Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive, counseling, restorative and emergency, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. They re available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on preventive dental visit. It also provides sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a list of resources. Programs can also use this information to assist in the implementation of oral-health-related state performance measures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents key considerations for integrat- ing oral health evaluation into prenatal care. Topics include completing an oral health evaluation, integrating oral health evaluation into the electronic medical record, integrating oral health evaluation into the prenatal care workflow, and strategies to increase primary care health professionals’ confidence in completing an oral health evaluation. The document also includes summaries of how prenatal clinics integrate oral health evaluation, as well as links to examples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This report offers a snapshot of states’ experiences with implementing strategies to address NPM 13. It presents challenges, lessons learned, and accomplishments in promoting preventive dental visits for pregnant women and children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17. The report introduces the topic and provides background; presents information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program; and discusses methods, limitations, results, and next steps for states.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, State information

Annotation: These guidelines from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry are intended for use by dental care professionals while they care for pregnant adolescents. The report provides recommendations regarding preventive, diagnostic, and therapeutic oral health care for pregnant youth; proven results from clinical trials, systematic reviews, or meta-analysis yielding 56 articles. Recommendations were reached based upon expert and/or consensus opinion by experienced researchers and clinicians. [This document was developed through a collaborative effort of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Councils on Clinical Affairs and Scientific Affairs.]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Oral health, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal care

Annotation: This toolkit for Title V program staff and other stakeholders provides information to help address national performance measure 13.1 (preventive dental visits for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visits for children and adolescents ages 1–17). The strategic approaches described in the toolkit are informed by evidence and include resources from national and state organizations. The approaches are divided into categories, with relevant resources listed for each. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Oral Health Toolkits
• National Performance Measures Toolkits

Keywords: Adolescent health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit for Title V program staff and other stakeholders provides information to help address national performance measure 13.1 (preventive dental visits for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visits for children and adolescents ages 1–17). The strategic approaches described in the toolkit are informed by evidence and include resources from national and state organizations. The approaches are divided into categories, with relevant resources listed for each. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Title V programs

Annotation: This infographic provides information for oral health professionals about benefits of and barriers to preventive dental visits for pregnant women. It discusses the safety of visiting the dentist during pregnancy, Medicaid dental coverage available during pregnancy, physiological changes that occur during pregnancy that may affect oral health, and how receiving oral health services can improve overall health and reduce the likelihood of transmission of cavity-causing bacteria from mothers to young children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Health services delivery, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This bookmark for pregnant women provides information about nutrition and oral health during pregnancy and infancy. The bookmark offers tips on oral hygiene, nutrition, and dental visits during pregnancy on one side and during infancy on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Disease prevention, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services

Annotation: This infographic summarizes results of a survey focusing on oral health during pregnancy administered to oral health professionals (dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants) in Maine in 2016. It provides information about the percentage of respondents who agreed that women should receive preventive oral health care and that it is safe to take X-rays during pregnancy. The infographic also provides information on the percentage of respondents who use the prenatal visit to provide anticipatory guidance about oral health care to pregnant women and respondents who believe there are restrictions on providing oral health treatment to pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Maine, Oral health care, Pregnant women, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This flip book for health professionals to share with parents covers the basics of good oral health in infants and young children. Each page is double-sided and designed as a teaching tool. The patient-facing pages feature simple text (in English and in Spanish) and pictures and illustrations to educate families. On the back of the intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Family centered care, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Patient education materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women focuses on the importance and safety of oral health care during pregnancy. It also includes information about the age 1 dental visit for children and how to find a dentist. The brochure is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• Brochure
• Additional Campaign Materials

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parent education, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health visits, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief presents information and data on the percentage of children and adolescents (ages 1–17) who had a preventive dental visit in the past year and on the percentage of women who had a preventive dental visit during pregnancy in Vermont. Data on oral health care use among children and adolescents are presented by age and by insurance type. Data on the receipt of oral health care during pregnancy are presented for women who did and did not receive Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) assistance and by health insurance type, age, and educational attainment. Strategies to improve oral health care in Vermont and data limitations and sources are also discussed.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, P.O. Box 70, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7606 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7701 Web Site: http://www.healthvermont.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, State MCH programs, State surveys, Vermont

Annotation: This webinar, held on September 27, 2016, discussed ways to connect women to oral health coverage and care during pregnancy. Topics included dental insurance options, such as coverage through Medicaid; strategies to integrate oral screenings and referrals into prenatal care; and efforts to educate pregnant women about the importance of oral health care and connect them to services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental insurance, Health care reform: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Health education, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This video encourages pregnant women to make oral health a priority during pregnancy and to access preventive care. Topics include the importance of practicing good oral health habits and scheduling a dental visit during pregnancy to reduce the risk for tooth decay and gum disease. Additional topics include who to ask for help finding a dentist and who to talk to about the cost of oral health services, including services covered by Medicaid.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Financing, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #13: Oral Health--percent of women who had a dental visit during pregnancy and percent of children, ages 1 through 17, who had a preventive dental visit in the past year. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Dental care, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs