Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

Bhatnagar P. 2024. Housing justice is reproductive justice: A review of housing justice as a structural determinant of black women and birthing people's reproductive health in Washington, D.C.. Washington, D.C: Mamatoto Village and Georgetown University Health Justice Alliance , 26 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Hinton E, Diana A. 2024. Medicaid authorities and options to address social determinants of health. Menlo Park, CA: Kaiser Family Foundation,

Annotation: This brief explains how state Medicaid programs can be used to address social determinants of health, including economic stability, education, neighborhood and physical environments, employment, social support networks, and access to health care. It describes how states have been given flexibility through managed care programs and Section 1115 demonstration waivers to address non-clinical aspects of care such as case management, housing supports, employment supports, and peer support services. Included is a summary of the new guidance issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) in 2023 on the expansion of opportunities to address health related social needs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

Keywords: Managed care, Medicaid, Social determinants of health, State programs

Executives for Health Innovation. 2023. Incorporating social determinants of health (SDOH) Into Community Health Programs. Washington, DC: Executives for Health Innovation, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of important elements to consider when incorporating social determinants of health (SDoH)--defined as the nonmedical factors that influence health outcomes--into a community health strategy. It describes SDoH factors, including education access, quality healthcare, strong neighborhood and built-environment, economic stability, and social and community context, and it explains how data provides an additional layer of valuable information. Principles for the ethical use of SDoH, importance of SDoH in identifying barriers to care, tracking the policy landscape, assessing SDoH programs, and common challenges are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

Keywords: Community programs, Health equity, Initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Public health, Social factors

U.S. Office of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion . 2023. Healthy People 2030: Housing Instability . Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Prmotion ,

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of the literature on housing instability as a social determinant of health. It provides background information on the federal Healthy People 2030 framework and describes how housing instability as a social determinant is organized according to the following five domains: Economic stability, education access and quality, health care access and quality, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community context. Data methods and sources, related objectives, links to evidence-based resources, and tools for action are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov

Keywords: Federal Initiatives , Health disparities, Housing, Literature reviews, Measures, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Bluthenthal C. 2023. The disproportionate burden of eviction on black women. Washington, DC: Center for American Progress,

Annotation: This report describes the various socioeconomic factors and discriminatory practices that contribute to the disproportionate rate of housing evictions among black women. It discusses the health, economic, social, and financial consequences of home displacement and calls on states to respond to the eviction crisis by enacting policies that account for demographic disparities and decrease eviction filing, increase tenant protections and rights during the process, and keep families and individuals out of cycles of poverty and hardship.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

Keywords: Blacks, Discrimination, Homelessness, Housing, Public policy, Racism, Socioeconomic factors, Women

The Framework for an Equitable Homelessness Response . 2023. Healthy parents healthy babies . Washington, DC: National Alliance to End Homelessness, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report provides recommendations developed by people who experienced being pregnant while dealing with housing instability and homelessness. A project of Healthy Parents Healthy Babies (an outgrowth of the Framework for an Equitable Homelessness Response) the report includes strategies to help reduce racial disparities, increase housing stability, and improve maternal health, birth outcomes, and child health associated with homelessness and extreme housing instability among women and families of color.

Contact: National Alliance to End Homelessness, 1518 K Street, N.W., Suite 410, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-1526 Fax: (202) 638-4664 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.endhomelessness.org

Keywords: Homelessness, Housing, Initiatives, Models, Pregnant women

Whitman A, De Lew N, Chappel A, Aysola V, Zuckerman R, Sommers BD. 2022. Addressing social determinants of health: Examples of successful evidence-based strategies and current federal efforts. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

The Network for Public Health Law . 2021. The public health implications of housing instability, eviction, and homelessness . St Paul MN: Network for Public Health Law, 4 pp. (Preventing Housing Instability)

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses housing as a community health and health equity problem and illustrates why legal and policy innovations are needed to address the issue of housing instability. It is the first in a series of fact sheets exploring state- and local-level legal and policy approaches to reduce tenant displacement and eviction and provide supports to prevent housing instability and homelessness.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org

Keywords: Child health, Health equity, Homelessness, Housing, Maternal health, Public health

Community Preventive Services Task Force. 2020. Social determinants of health: Tenant-based housing voucher programs. Atlanta, GA: Community Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on providing tenant-based housing voucher programs to improve health and health-related outcomes for adults based on sufficient evidence of effectiveness. Health-related outcomes including housing quality and security, healthcare use, and neighborhood opportunities, such as lower poverty level and better schools. Children under the age of 12 whose households used vouchers show improvements in education, employment, and income later in life. The CPSTF's findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of studies published between January 1999 and July 2019. The web report provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Housing, Literature reviews, Public housing, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2020. Housing as a platform for treatment and recovery: Opportunities for Title V at the intersection of stable housing, mental health, and substance use . Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 14 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the scope and impact of homelessness; the association between homelessness, mental illness, and substance use disorders (SUD); states’ efforts to integrate health care and housing services; and strategies that the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant can use to serve vulnerable women and families facing homelessness and behavioral health disorders.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Homelessness, Housing, Model programs, Service integration, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. How can Title V MCH programs support pediatric health care professionals in addressing social determinants of health?. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 3 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet highlights various ways in which Title V programs can form partnerships with state agencies and work in tandem with pediatric health professionals to address social determinants of health and improve child health outcomes. Included are examples of innovative Title V programs in Iowa, Florida, New Mexico, Minnesota, and the District of Columbia. The recommendations are based on The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents, 4th Edition.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, Health equity, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Social factors, Title V Programs

Corporation for Supportive Housing . Keeping families together . New York, NY: Corporation for Supportive Housing , 16 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes and innovative program that brings together child welfare agencies and supportive housing services to support and strengthen society’s most vulnerable families so that children are not removed and placed in foster care. The brochure describes the initial pilot project and outcome results; provides details on the project components; and presents program success stories. This New York City program is presented as a model for other cities and states.

Contact: Corporation for Supportive Housing , 50 Broadway 17th Floor , New York, NY 10004,

Keywords: Child welfare, Families, Foster care, Housing, Local initiatives, Models
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.