Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This online resource includes shared care planning tool for families of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and a 5-item screening tool to identify CSHCN based on the definition provided by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau. A searchable library contains reports, data and research briefs, presentations, project summaries, and additional materials aimed at promoting lifelong health for children, youth, and families using family-centered measurement, data and tools.

Contact: Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Department of Population, Family, and Reproductive Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cahmi.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Data , Family centered care, Screening tests, Surveys

Annotation: This article presents the principles and strategies behind the Blueprint for Change-- a national framework for a system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) where they can enjoy a full life and thrive in their community from childhood through adulthood. Included is a discussion of the comprehensives needs of CYSHCH, the changing health care system, and the disparities experienced by CYSHCN. The critical areas that drive the Blueprint for Change-- health equity, access to services, finanancing of services, and family and child well-being and quality of life-- are described as being inherently interconnected and intend to move the field forward at the community, state, and federal levels.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• U.S. Health Resources And Services Administration Website

Keywords: , Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Federal initiatives

Annotation: This online resource for health care practices describes the characteristics of family centered care; provides tools to assist practices in implementing family centered care; and links to patient education materials and assessment forms (in both English and Spanish) to give to families and caregivers. The site also includes a video presentation on family centered care within the medical home.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Family centered care, Medical home

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of research-based practices and policies that state leaders can use to support meaningful family engagement in children's early learning, which ultimately improves child and family outcomes. The document provides links to Federal statutes and policies that require family engagement, evidence-based strategies for promoting family engagement, barriers to fostering family engagement, and problem-solving methods to overcome barriers. In addition, the brief provides examples of successful programs from different states.

Contact: SRI International, 333 Ravenswood Avenue, Menlo Park, CA 94025-3493, Telephone: (650) 859-2000 Web Site: https://www.sri.com

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood education, Family centered services, Family health, Family support programs

Annotation: This article discusses the origins and history of patient- and family-centered care; provides as overview of several existing frameworks for patient-centeredness; and highlights several strategies for promoting coproduction in Hospital Medicine, organized around 4 key tenets (cocommissioning, codesign, c-delivery, and coassessment).

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Family centered care, Hospital services, Patient care

Annotation: This resource provides a set of system standards that can be used or adapted for use by various systems and organizations that serve CYSHCN. This includes state Title V programs, state Medicaid and CHIP programs, private and public health plans, pediatricians and other health care providers, family/consumer groups, as well as families themselves. Topics include (1) identification, screening, assessment, and referral; (2) eligibility and enrollment in health coverage; (3) access to care; (4) medical home; (5) community-based services and supports; (6) transition to adulthood; (7) health information technology; and (8) quality assurance and improvement.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• 2017 Standards (version 2.0)
• 2017 Report Only

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Standards, Young adults

Annotation: These presentation slides emphasize the value of parent involvement in the medical home for children with special health care needs. A description of the benefits to pediatric practices and families; key traits of parent partners; parent partner training; and opportunities for parents within the medical home model are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Maryland , Medical home, Models, Parent participation

Annotation: This resource provides direction, resources, and tools to pediatric medical home clinicians and practices seeking to advance their knowledge and understanding of the medical home concept as it relates to practice transformation. Contents include resources and strategies for starting medical home transformation, integrating key functions of a medical home into practice, and sustaining changes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Health care reform, Medical home, Model programs, Resources for professionals, Service integration, Sustainability

Annotation: This guide provides direction on how to effectively engage family perspectives in a pediatric practice. Topics include examining the role and benefits of family health partners (FHPs); building practice readiness for FHPs as team members; family training and partner orientation; building communication and leadership skills; and evaluating, sustaining, and improving family engagement and the FHP role. Handouts for families and practices are included. The guide is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• English
• Web Site With Handouts In English And Spanish

Keywords: Families, Medical home, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Role, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: This monograph, which is intended to enhance the resources available to pediatricians and other pediatric health professionals who are involved in or contemplating becoming involved in implementing the patient- and family-centered medical home model in their practices, includes case studies focusing on 17 pediatric practices nominated by their peers or patients as exemplary patient- and family-centered medical homes. Each case study includes basic information about the practice, an overview of the practice, and a discussion of strategies or tools used and lessons learned. Implications for practice and policy are also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Families, Medical home, Pediatrics, Public policy

Annotation: This report provides a retrospective look at the National Center for Medical Home Implementation from 2008 to 2012, highlighting some of the center's activities and accomplishments. The report is organized into sections around the center's primary goals, which include building national partnerships, creating tools, fostering community and state collaborations, and integrating the medical home within the American Academy of Pediatrics' community of pediatricians. The report also describes the center's efforts to spread the concept of medical home at the local, state, and national levels. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Information dissemination, Medical home, Pediatricians, Progress reports, Public private partnerships, Service integration

Annotation: This document describes a curriculum to support the provision of family-centered care coordination activities in pediatric medical homes. Contents include an overview of four modules including the topic, activity, and learning objectives. Background and acquisition information is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital , 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 355-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-7944 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospital.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Curricula, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Service coordination, Service integration