Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This series for parents offers advice on various child and adolescent health topics as part of the American Academy of Pediatrics' A Minute for Kids radio program.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Listed Alphabetical By Title

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Mass media, Multimedia, Parenting, Radio

Annotation: This video introduces the role of the child care health consultant (CCHC) and presents the experiences of child care center directors, health consultants, and consultant trainers. It addresses what CCHCs do, how programs know they are effective, who can be a CCHC, and the role of the National Training Institute. The video may be viewed online, downloaded, or ordered for a small fee. A video transcript is also available on the website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Training Institute for Child Care Health Consultants, University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, 116-A South Merritt Mill Road, CB# 8126, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8126, Telephone: (919) 966-3780 Fax: (919) 843-4752 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nti.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child health programs, Child safety, Consultants, Multimedia

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for parents and other caregivers on creating a safe sleep environment for infants including bassinet, crib, and play yard safety. Resources include posters (Bare is Best and Keep Baby Safe in Play Yard Space), a safety guide (A Safer Generation of Cribs: New Federal Requirements), a 4-minute video (Learn How to Put Your Baby to Sleep Safely), and a 12-minute video (Safe Sleep for Babies). Links to guidance for businesses, news videos, recalls, a blog, and regulations are also provided.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Federal initiatives, Infant equipment, Multimedia, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This website and mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Apple App

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

Annotation: This video series for primary care health professionals and others focuses on partnership and teamwork in pediatric care delivery. Contents include prerequisites of and strategies for implementation and examples of best practice. Topics include implementing team huddles, enhancing care partnership support, and starting and supporting family advisory groups [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Model programs, Multimedia, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Primary care, Teamwork

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; oral health for older adults; and silver diamine fluoride. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: this resource presents disparities resource guides that provide rationales to address disparities in IDD services and supports experienced by individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, offer key definitions and conceptual frameworks for addressing disparities in IDD services and supports, including the role of cultural and linguistic competence, and provide a checklist as a structure to spur dialogue and self-examination, engage stakeholders, and plan individually and collaboratively across AIDD-funded programs to address disparities in IDD services and supports within the state or territory. Video narratives are included. The resource is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child development services, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Multimedia, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource provides consolidated information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) for the public about tobacco. It includes information about tobacco, federal and state laws and policies, health statistics, and evidence-based methods for quitting. A social media dashboard provides updates from DHHS tobacco-related social media accounts.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Multimedia, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco

Annotation: This document describes strategies for planning and providing recess in schools to help increase participation in physical activity and improve academic achievement. Contents include information about the definition and benefits of recess and national guidance and considerations for recess in schools. Topics include making leadership decisions, communicating and enforcing behavior and safety expectations, creating an environment supportive of physical activity during recess, engaging the school community to support recess, gathering information on recess, and taking action. Additional planning resources, case studies, a video, and infographics are also available.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Child safety, Community action, Decision making, Leadership, Multimedia, Physical activity, Policy development, Program planning, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This document is designed to help schools develop a school recess plan that can be shared with staff, students, and parents. Contents include questions that schools can consider to help them choose strategies to implement or to help them evaluate their current efforts, templates that schools can use to record information about the strategies they choose for their school recess plans, and key resources that align with the recommended recess strategies and provide additional information and examples of how to address these strategies. A companion document, Strategies for Recess in Schools, and additional planning resources; case studies; a video; and infographics are also available.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Child safety, Community action, Decision making, Evaluation, Leadership, Multimedia, Physical activity, Planning, Policy development, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: These resources provide information to help parents of infants ask their pediatrician about how they can partner to ensure that the infant’s mouth is healthy. The resources discuss how to care for an infant’s teeth before they erupt. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family centered care, Health literacy, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parent professional relations, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources for parents provide guidance on helping adolescents make decisions that affect their oral health and overall health. Topics include toothbrushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, eating healthy foods, avoiding tobacco, and drinking water with fluoride. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Dental caries, Health behavior, Health literacy, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources for World Oral Health Day, celebrated globally every year on March 20, focus on ways to maintain and protect oral health throughout life. The messages are intended for use by the general public and health professionals who play a key role in educating clients. Contents include an advocacy guide; a brochure on oral health do's and dont's, with sections devoted to oral health of women during pregnancy, children, and older adults; a game; posters; a toolkit for organizing events and social media campaigns; and a video. The materials are available in multiple languages.

Contact: FDI World Dental Federation, Tour de Cointrin, Avenue Louie Casai 51, Case P.O. Box 3, 1216 Cointrin-Geneve, Switzerland Telephone: (41) 22 560 81 50 Fax: (41) 22 560 81 40 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fdiworldental.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Decision making, Disease prevention, Families, Health behavior, Health promotion, International health, Life course, Multimedia, Networking, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors

Annotation: These resources provide information on oral health throughout life. Selected topics include tips for good oral health during pregnancy, dental emergencies, nutrition, oral health for older adults,dental sealants, and silver diamine fluoride. For each topic, linns to resources for more information are provided. The resources are available in Arabic, Cantonese , English, Hmong, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medlineplus.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Men, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Research, Risk factors, Sealants, Spanish language materials, Statistical data, Women

Annotation: This online course offers a brief review of clinical recommendations on transition and a tested quality improvement model. It also features physicians in pediatric, family medicine, and internal medicine practices in the District of Columbia who successfully implemented core elements of health care transition using quality improvement methodologies.

Contact: Health Services for Children with Special Needs, 1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-2737 Secondary Telephone: (866) 937-4549 Fax: (202) 466-8514 Web Site: http://www.hscsn-net.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Distance education, Multimedia, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transitions, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about the importance of oral health in infants and young children. Topics include preventing dental caries; early examination, detection, and treatment; and education. The video shows an oral health professional performing a lap-to-lap examination, applying fluoride varnish, and encouraging a mother to give her child milk and water rather than juice.

Contact: Kids Smiles, 3751 Island Avenue, Second Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19153, Telephone: (215) 365-1033 Fax: (215) 365-1145 Web Site: http://www.kidssmiles.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infants, Multimedia, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene

Annotation: These training modules are designed to help direct service providers engage transition age youth (ages 14–29) with serious mental health challenges in services. Each module includes information on key topics, video clips, interactive questions, and a quiz. Topics include partnering with youth and young adults; promoting recovery; increasing cultural awareness and building community support; fostering resilience and family support; promoting cross-cultural and intergenerational relationships; providing individualized and developmentally appropriate services; developing healthy relationships; planning partnerships with providers of other services and collaborating to bridge service gaps; promoting support from family, peers, and mentors; and using evidence-supported practices and individualizing interventions. An accompanying toolkit provides practice scenarios, video segments, role plays, and questions to help participants apply their learning to practice in their local context.

Contact: Research and Training Center for Pathways to Positive Futures, Portland State University, Portland, OR Web Site: http://www.pathwaysrtc.pdx.edu Available from the website.

• Modules
• Toolkit

Keywords: Adolescents, Collaboration, Competency based education, Continuing education, Families, Family support programs, Health services delivery, Mental health, Multimedia, Peer support programs, Public private partnerships, Relationships, Resilience, Training, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit for faculty provides guidance on integrating oral health into existing health profession curricula. Guidance on using the toolkit is provided, as well as information about the philosophy and methodology behind the toolkit, steps for building a sustainable program, and web-based resources. The toolkit also addresses assessing readiness, creating awareness and securing support, faculty development, simulation learning, case-based learning, service learning, and cooperative education. A video that describes the toolkit is available.

Contact: Northeastern University, 360 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 373-2000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 373-3768 Web Site: http://www.northeastern.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health professions, Interdisciplinary approach, Multimedia, Oral health, Professional education, Service learning, Teamwork