Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for parents about fluoride varnish (FV). Topics include what FV is, why FV application is recommended for children, how to tell if a child needs FV,and at what ages FV should be applied. Also discussed is what parents should do after FV is applied to their child's teeth, the cost of FV application, the safety of FV, and how long FV lasts. The fact sheet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video for consumers discusses the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) to treat tooth decay. It explains that SDF, unlike the traditional treatment method, is inexpensive, painless, and does not require numbing or drilling, and that non-dentists can be trained to apply it. The video also describes how tooth decay develops and its consequences and discusses the importance of good oral health and of treating decay in primary teeth. The video is available in American Sign Language, Arabic, Bosnian, Burmese, Dari, English, French, Kirundi, Haitian Creole, Maay Maay, Mandarin Chinese, Nepali, Pashto, Portuguese, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Tigrinya, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Vermont Language Justice Project, Telephone: (802) 734-4828 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vtlanguagejustice.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, Spanish language materials, Treatment

Annotation: This brief offers lessons from six states on how federal Medicaid cuts result in reductions in access to oral health care for people with low incomes. Examples are provided about how cuts have restricted access to care, shifted costs from one part of the health care system to others (e.g, hospital emergency departments), and led oral health professionals to leave the Medicaid network. Information is presented on how cuts have affected California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Oregon, and Pennsylvania.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Costs, Low income groups, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Missouri, Oral health, Oregon, Pennsylvania, State information

Annotation: This brief highlights ten key things about Medicaid. It provides information on the number of Medicaid beneficiaries, coverage, and financing; Medicaid’s share of all health care and long-term care spending and how Medicaid spending is divided among children vs. those who qualify based on age or disability; and the effect of state Medicaid spending on cost per beneficiary across states. Also discussed are the share of beneficiaries who receive care through managed care organizations, how Medicaid coverage impacts beneficiaries, section 1115 demonstration waivers, and public views on Medicaid.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Health insurance, Long term care, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid

Annotation: This brief estimates the fiscal impact on states of removing adult Medicaid dental benefits for the 41 states and District of Columbia that offer benefits at the limited or enhanced level. It analyzes medical care costs incurred for emergency department visits, for those with conditions such as diabetes or heart disease, and for pregnant women. The brief also provides a review of previous policy changes to several states' Medicaid dental benefits and examines the impact of these changes.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency rooms, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This report presents findings on the state of women's and family health benefits in the workplace based on two surveys conducted in October-November 2024. It addresses challenges facing employees and employers, including rising healthcare costs, burnout among working parents, and increased anxiety around reproductive health. The report highlights how companies are responding through expanded benefits, with 69% planning to increase family health benefits vendors in the coming years. It discusses the benefits of offering comprehensive women's and family health support, including improved employee retention and reduced healthcare costs. The report includes specific statistics on employer and employee priorities, testimonials from benefits leaders, and guidance for designing effective family benefits programs. Sections cover topics such as fertility support, parenting challenges, men's reproductive health, and the role of digital health solutions in improving outcomes.

Contact: Maven Clinic, , New York, NY 10013, E-mail: https://www.mavenclinic.com/contact Web Site: https://www.mavenclinic.com/

• Link

Keywords: Employer health costs, Family support services, Health Benefits Plans, Employee, Insurance benefits, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Reproductive health services, Statistics, Surveys, Trends, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: These proceedings present information from a workshop convened to explore innovative practices and models for advancing oral health across the lifespan. Topics include a global perspective on improving oral health, an overview of U.S. federal oral health policies and programs, an overview of U.S. state-level oral health policies, supporting all people to improve their oral health, increasing access to oral health care, the role of public and private payers in improving access to and affordability of oral health care, oral health care for varying populations, dentistry in 2035, enhancing oral health research and innovation, and the potential for systems transformation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dentistry, Health systems, Oral health, Policy, Research, World health

Annotation: This brief provides background on community water fluoridation (CWF) and estimates the fiscal impact of removing fluoride from community water systems across all 50 states and the District of Columbia. It discusses the experiences of three communities that removed fluoride from their water systems, and the decisions of two of them to re-implement CWF owing to the increased rate of tooth decay and related costs, especially among young children. Data and methods are discussed.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information on the cost and prevalence of emergency department (ED) visits for non-traumatic oral conditions (NTOCs). It offers an overview of problems associated with using the ED for oral health care. It presents statistical information on topics including the number of people who visited the ED for NTOCs in 2019, 2021, and 2022; the estimated total cost of visits; the rates of ED visits; the rate of visits by age groups; and the rate of visits by people living in different types of rural and urban areas.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Costs, Data, Emergency medicine, Emergency room data, Income factors, Medicaid, Oral health, Rural population, Trends, Urban population

Annotation: This report examines spending on oral health care and oral-health-related medical treatment for people from birth to age 89, and evaluates differences in oral health care spending between Medicaid and commercial insurance plans to highlight how the two types of coverage differ in spending across the lifespan. It provides results in the following categories: average spending on prevention or basic oral health care, major oral health care, and oral-health-related medical care; average Medicaid and commercial spending by treatment categories; and average Medicaid and commercial spending by specific treatment types.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Costs, Health insurance, Infant health, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, a program in Ohio conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children’s oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and the CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about why it is important for children and adolescents to have good oral health to succeed in school. It provides information about the impact of tooth decay on school attendance, the number of children and adolescents who missed at least one school day due to oral health problems in the past year, and the cost to school districts of students missing school days. Information on how parents can help ensure that their child has a healthy mouth and teeth and is successful in school is also presented.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Costs, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: This report provides information on a study of oral health professionals conducted to explore factors and policy incentives that influence their decisions on treating people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and on participating in government programs that provide oral health care coverage for this population. Topics includes research questions, input from the population, input from health professionals, demonstrating a return on investment, and promising practices.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Oral health, Public policy, Research, Special health care needs

Annotation: This profile provides information on state Medicaid dental programs. For each state, the following topics are discussed: category of care provided (e.g., diagnostic, exam, screen, preventive, restorative); diagnostic code; description of category; whether adults over age 21, adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and pregnant women are covered; adult fees; whether the category is part of the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) program; and EPSDT rates for pregnant women.

Contact: Medicaid | Medicare | CHIP Services Dental Association, 4411 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., #104, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (202) 855-3993 Fax: (202) 248-2315 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaiddental.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Costs, Developmental disabilities, Intellectual development, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Reimbursement, State information, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the oral health of Medicaid and Children’s Oral Health Program (CHIP) beneficiaries. It presents statistical information on the following selected topics: Medicaid and CHIP oral health care expenditures for 2018–2021; children’s and adolescents’ receipt of oral health care, oral examinations, and topical fluoride treatments; and oral health professional participation by number of Medicaid-enrolled children and adolescents served. Also included is information on oral health and overall health of publicly insured children and adolescents, Medicaid coverage for adult oral health care, adults’ emergency department visits for nontraumatic oral health conditions, and oral-health-related opioid prescriptions.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid: Costs, Oral health

Annotation: This online resource describes pathways to children's health insurance for parents who can not afford adequate coverage or who have limited coverage under an employer's plan. The site includes information on Medicaid, the Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), community health centers, and private insurance options. It also describes ways in which parents can reduce the cost of medications, physician care, and hospital services for children with and without special health care needs.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Children', Costs, Health insurance, Medicaid, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This issue brief uses data from the 2018 and 2019 National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) to examine differences in health status, access to care, referrals, needed care, and the cost of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) covered by Medicaid with those covered by private insurance and those without insurance. Included are selected demographic and socioeconomic characteristics of CYSHCN (Ages 0-17); their health status, use of care, and quality of care according to insurance status; and the percentage of CYSHCN in each state and the source of their health insurance coverage (Medicaid, private only, or both).

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Costs, Data, Health status, Medicaid, Statistics

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the Connecticut Department of Health's Office of Oral Health. It provides an overview of the office and discusses its vision, oral disease prevention, school-based dental sealant programs, community water fluoridation (CWF), oral health surveillance, and medical-dental integration in the state. Statistical information on the percentage of students in third grade with dental sealants, adult dental visits, and amount saved as a result of CWF and dental sealant placement is provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Connecticut, Costs, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs, School health services, State agencies, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the effects of reinstating Hawai'i's adult Medicaid dental benefits in 2022. Statistics are presented on the number of Hawai'i Medicaid beneficiaries with no diagnostic, preventive, or dental coverage and who visited the emergency department (ED) with a dental-related diagnosis between 2016 and 2020, the total cost of ED visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period, and the percentage of ER visits with a principal dental diagnosis during this period who were Medicaid beneficiaries. Also provided are estimated savings from reinstating the benefits as well as information about the association between poor oral health and several chronic conditions and other negative health outcomes. [Produced by District of Columbia Department of Health]

Contact: Hawaii Public Health Institute, 707 Richards Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 591-6508 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hiphi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency room data, Hawaii, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Statistical data