Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This notebook binder contains an assemblage of documents from 1981 on the consolidation of seven federal categorical programs into one maternal and child health services block grant. The documents include (1) a summary; (2) Public Law 97-35, Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Act; (3) an interpretation regarding the termination of certain grants; (4) final rules on the implementation of block grants; (5) House bill 3982; (6) Senate bill 79-492; (7) Senate report 1377; (8) conference report; (9-10) comparison of the House and Senate bills by the Association of State and Territorial MCH and Crippled Children Directors and by the American Academy of Pediatrics; (11) an additional conference report; (12) an excerpt from the Congressional Record; and (13) a work group memo regarding definitions to accompany the MCHS block grant act.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal MCH programs, History, Social Security Act, Title V

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the State Systems Development Initiative (SSDI) program, which aims to improve maternal and child health outcomes in 59 states and jurisdictions by increasing capacity to collect, analyze, and use reliable data for Title V MCH Services Block Grant policy and program development. The document explains that SSDI is funded through the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance portion of the Title V Block Grant, distributing up to $100,000 annually to state and jurisdiction awardees to support expansion of data linkages, improved access to data on fair access to care, and translation of data into action. It outlines SSDI's alignment with the Title V MCH Services Block Grant by serving as the sole program supporting the data systems and capacity that Title V programs rely on for planning, implementation, and evaluation. The fact sheet emphasizes that all 59 states and jurisdictions receive SSDI support, providing examples of impact including linking datasets to improve data accuracy, expanding public health dashboards, and identifying areas with poor outcomes for targeted interventions.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, Grants, MCH programs, Services delivery systems, State initiatives, Title V

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the State Maternal Health Innovation (MHI) Program, a federal investment launched in 2019 as a Special Project of Regional and National Significance by the Health Resources and Services Administration. The program supports states in building comprehensive, data-driven, and collaborative maternal health systems through competitive grants that enable states to develop tailored strategies reflecting their unique populations and care landscapes. It describes the program's alignment with the Title V MCH Services Block Grant by filling a critical gap in facilitating relationships, coordination, and innovation capacity to move state maternal health systems from fragmentation toward alignment. The fact sheet emphasizes that the State MHI Program is the only federal program funding states to weave together relationships into cohesive maternal health systems and warns that without continued funding, state alliances and innovations would stagnate while maternal health efforts would become fragmented.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Federal programs, Funding, Grants, MCH Programs, Model programs, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant 5-year needs assessment and state action plan and about how oral health program directors and staff and community partners can contribute to the needs-assessment process. The tip sheet explains what the 5-year needs assessment is, how the needs-assessment process works, why oral health should be included in the needs assessment and how to help ensure that it is included, what national and state performance measures are, and where to obtain more information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Needs assessment, Oral health, Performance measurement, Title V programs

Annotation: This document lists reasons that including oral health in the Title V 5-year needs assessment is important. These reasons include (1) oral health is a vital component of overall health and well-being, (2) access to evidence-based and routine oral-disease-prevention and oral-health-education services reduces health disparities, (3) having good oral health reduces health care costs and is an investment for the future, and (4) oral disease is a fixable problem. For each reason, supporting examples are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Block grants, Needs assessment, Oral health, Prevention, Title V programs

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

Annotation: This website describes the Transforming Maternal Health (TMaH) Model, a new CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) initiative designed to improve maternal health care for women enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP. The CMS site explains how the new model supports participating state Medicaid agencies in developing a whole-person approach to pregnancy, childbirth, and postpartum care that addresses physical, mental health, and social needs.It details the model's three main pillars: Access to care and workforce capacity, quality improvement and safety, and whole-person care delivery. The site includes a link to the 2024 CMS funding opportunity notice (NOFO) and identifies the 15 states selected to participate in the 10-year program that launched January 2025. It explains how the model aims to improve maternal outcomes while reducing health disparities and program expenditures and provides information about technical assistance for participating states to implement evidence-based protocols, develop health equity plans, and create alternative payment models for maternity care services. Links to related fact sheets, recorded webinars, and CMS service-delivery partners are also included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• Link

Keywords: Applications, Childbirth, Federal initiatives, Grants, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, State programs

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant program authorized under Title V of the Social Security Act. The report describes the program's three main components: State MCH Block Grants (the largest component, providing formula grants to states and territories), Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS), and Community Integrated Service Systems (CISS). It details the program's history, funding mechanisms, services provided, populations served, and reporting requirements. The report outlines how states use these funds to address the unique needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health care needs through direct health care services, enabling services, and public health services and systems. It also examines recent funding trends, highlighting shifts in allocations among the three components and changes in state expenditure patterns following the COVID-19 pandemic. The document concludes with policy considerations for Congress regarding funding allocation formulas, program coordination, and oversight accountability.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Data, Funding, Initiatives, Legislation, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Medicaid, Prevention, Title V programs

Annotation: This summary discusses changes to the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant application, needs assessment, and reporting process and resulting opportunities to promote oral health in states. It describes the national performance measure on oral health, a national outcome measure for oral health, and recommended strategies for action. State performance measures are also discussed.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Community action, Measures, Needs assessment, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Title V programs

Annotation: On May 26, 2022, Belinda D. Pettiford, MPH, AMCHP Board President, delivered testimony before the House Appropriations Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee during their FY2023 Public Witness Day, advocating for $1 billion in funding for the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant. Pettiford emphasized how these equitably distributed grants have effectively improved maternal and child health outcomes across all states and territories through evidence-based, flexible programs that deliver measurable results. Her testimony highlighted priority initiatives including maternal mortality prevention, support for families with children having special healthcare needs, and addressing healthcare inequities. Following her presentation, which occupied approximately half the allocated time, subcommittee members contributed their own observations and comments regarding the funding request.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Block grants, MCH programs, Government financing, Congressional hearings, Race

Annotation: This April 2022 letter from the FRIENDS of the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Program, signed by over 100 healthcare organizations, urges Congressional appropriations leaders to allocate $1 billion for the Title V MCH Block Grant in FY2023. The letter emphasizes the grant's critical role in serving 60 million people in FY2020, including 93% of pregnant people and 98% of infants nationwide, highlighting its importance in reducing maternal and infant mortality, advancing health equity, and supporting COVID-19 response efforts. The signatories argue that increased funding is needed to rebuild and strengthen maternal and child health infrastructure following pandemic-related strains.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Block grants, Government funding

Annotation: Based on an analysis of 2020 Title V Block Grant applications across 59 jurisdictions, this report outlines three major MCH workforce priorities: 1) advancing anti-oppressive, equity-centered practices through initiatives like implicit bias training and cultural competency development, 2) enhancing data infrastructure and evidence-based decision making capabilities through improved systems and staff training, and 3) strengthening community-based workforce investments through partnerships with healthcare providers, schools, and local organizations. The analysis focuses specifically on professionals directly or contractually supported by federal Title V Block Grant funds and draws from multiple sections of the grant applications, including Federal Title V Funds, MCH Success Stories, Jurisdiction Overview, Workforce Development, and Technical Assistance.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Block grants, Grants management, Proposal writing

Annotation: This report discusses the "Learn the Signs. Act Early" (LTSAE) state systems grant program's impact on improving early identification and intervention for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder and developmental disabilities. It examines three key impact areas: 1) engaging stakeholders and strengthening partnerships across 29 states, 2) training and raising awareness among key stakeholders in 28 states, and 3) developing statewide systems improvements. The document provides detailed case studies from multiple states, including Virginia's success in developing diagnostic teams, Mississippi's statewide coordination efforts, and Massachusetts' multilingual outreach program. While states faced challenges like budget constraints and system coordination, the grant program successfully built state capacity for early identification and service coordination through formalized developmental monitoring, stakeholder engagement, and increased awareness among caregivers and providers.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, State grants, Autism, Developmental screening, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention

Annotation: This report outlines AMCHP's framework for collaboration among Title V, Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV), and Early Childhood Systems (ECS) programs, which was developed with HRSA MCHB and updated in 2021-2023. The resource includes analysis of facilitators and barriers to collaboration, a refined framework for program alignment, case studies from Guam, Indiana, Louisiana, and Mississippi, and tools for implementing collaborative strategies. It's designed for program administrators and public health professionals, focusing on systems-building approaches to optimize statewide early childhood systems through improved coordination between Title V MCH Services Block Grant, MIECHV Program, and ECCS Program initiatives.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Block grants, Children', s health, Home visiting programs, Early intervention, Guam, Louisiana, Mississippi, Indiana

Annotation: This brief summarizes successful program implementation strategies of Pediatric Mental Health Care Access (PMHCA) Program and Screening and Treatment for Maternal Depression and Related Behavioral Disorders (MDRBD) Program, which support pediatric primary care and maternal health care providers address behavioral health disorders. Topics include engaging with partners, expanding program reach through training, and using local champions.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Secondary Telephone: (833)852-6262 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Child health, Federal grants, Maternal health, Model programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Washington, DC Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs