for school-age children, with a focus on identifying early signs of tooth decay. The training comprises three sections (tabs): sample letters, videos, and exam. Sample letters include a consent form, a risk-assessment report, a parent questionnaire, and a screening results letter. Videos include trainings with and without a fluoride-application component. The exam section includes a caries risk assessment, screening results letter, and an appendix of physical findings for oral health risk assessment.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Forms, Health screening, Informed consent, Oral health, Prevention, Risk assessment, School age children, Training, Videos

Annotation: This training provides information to help kindergarten through grade 2 teachers incorporate oral health education into their curricula, with the goal of empowering students to maintain good oral hygiene, educating them on the importance of oral hygiene and preventive oral health care, and helping build healthy habits and understand the link between oral health and overall well-being. The training comprises three sections (tabs): teacher materials, lessons, and videos. Teacher materials include handouts and a 30-minute training video. The lessons and videos sections include materials to use with students.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Videos, Curricula, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health education, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School age children, School health, Training

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about healthy beverage consumption among school-age children and adolescents, as well as recommendations from key national health and nutrition organizations. The report introduces the issue, presents background information, and describes the methodology. Expert recommendations related to beverages recommended as part of a healthy diet, beverages to limit as part of a healthy diet, and beverages not recommended as part of a healthy diet are presented. Other considerations, research recommendations, and policy and practice implications are discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Beverages, Calories, Milk, Nutrition, Research, School age children, Sugar, Water

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This form, to be completed by parents and oral health professionals, provides space to write information about children over age 3 to give the student's child care facility or school. Part I, for parents to fill out, is for the child’s name, age, birthdate, grade, and child care facility or school name. Part II, for an oral health professional to fill out, is for the child’s oral health status and insurance status. Space for the oral health professional’s name, signature, and stamp, as well as the date of the oral examination, is included. It is available in Amharic, Chinese, English, French, Korean, and Vietnamese.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dchealth.dc.gov/ Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asian language materials, Child health, Forms, Non-English language materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This survey focuses on the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in Wisconsin during the 2022–2023 school year. The survey provides an introduction explaining why good oral health is important; describes the survey methodology; and presents results in the following areas: participation, tooth decay experience; oral health care needs, statewide trends among children in third grade, and oral health by region. A convenience sample focused on American Indian and Alaska Native students is also discussed, and key findings are presented.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Oral health, School age children, State information, Tooth decay, Trends, Wisconsin

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This data brief highlights the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of children in kindergarten and third grade in Arizona's public schools and compares prevalence to that of their counterparts in the general U.S. population screened between 2017 and 2020 as part of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey. The report also discusses the prevalence of dental sealants among the two groups. Information about oral health disparities, overall trends, and data sources and methods is included.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Ave., Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 364-1400 Fax: (602) 364- 1495 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Dental sealants, Oral health, School age children, Trends, State information, Tooth decay

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Arizona's school-based dental sealant program during the 2023–2024 school year. Information is included on the number of schools served, children screened, children who received dental sealants, and children who received fluoride varnish. Also included is information about the percentage of children in the program who were referred for treatment and who had urgent oral health care needs. National and state percentages of children in third grade with tooth decay experience, with untreated tooth decay, and who needed dental sealants are provided, along with information about the number of school hours missed per year due to oral-health-related issues.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, 150 North 18th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85007-2670, Telephone: (602) 542-1025 Fax: (602) 542-0883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: 2-OH-081 (11/2024).

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screening, Oral health, School age children, State information, Treatment