Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure is for parents taking home their newborn that has been discharged from the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). It defines sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and provides advice on safe sleep positioning and environments for the infant at home. Topics also include the increased risk factors for SIDS of infants that have needed special care at birth, the importance of breastfeeding, not sharing a bed with an infant by parents or siblings, "tummy time", proper bedtime clothing and temperature, the use of a pacifier, and a safe crib. It mentions differences between how things were done in the NICU and how they should be done at home.

Contact: American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians, 528 Raven Way, Naples, FL 34110, Telephone: (239) 431-5425 Fax: (239) 431-5536 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaspp.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brochures, Consumer education materials, High risk infants, Hospitals, Infant health, Injury prevention, Neonatal intensive care units, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This brochure provides guidelines to help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in child care settings. It provides an overview of SIDS; a description of safe sleep practices for infants; and the rules that apply in the state of Minnesota when a death occurs in a child care setting. The brochure also describes sources of support and services that are available to providers who have lost an infant due to SIDS.

Contact: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, 2525 Chicago Avenue South; MS-50-2165, Minneapolis, MN 55404, Telephone: (612) 813-6285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 72-3812 Fax: (612) 813-7344 Web Site: http://www.childrensmn.org/patientfamily/family-services-a-resources/sid-center/the-minnesota-sudden-infant-death-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Infants, Minnesota, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, State legislation

Annotation: This brochure for parents of a premature baby discusses safe sleep practices that should be followed once the infant is discharged from the hospital. It discusses practices suitable for the NICU that are no longer needed and may be unsafe once the infant is at home. It provides tips on following the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines on back sleeping, safe cribs, not covering the baby's head and face, no smoking, no overheating, talking with others who care for the baby, and tummy time for the awake infant who is closely supervised.

Contact: Sudden Infant Death Services of the Mid-Atlantic, P.O. Box 799, Haymarket, VA 20168, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sidsma.org/ Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Hospitals, Neonatal intensive care units, Premature infants, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: This web page presents a chart of "do and don't" tips for placing baby safely to sleep. Topics include placing baby on their back, alone in a crib with a firm mattress and a fitted sheet, room-sharing, breastfeeding, using a pacifier, and keeping immunizations up-to-date.

Contact: Charlie's Kids Foundation, c/o Pegasus Transportation, P.O. Box 1571, Jeffersonville, IN 47131-1571, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://charlieskids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This toolkit from the American Academy of Pediatrics provides a comprehensive collection of educational and promotional materials for healthcare providers and organizations to communicate safe sleep practices for infants. It includes videos ranging from 15 seconds to 2.5 minutes, downloadable posters, social media graphics, infographics, and articles addressing various aspects of safe sleep environments and practices. The materials are designed to support conversations with parents and caregivers about preventing Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) and making safe infant sleep the norm. Many resources are available in multiple languages, and the toolkit incorporates findings from parent and grandparent focus groups to ensure messaging resonates with families.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Child safety, Mass media, SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position

Annotation: This toolkit for health providers and infant caregivers outlines activities and resources for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Awareness Month in October. It provides social media content, guidance on addressing unsafe sleep images, and access to digital and print materials from Safe to Sleep program partners. The toolkit includes planning webinar recordings and presentations, describes the #ClearTheCrib Challenge campaign, and connects to related national health observances such as National Breastfeeding Month and Baby Safety Month.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link

Keywords: SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This technical report summarizes research findings on infant sleep safety, risk reduction, and trends in sleep-related infant deaths and postneonatal mortality. The report defines the terminology and diagnostic issues related to sudden infant death; explores the risk factors associated with sleep-related infant death, and recommends preventive measures based on scientific evidence The report also examines the racial and ethnic disparities that place some populations at higher risk.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines , Injury prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep, Sleep position

Annotation: [This online resource describes the ABCs of safe sleep-- baby sleeps safest Alone, on their Back, and in a Crib-- and provides a variety of tools and materials to help reduce the risk of sleep-related infant deaths. Included are screening tools for hospitals; model policies for licensed child care centers, maternity units, and pediatric hospitals; training materials for health professionals, and educational materials for parents and caregivers. Also provided are flyers, brochures, posters, and a Safe Sleep video in multiple languages, including Spanish, Arabic, French, Nepali, Burmese, Chinese, Mandarin, Swahili, Karen, Pashto, Marshallese, and Kinyarwanda,

• Link

Keywords: Non English language materials, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This pamphlet, which is geared toward American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) parents, provides information about how to prevent sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), especially among AI/AN infants, among whom the incidence of death from SIDS is particularly high. The brochure offers tips on sleep position, sleep surfaces, and other factors that can affect the risk for SIDS, and explains the reasoning behind each recommendation.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• 2020 Edition
• 2009 Edition

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Alaska Natives, American Indians, High risk infants, Infant health, Prevention, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This handout and FAQ sheet is for non-parental caregivers in child-care settings. It covers definitions of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and sudden unexpected infant death (SUID); creating a safe sleep environment, promoting the safe to sleep message, and raising awareness and changing practices. A list of additional resources is included. An accompanying infographic illustrates six ways to put babies safely to sleep.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Prevention, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This resource contains a collection of social media posts and graphics that can be used to raise awareness about Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and safe-sleep related deaths so that more babies reach year one. They include brief messages that can be posted to Twitter and graphics that can be copied and posted on various social media channels.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, SIDS: Sleep position, Social media

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what parents can do to help reduce the risk of SIDS/SUIDS and encourage safe sleep. It also includes recommendations for expectant mothers, as well as how to provide "tummy time" for an infant during its waking hours.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Risk prevention (Risk reduction?), SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position, Strangulation, Suffocation

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This review examines and compiles literature and analyses of current evidence-based safe sleep practice guidelines, policies and initiatives that provide health care provider training and modeling, increase infant caregiver knowledge and education, and promote safe sleep polices at the local, state and federal level. This review includes: current Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) U.S. and Missouri data; evidence-based guidelines, specifically from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); examples of evidence-based or evidence-informed interventions and educational programs; and, of importance, specific evidence regarding the impact of poverty, race and ethnicity on SIDS, SUID and infant mortality.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence, Literature reviews, Missouri, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State data